MagicPass Wholesale

Password protected pages. Simple wholesale.

From $5/month. 30-day free trial.

App highlights

  • Seamless workflow: use directly in Shopify admin

  • Speed tested: no impact to your online store


3.4 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

  • 5 of 5 stars
    64% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    6% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    3% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    5% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    22% of ratings are 1 stars
1 - 10 of 14 reviews

My Sparkling Emporium

ABSOLUTELY do not add this to your store. I am a brand new small business, and I was looking for an option to help with wholesale orders. I am not yet at the level needed for Shopify Plus. If this is also you, DO NOT TRY USING THIS APP. It will interfere with your marketplaces, and they will removed permissions, which will lose you sales and cost you MORE time. This app locks pages- it absolutely works- HOWEVER. If you are using Google, FB, Pinterest, or Shop- YOU CANNOT USE THIS APP. I installed it, and almost immediately got booted from all of these services. They have merchant guidelines that don't allow for locked pages or products. Further. When I uninstalled the app, suddenly a brand new page pops up and tells you that you have to dig into the code, and remove their code. I am not a coder. I was livid that the app doesn't uninstall completely on it's own. Luckily, I did have an older copy of my site saved- I do this religiously every few days- and I reactivated it. And then spent time I don't have, updating what I had adjusted over the last few days. Finally. I got an email today, telling me I still have active code- which I don't- and that I have to reinstall the app, and then delete it again. I REFUSE. I lost time, and sales yesterday because of this app, and I am not giving you a chance to mess up my site again. I have deleted the version of the site that had the app installed. The app is not on my app list. I DID go in and look for the code that you instructed me to look for, and it's not there. So. I will, UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES AT ALL EVER be reinstalling this app.

Developer reply

March 8, 2022

Hi! MagicPass does not change any channel settings so I'm confused what happened here.

MagicPass has been around for a few years and this is the first time I've received this report, so any more info would be helpful!

Here are some quick responses but please send me an email so we can figure this out. Can you provide any more information from Facebook et al on why you were removed?

Facebook certainly does not have a problem with password protected pages (it's your site, so you can do what you want), but maybe you were publishing password-protected products to your Facebook sales channel? Since they're password protected, they won't be accessible on other platforms, so probably should not be published there. (You can still publish public products wherever you want, e.g. to Facebook, etc.)

For uninstallation, please use the automated uninstall tool! We seriously say this everywhere. I had to include manual uninstall instructions because it's a Shopify requirement, but you shouldn't need to edit your code.

In the unlikely event you really need to manually uninstall for some reason, please let me know and I can make the edits. It may be worth mentioning, you will not be billed if you reinstall just to use the uninstall tool.

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, this sounds like a super frustrating experience, and I would like to fix it. Please send me an email!

You can reach me at - hope to talk soon

Sweet Yourself Vegan

Poor app. Worked for a while but then stopped and they've ignored my requests for help. There's better apps out there

Heirloom Hats

Terrible app. Items supposed to be on a password protected page show up in search bar (which I then removed to counter the problem), but then would also show up in ''other items you might like'' when customers are shopping. Customers have been able to purchase Items at wholesale price, that should have been password protected. Tried to communicate with the app, with no response. Be aware that they also send an email after you delete the app telling you that you have to redownload the app to uninstall properly. I believe this to be a fraud because they get to keep your private information if you reinstall an app 48 hours after having deleted it. I am VERY frustrated with this app that I've had for over a year. Multiple problems, waist of money and of time.

Developer reply

September 14, 2021

Hi thanks for taking the time to leave this review! On Sep 14, 2021, in response to feedback like yours, we updated our 1-click uninstall tool to greatly improve its speed and reliability. Regarding search and the "other items you might like" suggestions, unfortunately these are provided by 3rd-party services and MagicPass can't always remove products from this list. Luckily there are some workarounds. Typically you can go into the app settings for suggested products and remove collections, or edit the product tags used for suggestions. And for search, we offer suggestions for filtering displayed results in our app. We hope you'll take another look!

Simply Vela Candle Co.

Had issues with the discount not working, contacted customer service several times with no response. Be prepared when you uninstall this app to go through pages of code to remove their CSS. super annoying. Do not recommend.

Developer reply

September 14, 2021

Hi thanks for taking the time to leave this review! on Sep 14, 2021, in response to your feedback, we updated MagicPass to dramatically simplify how it integrates with your theme. Additionally, we've updated our 1-click uninstall tool to greatly improve its speed and reliability. We hope you'll take another look!

Natural Layers

I removed the app from my store and now all of the pages are blocked. I am missing business because my pages are all blocked and customer orders. I did remove the app as they asked and I'm still having issues. I haven't heard anything from them and it has been two days.

Developer reply

April 9, 2021

Hi I just wanted to follow up here and make sure you saw my email so we can figure out what’s going on, thanks!

Jacobsen og Svart Coffee Roasters

Not good. Impossible to uninstall, makes your webshop lock so customers cant purchase without uninstalling the app which you have to program. Not a good app - stay away.

Developer reply

May 20, 2020

Hi, I'm sorry you had a negative experience with MagicPass. Unfortunately once the app is uninstalled we lose the necessary permissions to undo our theme changes (which are required for password protection).

We built an automated tool to make this process pain-free. Please reinstall the app (you won't be billed), then click More Actions > Remove from Store. Then uninstall the app again, and that's it!

If you prefer, we also email you a set of detailed instructions when you uninstall. Just search for the subject:

Thank you!

Ugarit-Verlag — Buch- und Medienhandel GmbH

I installed this app, put a tag to my name and logged in to the account with my email-address and password. I tried to order a book with discount, but it offers me only the full price. No discount is seen.

Developer reply

May 7, 2020

Hi, let's get this figured out! We use Shopify’s discount codes, which display on checkout. Could you click “check out” and confirm the discount is shown there? Please send us an email, we would love to help!

Melanie Woods

its terrible! removed all prices from my store before and after login, not happy at all with this and would not recommend.

Developer reply

October 25, 2019

Hi Melanie! We’re not sure how this could’ve happened, because we do not modify any HTML once a user is authenticated. Could you email us so we can get this sorted out? We’re available ASAP. - thanks!

Crown Jeweled Cosmetics

App did not work on my store at all. Trued adding a password and adding tags neither option worked. Really wanted to like this app but did not.

Developer reply

October 7, 2019

Hi we sent you an email to get to the bottom of this! Thanks for the review.

Pepper You

Please DO NOT download this app. I uninstalled it and now none of my product pages work. I would avoid at all costs. Honestly.

Developer reply

August 20, 2019

Please reinstall, and click “More actions” > “Remove from store” before uninstalling. You won’t be billed for reinstalling. We’ve reached out via our customer support to see if you need any help.

We also sent you an email with these instructions when you uninstalled, just search for the subject “IMPORTANT: Uninstall MagicPass” for more Information.

If you need extra help, this is also mentioned in the Help Guide section of our app.

Previous 1
Previous 1