Pre‑Order Manager 2.0 PreOrder

Pre‑Order Manager 2.0 PreOrder

by Amai

Pre-orders, Out of Stock, Coming Soon, Sold Out

4.3 of 5 stars(907 reviews)

Easy installation

The Pre-Order button shows on product pages, collection, the home page, AJAX carts, quick view, etc.

Pre-Order Now Button

The app automatically changes the "Add to cart" button to "Pre-Order" for out-of-stock products.

Flexible Pre-Order

Use default or individual pre-order settings for certain products, variants, or collections or for store-wide items. Start Pre-Order Now!


About Pre‑Order Manager 2.0 PreOrder

The most professional Pre-Order app on the Shopify App Store, trusted by 8,000+ merchants worldwide

Comprehensive out-of-box features

  • Add a terms and conditions section to your Pre-Order.
  • Free to use for ONE product.
  • Set pre-order status automatically as you run out of stock
  • Apply discounts on all pre-ordered items
  • Bulk operations to set pre-order for a list of products or the whole store
  • Multiple features to manage pre-orders professionally
  • No theme customization required
  • The most reviewed Pre-Order app on the Shopify App Store
  • Fast A-class live support
  • Provided by a trusted Shopify App Developer (20+ top-notch Shopify apps released since 2013)

What does the Pre-Order Manager 2.0 offer?

The "Add to cart" button will be replaced by the Pre-Order button for out-of-stock products. Your customer clicks the Pre-Order button and goes through the regular order procedure to buy an item. You can set the same option to sell "Coming Soon" products, manage pre-sale and hide the "Sold Out" button.

Easy installation

The app works out of the box. You don’t need to customize your theme. The app will automatically replace the "Add to cart" button everywhere in the store for out-of-stock products. The Pre-Order Manager is perfectly compatible with:

  • all popular themes
  • AJAX carts
  • AJAX collections and homepages
  • quick-view pop-ups
  • all SpurIT apps

Set up Pre-Order on autopilot and relax

Automatically enable Pre-Order when a product or variant goes out of stock.

Default and individual settings

Set up default settings for most products. Use individual settings for certain variants, products, collections, etc.

Auto-apply discounts on all pre-ordered products

Discounts will be applied for selected products or the whole store.

Edit pre-order settings in bulk

Dashboard allows you search and filter products by collection, vendor, product type, pre-order status or discount. It means you can enable, disable or set up individual settings to filtered products or search results in bulk.

Pre-Order analytics

Analyze pre-order sales right in the app. Export data to a CSV file.

Other features list

Pre-Order Manager allows you to set up:

  • pre-order button text and design (or use "Add to Cart" button style)
  • pre-order message text, style and position
  • pre-order label text on cart and checkout pages
  • quantity available for pre-order
  • pre-order start and end date
  • pre-orders tagging
  • locations where pre-orders are available

100% Quality Guarantee

  • Use the app for two months. If the app does not pay itself back, you can uninstall it. Contact us, and we will refund you the entire cost of the app.
  • Fast live-chat A-class support: Monday-Friday, 2am-11pm (NY time)

See the app in action

Explore how the app works in an example store.

View example store

Media gallery

Support

Pricing

Free Plan

Free

  • Turn on Pre-Order for ONE product for FREE
  • Individual and general settings
  • Auto-tagging
  • Enhanced analytics

Unlimited Plan

$24.95/month

or $20.79/month billed at $249.50 once per year

  • All Free Plan features plus:
  • Bulk operations
  • Discounts applied for pre-orders
  • Manage an unlimited number of products

PRIORITY SUPPORT

$33.95/month

or $20.79/month billed at $249.50 once per year

  • Up to 3 h/month of customizations
  • Dedicated manager
  • Priority queue to get support
  • Assistance to set up the app
  • + All from the Unlimited Plan

* All charges are billed in USD. Recurring charges, including monthly or usage-based charges, are billed every 30 days.

4.3 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    84% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    7% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    1% of ratings are 3 stars
    (8)
  • 2 of 5 stars
    2% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    6% of ratings are 1 stars

Most recent reviews

Sincerely, Sinead

The help is faulty and it's a bot. I added all my personal touches and I see no changes on my live site. I am using the Brooklyn theme not sure if that matters. I really wanted "preorders" to show on the "add to cart" button but to no avail.

Developer reply

June 20, 2021

Hi, thank you for your review. Base on our ticketing system, we had replied you within 2 hours. We had also replied the reason why the Pre-Order button was not showing up. There was no issue with the theme at all. In fact you already had 2 pre-orders made successfully. As mentioned in our email, the reason why the pre-order button was not showing is because there are still quantities available for the products. The pre-order button will show when there are no more quantities available in stock automatically.

Armand Store

you guys are not fixing the issue on our store. I have contacted multiple times, we will be reporting your app to shopify for a complete refund for all the months we have paid you. you keep lying to us and saying you are fixing the bug, its not getting fixing. It has been more than a month. the settings update is still giving error 500, enabling pre-order is not working for any new products, it says pre order button will show, but it does not show on the product page. The button is not showing. in the backend, it says pre-order active.
inventory is 0, continue selling is enabled. Worst technical support ever.

Palytte The Label

Great customer service, very friendly and super quick as resolving my problem. The pre ordering works great and I would highly recommend.

Developer reply

June 14, 2021

Thank you for the kind review. It is certainly a pleasure to assist you !