Packlink PRO Shipping Platform

Packlink PRO Shipping Platform

by Packlink shipping

Multicarrier Shipping Solutions for eCommerce and Marketplaces

4.9 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    96% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    1% of ratings are 4 stars
    (4)
  • 3 of 5 stars
    0% of ratings are 3 stars
    (0)
  • 2 of 5 stars
    1% of ratings are 2 stars
    (3)
  • 1 of 5 stars
    2% of ratings are 1 stars
    (5)

All reviews

3 reviews

MACKEENE

BE CAREFUL !!
Fulfilment are not synchronized, you will have to take care of it manually, which is very NOT convenient when you don't have much time.

They are definitelynot ready yet for shopify - They told me months ago that it should be ok - But Still not.
I m keeping it only because UPS freight cost is cheap.
If you don't need UPS, then I would recommend Sendcloud instead.

Developer reply

May 27, 2020

Thanks for your review. We wanted to inform you that since last month orders paid in our platform are automaticaly fulfilled. In oder to help you to save time on your shipping process. Please update our app. You can send us an email to business@packlink.com. We will respond to all your doubt regarding the new features of our app.

Packlink Team

One Earth BCN

Packlink offers really good shipping prices which is really the only reason I use it. I don't think I have ever had a easy time using either the direct website or the app. Often labels don't generate to print or almost all do but you have to find the ones that don't under a different section and sometimes wait until the next day before the support have fixed them which means you are cutting it fine for next day pick up. Numerous times I had double labels which I had to cancel after paying. I was happy it was finally integrated with shopify as I had left to use a different app to save time but upon returning I realised there are still lots of problems with it. After selecting the delivery services, I couldn't change them as a popup offering support had no delete button and covered the whole page so I had to change it within the website. A few days ago, the app completely stopped working so I uninstalled it and when I tried to reinstall it, it said page not found... several days later it still says that. I am in the queue again to talk to support but I am number 30 something and last time after waiting an hour, I started doing other things on my laptop only to recieve an email telling me that I had missed the chat as it doesn't seem to make a noise so you have to be constantly checking. Honestly, the only reason why I am giving it two starts is for the prices. It has caused me so so much stress and wasted hours and hours of my time. I think it might be worth it to pay slightly more for a much better application.

Developer reply

May 14, 2020

Thanks for your review, an agent will call you tomorrow in order to give you a support and explore the issues reffered on your review. We had some trouble with our app few days ago buyt our team solved them.

Concetto è

Good service for shipping. APP it doesn't really work. Orders are not getting updated tracking or status. Active shippings are not showing thorough the app. You always have to work on their online website to track and everything. They should try to invest few hours and fix the app at least for basic functionality.

La app non funziona, il servizio di spedizioni è carino. Va gestito quasi tutto dal web. La app passa solo gli ordini al sito. non puoi vedere tracking, non aggiorna tracking. Insomma non fa risparmiare molto tempo.

Developer reply

May 12, 2020

Thanks for your review. We are working on those points in order to optimize our app.
Thanks for your feedback it's very helpfull