Popup | Pop up Notifications

Popup | Pop up Notifications

by POWr.io

Email popup, discount popup, exit popup, Beeketing alternative

Overall rating
4.5 of 5 stars
Based on 473 reviews

  • 5 of 5 stars
    77% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    12% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    3% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    2% of ratings are 2 stars
    (9)
  • 1 of 5 stars
    6% of ratings are 1 stars

All reviews

1 - 10 of 28 reviews

Figured'Art

After spending 3 hours trying to make my popup decent on my website I gave up.

If you have a long scrolling homepage like 95% of people, then no matter if you choose a middle screen or bottom right pop up, it will never be displayed correctly. (basically it is displayed at the bottom right of your PAGE and not your SCREEN), the pop up is not "sticky". Therefore on a long scrolling home page it doesn't make any sense...

Anyway, I finally gave up, uninstalled few hours later the same day, and despite asking for a refund, I still got charged for a MONTHLY fee, (for 3 hours of usage without even being to get the app to work).

Thanks for the scam.

Cheers

Developer reply

February 12, 2020

Hello, I'm sorry to hear that you were having problems with installing your POWr Popup. Please try to do an all pages install to install your popup as this is an issue with the Shopify theme that you're using on your site.

SyVentor

This app has lots of bugs.

If you fool around some, you can eventually get a popup posted, but there will be lots of problems along the way. And some of them simply because of the app. For example, every second time I tapped on a popup, for some reason text was selected on the popup. I tried this on the following devices: iPhone Xs, iPhone 6s, iPhone 7, Galaxy S9, Galaxy S10, Xiaomi Mi9, MacBook Pro 2012. So this is not an OS problem, or a computing problem.

Somehow I managed to get two popups laying on top of one another. Not sure how I did this. After playing with this for a while, I just restored my previous theme and started again. Thank goodness I had saved it prior to trying this app.

Then there is this unpublish feature. I have no idea what it means, how it works, or how to enable it. It seems to me that the term unpublish should mean stop throwing the popup. Never figured this out.

I tried to delete a popup using the delete selection. It doesn't delete. Rather it says to first unsync. OK. So I unsync and tried again. Didn't work. I then deleted the URL locations for the popup thinking this may be related to the delete. Still didn't work. Then I go back and the UnSync option has reverted back to Synced!

I give up! One star. I lose my $3. You shouldn't make the same mistake. If I save one person from this hassle, this review will have been worth my time.

I had a second marketing app installed from a few days ago and noted that they had an option to post popups also. So I tried with that app. Got everything working inside of 30 minutes. The results are clean. I'm not going to post the name lest someone think I am only trying to promote the other product.

UPDATE: The developer posted a response to my review, and I was offered the opportunity to make additional comments. These are my comments.

I'm sure there are explanations for everything I mentioned. It took the developer 500 words and multiple paragraphs to offer some explanations, which is exactly my point. The app is not intuitive. Delete doesn't always mean delete. Unsync doesn't always mean Unsync. So on and so on.

Modern software needs to be intuitive. Nobody wants to study a user manual and chat online to learn a piece of software that costs $3.

Developer reply

January 16, 2020

Hi there,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback and so sorry you had to go through all this.

2 pop-ups could be installed on one page with a different purpose.
For example, one shows immediately and the second if your visitor leaves the site.
That is why we have that option to install 2 pop-ups on one page.

Concerning Sync and Unsync features.
Our app cannot be deleted if it is synced with other apps since it will affect all of them.
That is why you could see this warning about to unsync the app before deleting
This feature was made for our customers who has a lot of similar apps installed on different pages/sites and it allows to apply all changes to all synced apps in one click.
Please check this article for more info:
https://help.powr.io/hc/en-us/articles/115002045167-How-to-Copy-a-Plugin

If you want unsync your app, then you would need to click on the unsync and then click on the Publish button to save unsync changes.

Concerning Unpublish.
It's not a button which should do something.
In our dashboard, we are showing the status of your apps:

Draft - (black) This plugin is saved in your account but it was never published on a live website.
Unpublished content - (yellow) This plugin is a live on your website, but your latest changes wasn't published yet.
Published - (green) This plugin is published and live on a website. Any changes made to the plugin are reflected on the website.

Concerning text by tapping on pop-up.
Could you please reach us at support@powr.io and we will be happy to sort this problem out for you.

2 pop-ups could be installed on one page with a different purpose.
For example, one shows immediately and the second if your visitor leaves the site.
That is why we have that option to install 2 pop-ups on one page.

Concerning Sync and Unsync features.
Our app cannot be deleted if it is synced with other apps since it will affect all of them.
That is why you could see this warning about to unsync the app before deleting
This feature was made for our customers who has a lot of similar apps installed on different pages/sites and it allows to apply all changes to all synced apps in one click.
Please check this article for more info:
https://help.powr.io/hc/en-us/articles/115002045167-How-to-Copy-a-Plugin

If you want unsync your app, then you would need to click on the unsync and then click on the Publish button to save unsync changes.

Concerning Unpublish.
It's not a button which should do something.
In our dashboard, we are showing the status of your apps:

Draft - (black) This plugin is saved in your account but it was never published on a live website.
Unpublished content - (yellow) This plugin is a live on your website, but your latest changes wasn't published yet.
Published - (green) This plugin is published and live on a website. Any changes made to the plugin are reflected on the website.

If you are experiencing issues with our Pop-up app or other app, please reach us on support@powr.io and we will be happy to help you!

Sleep Zone

The worst of worst! Not helping at all, poor performance, ugly design and really limit functions! Don't buy, only when you want to waste your money.

Developer reply

January 9, 2020

Hello, thank you for your review.
Your opinion is very important for us
Could you please reach us on support@powr.io and provide more detailed feedback?
We would like to improve our apps to serve you better.

Secretly Obvious

Basically useless unless you pay $10 a month. Wish I knew that before wasting my time with the free version. On the free version you can only make it trigger immediately when the site is opened.

Developer reply

September 26, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback. We do allow you to give the app a try to see if it is a good fit before you purchase for $10 a month. I am happy to give you a free trial with all of the features as well as assist you along the way. We want to make the process as smooth as possible and earn your business as a customer. Please reach out directly if you would like to give us another shot with a free trial.
Waylon W | Customer Success

Number 9 Fashion

They continue to charge even after the app is removed. Even better they make this out to be your fault. They can tell if an API call is being made or to or an app used. Yet they stay quiet. There is zero proactivity to confirm if you either were having issues or if you were aware that subscriptions need to be cancelled.

Not on uninstall, not anywhere to they offer you the chance or information to double confirm billing. Totally unethical.

Why do you allow this Shopify? Why do you allow your app partners to charge outside of the eco system? Your customers deserve better than cowboy developers like this.

-- Update Aug 9th. My response to them after they refund one last month. These guys are dead to rights guilty. It is their clear objective to remain quiet, not make this an easily avoided situation and wait for customers to notice as opposed to them being proactive --

G'Day Waylon,

The issue is one of trust and customer proactivity.

You setup a seperate billing connection outside of the Shopify billing system. The clear ramification of this is that if an app is removed, unlike most other apps, the charges don't stop and you keep charging. And you are comfortable with this?

You are WELL AWARE of this as you have FAQ comments on this and instructing people what to do. I am sure I am not the first to complain.

Since you are aware of this, it is even more disgusting how you have not acted to fix the root cause. Either by charging via Shopify, or automatically cancelling subscription plans when an uninstall is detected. Or sending CLEAR follow up emails instructing customers on what to do to finish a clean shutdown.

You can clearly match active billing accounts to those with no API or data usage. A clear indication that the app is not being used. You could also further check these dormant accounts with uninstall records too and then either cancel the payments or reach out to the customer.

You do not.

It is such a truly horrible customer experience and a clear sign of where and how you value your customers. And it is also damming on Shopify to allow you to behave like this too.

Developer reply

August 8, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback. I am sorry that this was your experience, but I am happy to look at your account to see where we dropped the ball and what we can do to resolve it. We try to be as transparent as possible with the billing and how to manage your own account. Please reach out to our support directly and we will look into this case for you.

Ambr Eyewear

The app began advertising an external porn site (instead of our discount offer) on my website overnight. Have had to remove and request a refund. It's obviously been hacked!

Developer reply

July 25, 2019

Hi there,
We sincerely apologize for the issues you are experiencing. To update you, this was due to a caching issue and was primarily affecting app owners, and only a very small subset of site visitors. Please note that your POWr account was not compromised. We have pushed a fix to clear your cache and you will now see the correct version of your app. Please be assured there are safeguards in place to ensure this will not occur in future.

ShopSuperDeluxe.com

Tried to use this app and two SPAM pop-ups completely unauthorised by myself and directing my audiences to third party sites came up. Outrageous security breach and I'll be reporting to Shopify.

Developer reply

July 24, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to give us this feedback. We were made aware of a bug that caused this issue. We ran an update to speed up the loading of our apps and use better caching, but it caused a but where it was not handling the deleted apps properly. These deleted apps started to pop up again as a result. We have since corrected this issue and should be fixed. Please clear your cache and cookies to see the changes. We are truly sorry for the inconvenience.
-Waylon W
Customer Success

Geronimo Men Underwear & Swimwear

Mad!!! A total mess with my store today... A popup with 15% OFF from our Easter Campaign appeared on home page: http://prntscr.com/ojd1l3 and could not close until the "Create PopUp" button is activated...
In control panel there was no such popup at all: http://prntscr.com/ojd2vq, obviously was deleted???
When trying to "edit" the popup from the admin view of home page, there was the following error: http://prntscr.com/ojd3kn
No chat support where you can get instant help for such urgent situations, so, lots of clients got this "Easter promo"...
Same thing with my other store: http://prntscr.com/ojd8fs
Removed this app immediately. Problem solved.

Developer reply

July 24, 2019

We sincerely apologize for the issues you are experiencing. This was due to a caching issue and was primarily affecting app owners, and only a very small subset of site visitors. Please note that your POWr account was not compromised. We have pushed a fix to clear your cache and you will now see the correct version of your app. Please be assured there are safeguards in place to ensure this will not occur in future.

U.S. Elite Gear

I paid for the "business" version.

The pop up resets to the default reg pop with their company's logo.
It happens about once a month.

Not a good solution if you're driving a lot of paid media and depending on the reg pop for user acquisition.

The really crappy part is that when you go into republish the pop up you get stuck in some upsell advertisement for their other products. These guys should stop trying to sell me stuff when i've already paid for a subscription to this app.

Developer reply

July 2, 2019

Hello, thank you for your review. I'm so sorry to hear that you were not able to add your popup on your site. You can definitely reach out to us at support@powr.io, provide us with your POWr account and we can help you to get your popup on your site.

No Fail Physique Transformation for Women

Does not integrate with Mailchimp, clunky and complicated UI, charges you immediately offering a "credit" for their other services instead of a refund. Buyer beware.

Previous 1 3
Previous 1 3