As a long term DSer (2021 will be my 5th year in this game), my current app (cjdropshipping) doesn't supply this product without sourcing and then would only have china as likely warehouse...
So thought for a change (and a chance) i'll give oberlo a go, and my god i can see now why i went with CJD in first instance....
The fact was simple of the 9 products i tried to import only 1 did (they are all exactly the same product, somehow the other EXACT 8 products didnt comply with their T&C... weird because surely all 9 should have not complied... ) and then oberlo doesn't even support different international dispatch areas, so unless you want to ship from either china or US forget it....
ill just buy directly from the vendor who can ship from 10 different locations. (who for some reason was the the one site that could import, but their app cant see that the supplier offers EU / UK & Aus warehouses and quick local delivery)
Hey, there! 👋 Thanks for taking the time out of your day to leave us a review. I'm sorry you didn't have the best experience with the Oberlo app. At times, we may remove products at our discretion from Oberlo. This is per Oberlo Merchant Terms of Service (https://bit.ly/33nkRFI). All products are reviewed individually, which is why only one of them was available for import. If the product you're trying to import is unavailable, we encourage you to find an alternative product to import with Oberlo. Apologies for any inconvenience.
In case you want to source products outside of China, you can find US suppliers and some European suppliers on AliExpress. It cuts down the shipping time to those destinations for your customers and can sometimes arrive within 5-7 days! This guide will show you how to find US-based suppliers (https://bit.ly/2O2zi9o). You can apply the process for any other country available. We wish you the very best in your business, moving forward. 🙂 -Iris
ABSOLUTE RUBBISH! OK if you have a small store but as soon as you have volume and things stop working they are not help whatsoever. NO DISPATCH EMAILS ARE BEING SENT to customers for over 2 months, and not syncing with aliexpress. FOR OVER A WEEK THEY WANT NUMEROUS VIDEOS OF THE ISSUE, promised they were looking into the issue and now are trying to blame MY COMPUTER! AVOID AVOID AVOID
Hi there. I'm really sorry to hear you've had such a poor experience working with Oberlo, especially while you're in the midst of scaling your growing business. Technical issues are a huge hindrance when you're trying to operate an online business and we sincerely apologize that it has taken such a long time to rectify the issue you're having. We often ask for videos because it helps us to diagnose what you are seeing. We also try our best to replicate the issue on our end to get a better sense of what might be happening. The process sometimes takes a while, and I'm really sorry to hear you were left in the balance throughout. All said, it sounds like there was a communication breakdown on our end and we want to extend our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience. We wish you the very best in your business moving forward. -Jasper
House of Dasein Kink Toys and Apparel
Avoid this app!! Orders export does not work, customer service is appaling, products un-sync and their solution is to re-import ALL your products.
Hi, there! 👋 Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Sorry to hear you didn't have a great experience with our app. Order exports can also be done on Shopify to export all your order information. Also, products shouldn't un-sync consistently unless another app is possibly affecting it. Instead of re-importing the product, you can use the override feature to re-sync it! Shoot us a message at firstname.lastname@example.org and we'd be happy to look into this with our team. 🙂 -Rio
Oberlo contacts are completely inactive, they don't care about their customers, everything happens when I need support when I sign up for the basic plan from them. The information shows that the payment was successful, but basically everything was not working. I still can't import the product list into my website, I texted them and they were all auto-replies or human messages every 6 hours to get a reply, really is a disaster
Hey, there! Thanks for taking the time out of your day to leave us a review. Sorry about the experience you had with our support teams. We've been very busy recently so we appreciate your patience with us! Could you send us an email at email@example.com with the products that can't be imported? One of us is happy to look into this for you. 🙂 -Rio
I chose to dropship on Shopify using this app. I chose suppliers that supply to US market. Oberlo sucks as they have not filtered out their suppliers properly and customers end up loading supplier that don't show US sizes, but only US sizes (see example below). Many such shoes are on my website now and i have started marketing. Now i have to go clean out all 250 shoes to check for US sizes. This is a mess.
Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We're really sorry to hear you had such a frustrating experience with the app and the suppliers. We never like to hear stories like this. I know it's not a complete solution, and I'm sure it's something you're doing now, but it's always best to cross-reference with the AliExpress page for the most accurate and up to date information. Regardless, we've let you down in this case and for that, we apologize. We hope you still consider Oberlo to be a viable option in the future. If not, we wish you the best in your business in whatever form it takes. -Jasper
little tee london
on my app its saying shipping methods not available and i dont know why ?am very disapointed as it is
Hey there. Thanks for reaching out and leaving us a review. Sorry to hear that there were issues selecting a shipping method on your product, but I’d be happy to help. This error would appear if you haven’t set up your shipping methods in Shopify correctly for the shipping destination. I’ve got the right guide to help out with that here (https://bit.ly/2ZRFhmX). Once your shipping settings are set correctly you should be able to order that product with no issue! Try that out and if you still need any further assistance fire us a message at firstname.lastname@example.org and we’re happy to help resolve that for you! 🙂 -Rio
I though I would Oberlo another go and I can see Shopify have removed my 1 star rating from before. Well done Shopify on deleting 1 star ratings.
Your compare at price formula is still illegal. Because when the item in AliExpress is not on sale, the sell price will never equal the compared price. I suggest you go to a retail store and see how pricing works.
Your pricing formulae do not take into consider any delivery costs offered by AliExpress. One item could have a delivery cost of $20 and another $0. So the $20 would put me out of pocket. This was mentioned to Oberlo I think 2 years ago. You still have not done anything about it.
Hi there! I'm really sorry you had this experience, I’d never want our merchants to feel frustrated or neglected.
When it comes to price changes we always encourage merchants to set up Auto Update notifications to your needs so you can ensure you’re always aware of any product changes from supplier’s end. You can contact our Customer support team at email@example.com who will be happy to help you review your current setup.
You are correct that shipping cost is not calculated in the formula and we understand this may be the pain point in the process so once again thank you for providing us with feedback on that.
Shipping rates vary greatly depending on the origin and destination of your parcel so we highly recommend checking product rates for each country you aim to sell to before forming your retail price to ensure you’re not at loss. This will also help you determine whether it’s better to include the shipping cost in the price and offer free shipping or setup shipping rate within your Shopify store.
Hopefully we can make this experience better for you in the future and all the best with your business, regardless of which tools you decide to use in the future.🙂 - Iris
I wouldn't recommend this app for anyone the shipping takes forever and you cant track your packages. If you enjoy giving refunds then this the app for you. If you don't like giving refunds then stay away from this app. Customers are unhappy waiting so long. I can't tell them where is the package( tracking is a joke) and when it will be delivered. I paid for shipping 16-26 days and it is over a month and wasn't delivered yet. I can't say if it is in China or Canada , Last tracking updates where two days after the package was shipped and no more tracking. Customers already asking me where is the package and I was told that they will report me to the bureau for fraud. Oberlo app is working good but making business with aliexpress is not the way Oberlo is telling you.
Hey there. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Apologies for the experience you had shipping and tracking your packages. I’ve dealt with similar situations before so I know how this can feel. Customers may wait a while for their packages, but in my experience outlining a shipping policy clearly can help curb that question; and set the expectation that packages may take some time to ship. Check out our template for a shipping policy in this blog (https://bit.ly/3e9O3lh). If you have an order that has tracking but isn’t being updated, I’d suggest opening an appeal on AliExpress to get a refund for that product if possible. I’d also suggest checking out our guide on handling these situations (https://bit.ly/2DpGxGv). If you need some extra eyes on this case we’re happy to help! Just shoot us a message at firstname.lastname@example.org and we’ll see how we can assist you! 🙂 -Rio
This app is nothing but Alie Express and Alie Express is BADD !!! My customers are livid about the shipping times I dont think these orders are coming from USA even when you click on ships from USA!!! YALL NEED TO GET IT TOGETHER ON HERE I FEEL LIKE IM BEING SCAM OUT OF MY MONTHLY $30 A MONTH !! PLEASE DO BETTER SHOPIFY
Hey there! Thanks for taking time to leave us a review. We truly appreciate your feedback because it helps us create a better product for merchants like you. Currently Oberlo only integrates with AliExpress suppliers. I was in your position and felt the same way with one of my first dropshipping stores. The great thing is that you can actually vet suppliers and source products from a reliable one. We’ve got an awesome article that shows how to do exactly that (https://bit.ly/2Z9O7NG). I’d also reach out to the supplier to ask about their US warehouse and for more information if you see the items aren’t shipped from there. Regarding shipping timelines, it’s best to be clear and concise with customers regarding shipping to avoid any upset customers. I like to use a clear shipping policy outlined on my product pages! We’ve got a shipping policy template you can use in this blog (https://bit.ly/3e9O3lh). Hope that helps, if there’s anything else I can do for you let me know! 🙂 -Rio
Nifty Kitchen Goods
This would be a fine app if it had the ability to connect with different drop shipping suppliers other than Ali Express in China. The functionality of the app is okay. However, with this limitation of dealing with China's suppliers/products, Oberlo is the perfect vehicle to set the beginning drop shipper up for failure. Remember, Oberlo exists to sell you on Shopify. As long as they can seemingly make it easy, it's likely that you'll buy into the monthly subscription. The Oberlo 101 course (which is not appropriately updated with the current Facebook format) makes it even more attractive but, again, connecting with Chinese suppliers puts you in a position of developing a bad reputation with your potential customers (if you get any). Why? Because it will take over a month, on average, for your customers to receive their ordered products. Oberlo, via their training and promotional videos, does everything it can to convince you that being concerned about disappointing your customers in this manner is hardly necessary. That in itself qualifies Oberlo to be placed in the category of "e-commerce scams."
Response to Shopify/Oberlo reply:
Re: "Remember, our ultimate goal is to see you succeed":
Your ultimate goal is to collect the $29/month from those beginners for whom you provide unjustified optimism when it comes to trying to start a business with the help of Chinese suppliers. "Chinese" and "quality" are two words not to be used in the same sentence when it comes to the drop shipping business. Also, regarding Shopify's free trial of 90 days. Even that time is hardly enough to implement the strategies provided in your online course, as it has been two months since ordering test products and a number of them STILL haven't arrived. A word to beginners: do not place faith in this system which will ultimately blemish the reputation of your online store should you ever get it off the ground.
Hi! I’m sorry to hear you had this experience with Oberlo and thank you for taking the time to leave a feedback for us.
I completely understand the need of finding dropshipping suppliers outside of China as it would also tackle the shipping time issue at the same time. I am happy to tell you that AliExpress does offer dropshipping products from their warehouses outside of China and you can import those to your store through Oberlo just as easy and fast.
As with anything in life, on AliExpress there are some not so great suppliers, and a lot of great ones. I suggest using Top Brand suppliers on AliExpress as they are rated the best for their products and customer support.
I also hear the frustration with shipping times as it’s affecting all of us merchants right now. The pandemic has really slowed the flow of products down significantly and products coming from overseas are taking longer than usual.
If you keep on selling items from China suppliers I’d suggest going through our Blogs(https://bit.ly/3easj8T) and YouTube (https://bit.ly/38HgeHl) on ideas on how to overcome long shipping time.
Alternatively you can always get in touch with our Customer Support and they’ll be happy to share some tips and tricks with you.🙂
I hope you still pursue your dreams no matter what tools you use to get there! Remember, our ultimate goal is to see you succeed and we’re always here to help. ✌ - Iris