Planet—Carbon‑neutral shipping

Planet—Carbon‑neutral shipping

Free to install. Additional charges may apply.
Rating (3.9)
Reviews
Developer
31 reviews
9 reviews
Overall rating
3.9
Counts per rating level
  • 35% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 29% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 26% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 1 stars
9 reviews
October 28, 2022

Great idea, but as others have said, users need a choice in how to display it. For example, have it show as a badge (like "Trusted Site" does). Also, have options in where to display it, including the Footer, if possible (like the way different available Payment Options are shown).
Thanks.

Songbird Hut
United States
Time spent using app: 16 minutes
Shopify replied November 2, 2022

Thanks so much for the feedback.

Great call on the badge. We will definitely build out more flexibility around badging, including, as you suggest, more dynamic placements. The footer is a great location that's not currently possible. That will be one of the options we unlock.

We'll be sure to let everyone know as these updates roll out. In the meantime, thanks again for the feedback and for supporting responsible commerce.

October 18, 2022

Great idea and easy to install but would be good if we could remove the powered by shopify planet and customise the banner. Agree with previous reviewer about more visuals for merchants to highlight throughout your store.

My Guest Book
New Zealand
Time spent using app: About 23 hours
Shopify replied October 20, 2022

We appreciate the feedback -- thank you. You're spot-on about the banner customization. We are going to enable that. I don't have an exact launch date just yet, but eventually you will be able to, for example, remove the "powered by Shopify Planet" tagline, or just remove the copy altogether and simply leverage the icon, which is all that some stores want.

Feedback like this is super helpful for shaping next steps, and again we really appreciate it.

Edited October 21, 2022

I love the concept of this app and am so pleased to be able to offer this product for my business. I found this app was pretty simple to install, however, I am wondering if there is an engaging, detailed write-up along with visuals that I could add to my Shipping section and my Sustainability section. is this something that has been developed and I just don't see it? If it is developed please let me know. I have a question, I recently downloaded the Shopify POS and will be using it at a craft show quite a distance from where I have my business, is there any chance I will be charged fees as mentioned by another reviewer? Could you check into this and let me know? I can remove this from my review after I get the answer, I just don't know how else to find out. Thanks again!

Winterchild Jewellery
Canada
Time spent using app: 3 days
Shopify replied October 20, 2022

Hi there! Thanks so much for using Planet and for offering your feedback.

We are in the process of cooking up exactly what you're describing -- an explanation of how this carbon removal works, along with visuals and engaging videos that you can show to your shoppers.

You definitely deserve the opportunity to communicate the incredible impact you're having, and as soon as we get that rolled out we will let you know. Thanks again for being a part of this.

UPDATE: Regarding your Point of Sale question...

Planet only calculates orders that are marked as requiring shipping. For in-store pickup, if the pickup location is different from the warehouse storage location, then Planet will read that as shipping and calculate corresponding emissions. However, if the pickup location and warehouse location are the same, then distance is 0 so the emissions is 0.

In short, it'll be important that the location data you use is accurate and up to date so that Planet doesn't mistake your in-store purchases as online. Please reach out to Support if you have any questions around that.

Thanks again for using Planet and moving commerce forward!

October 14, 2022

I think the idea is wonderful, but as others have mentioned it needs work. I tried adding the banner, but without being able to customize things such as color, size and content, it just isn't a good fit. I've read the reviews from the Planet team and understand they are working on improvements. I'll wait for those to be implemented, then try again. Really great idea though, just needs some fine tuning.

Prime Buy Direct
United States
Time spent using app: 19 minutes
Shopify replied October 18, 2022

Thanks so much for installing the app and giving feedback. You're exactly right -- we are working on these exact changes right now. We're really excited about what's in store and will be sure to let you know as soon as it's up and running. Thanks again, and keep your eyes peeled for updates!

October 14, 2022

Really like the idea behind the app and I have implemented it on my store. I am really hoping that over the coming weeks / months, the following improvements will be made to the app: Allow customisation of the badge eg. explanation that we are paying for it Allow linking of the badge to a page that explains the carbon removal efforts and ideally a snippet of the dashboard showing the effect we have had so far. Thanks!

Malin & Mizen
Ireland
Time spent using app: 26 minutes
Shopify replied October 18, 2022

Thanks so much for the feedback. We really appreciate it.

Good news -- both of the items that you mentioned are in the works: more flexibility around the badge, as well as a way for you to communicate to shoppers the incredible impact that businesses like you are having. Bad news -- we don't have an exact launch date. I know "in the works" doesn't help you right now, and we'll be sure to let you know as soon as these features are live.

Thanks for being part of Planet and helping to power more sustainable commerce.

July 19, 2022

The button looks good, it would be better if is has a link which can be used to explain the initiative better. It doesn't make a lot of sense now to a customer.

Tenue.
Netherlands
Time spent using app: 19 minutes
Shopify replied August 24, 2022

Hi Tenue team - you are not the first merchant who has shared this feedback, so we are hearing you loud and clear. Thanks for installing Planet! - Brady, Sustainability at Shopify

July 7, 2022

Im really glad that you have introduced this option, I find it wonderful, all Shopify stores can do a lot together! I leave 4 stars as "Powered by Shopify Planet" should be smaller or maybe phrased differently like "Get to know more about the initiative" >>> Popup and then you can write everything, let people know what it is about, who does it etc. Please let us choose the design and I would really grateful if you take my option into consideration.

Art on Words
Germany
Time spent using app: About 2 hours
Shopify replied August 24, 2022

Hello Art on Words team - This is wonderful, specific feedback for us. We've heard similar sentiments from other Planet users, so we are exploring options for improving these features. Thanks for installing Planet and for sharing your experience - we appreciate it! - Brady, Sustainability at Shopify

June 22, 2022

This is a great concept and we're on board. However, I would like to see more resources (videos, websites, reports, etc.) we can easily share with customers to show our commitment is more than just an icon in the shopping cart.

TOMME Cheese Shop
Canada
Time spent using app: About 5 hours
Shopify replied June 24, 2022

Thanks for your comments! We have heard similar feedback from others and are aware that we can do some work to make it easier for you to share the impact of your commitments with your buyers. Stay tuned for updates on this. - Brady, Sustainability @ Shopify

June 15, 2022

It's ok but it isn't communicated anywhere except the cart. There should be snippets for homepage and product page as well as a landingpage to visually demonstrate the total impact.

Hippie Pants
United Kingdom
Time spent using app: About 1 hour
Shopify replied June 24, 2022

Thanks for installing Planet! You can add the icon to any page on your online store and can find some details on how to do that in the Planet Help docs (https://help.shopify.com/en/manual/shipping/carbon-neutral-shipping/planet-app#adding-the-planet-badge-to-your-online-store).

If that link is unclear or you need additional assistance, please reach out to Shopify Support! Thanks for your feedback! - Brady, Sustainability @ Shopify