Parcelify ‑ Shipping

Parcelify ‑ Shipping

by Clever Few Corp

Customize your shipping rates and rules

Overall rating
4.6 of 5 stars
Based on 207 reviews

  • 5 of 5 stars
    82% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    8% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    1% of ratings are 3 stars
    (2)
  • 2 of 5 stars
    2% of ratings are 2 stars
    (4)
  • 1 of 5 stars
    7% of ratings are 1 stars

All reviews

2 reviews

True Bites Family Butchers | Online Meat Shop

Very useful app that has allowed me to implement sur-charges for specific post-codes (UK based), which is real positive.

The one negative I've found while using the app is that you can't implement specific shipping rates based on customer tags, this is a real draw back for me, and may be the reason I end up looking elsewhere. Other shipping apps offer this function, which is the main reason I can't give the app a 5/5 review.

Developer reply

August 15, 2019

Thanks for your review and the kind words, we are sorry to see you go.

I’ll be honest, we are a little bummed with the 3-star rating but you didn’t say anything untrue or misleading. We don’t currently offer the ability to set rates based on customer tags. That’s a fact.

It is a feature we have considered adding but it hasn’t made it to the top of our priority list. If it was easy to do we certainly would, however Shopify doesn’t send any customer tag information when they send a rate request as part of the Real-Time Carrier API. That means we will have to get that information in other ways, and the effort required to download, save and continuously sync that data back to your shop and make sure it is alway right is significant.

If/when we add customer tags I’ll be sure to reach out to you. Hopefully you’ll give Parcelify another shot at that time.

Cheers!

Boost Auto Parts

8/31/2018 Update: It looks like the original developer sold the app and now Parcelify is a paid app (it used to be free). We previously gave this 5 stars because it was a free app and it performed the intended function well. Now that it is a paid app though it should have a much easier to use interface. Setting up rules is complicated and time consuming. There are certain things that are trivial but add up; they price things in cents instead of dollars, you have to use certain keyboard symbols for and/or etc. They don't have a way to easily exclude US territories etc. It's a good app, but if they want customers to pay for it they should really consider updating the user interface.

Original Review: The standard Shopify shipping options are an absolute joke. This app certainly has a learning curve, but once you get the hang of it the power of it is incredible. We are now able to offer all sorts of different shipping options since we can assign them at the SKU level, which is bringing us significantly more profit.

You do need carrier calculated shipping to use the app (it's not an app issue, it's a Shopify restriction) which is only available on the Shopify Advanced plan. After some research you can call Shopify and ask for this feature and they will turn it on for $20/MO (you have to call though, this isn't advertised anywhere). If you switch your billing to annual they will also turn this feature on for free (you just call in and ask them to turn it on).

Side Note: Shopify includes territories that are not states (Puerto Rico, Guam, Armed Forces Americas, Virgin Islands etc.) in the United States dropdown… so the US rates you setup will default to including those territories. Be sure to exclude them as states in Parcelify if you don't want your USA rates to pull to those territories.