Order & Product Fees

Order & Product Fees | Reviews

by Mageworx

Add extra fees to increase your sales and average order value.

4.2 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

  • 5 of 5 stars
    75% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    8% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    7% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    9% of ratings are 1 stars

All reviews

7 reviews

Adam Lambert Official Store

Nearly 20 orders did not have fees attached before checkout and it cost us hundreds of dollars out of our own pocket in costs that we cannot pass along to our high-profile client. Development support provided an explanation that doesn't align with our testing and apologized for "possible inconvenience" regarding transactions that had already been completed.

Developer reply

November 7, 2021

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback.
We are truly sorry for the issues you've faced with.

Our devs have checked the app performance on several accounts and locations.

The app itself is configured and functions as expected. There are no elements incompatible with the app at your store such as dynamic checkout buttons or ajax cart drawer. These are the most common reasons for failures.

In your case, the most probable reason is the fact the clients clicked the "Checkout" button too quickly before the cart page has fully loaded.

Even if you weren't able to reproduce this on your end while testings, it's still possible and depends on the client's network connection speed.

Please feel free to address us if you have any further concerns.

Thank you.

TireDirect.ca

All around "good app", however: Unfortunately, after a few months of use, the app stopped geo-locating our customers. Support assured me they had a new version in the works and that they would not let us down. Fast forward a few months, our team has to single-handedly edit every order that comes in to request more money from the customers after-the-fact, since the app did not add the required fees. This is still not fixed. Being a developer myself, I offered my help to feed the app the proper geo-location from another API on the frontend, myself. This was turned down on their part. I feel there is no resolution to this, as we are patiently waiting for them to update the app. Support is usually very good, Angelika answers very well to every question.

Developer reply

December 7, 2020

Hello,

Thank you for your feedback.

We use the MaxMind GeoIP database to detect users' IP and apply a fee by location, this functionality was inbuilt to the app initially.
Unfortunately, they have changed their policy, and the detection IPs by states has become no longer available.

In order to move to any other way for IPs detection, we need to redevelop the app (this is what we are currently working on).

We are also changing the working principle of the app, it will no longer generate the temporary products at the backend.

Unfortunately, this process takes time though we are doing our best to finish everything up as soon as possible.

We are terribly sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Lavyl.shop

downloaded the app because it said "paypal" in the gallery so i assumed it can add paypal fees for customers who chose to pay with paypal but it cant. didnt work for me

Developer reply

October 27, 2020

Hello,

We are sorry to hear that our app doesn't cover your requirements. However, Shopify doesn’t allow adding extra charges for specific payment methods, because the payment method is chosen during the checkout only.
Our app can add a processing fee that will be applied to the orders matching the available product and cart conditions. Unfortunately, the payment method chosen during the current user’s checkout flow is not something that Shopify API allows to retrieve by 3rd party apps.

Please let us know if you have any further questions or concerns.

Marijuana Packaging

This app works great for us and also gives us flexibility in how we charge different types of fees, whether it's a percentage fee, flat fee, hidden fee or another option. Support is amazing for both technical help, answering general questions and giving tips. Update: Unfortunately this app ended up being rather unreliable in the long run. If you have a small store, this might work. However, for larger stores the consistency of the fee being applied is spotty. Also, the way the app adds the fee is not ideal with products needing to be created each time.

Developer reply

April 14, 2020

Hello,

Thank you very much for your review!

Have a great day.

Connector ID

I wanted to be able to apply the processing fee for International customers that utilize Paypal. I don't want to build the fee into my product price. After watching the video I downloaded the app but was later told by support that this was not possible. Nice try.

Developer reply

June 10, 2019

Hello,

We are sorry to hear that our app didn’t manage to cover your requirements. However, Shopify doesn’t allow adding extra charges for specific payment methods, because the payment method is chosen during the checkout only.
Our app can add a processing fee that will be applied to the orders matching the available product and cart conditions. Unfortunately, the payment method chosen during the current user’s checkout flow is not something that Shopify API allows to retrieve by 3rd party apps.

Please let us know if you have any further questions or concerns.

Switchback Brewing Co

The staff was amazing, until Black Friday, when they were unresponsive, and the app stopped working properly. It failed to charge a processing fee on every cart, it randomly charged the fee even when all the settings were correct (the staff at MageWorx set up the fee for my store themselves.)

Pretty unhappy with this situation at the moment.

HMJ - Wholesale

Avoid this app. For every item fee you want to add it creates an entirely new/separate "product" that appears in your cart, which is unbelievably ugly and confusing to customers. So if you've got 10 actual products in your cart, you've also got 10 fee "items" in your cart, on the receipt/invoice, etc. It's a really poor way to go about adding item fees and it blows me away that anyone thought to create an app around it. Granted, it is probably this way due to their inability to do anything on the Checkout pages (Shopify rules), but its still a pretty awful.

It also creates an unbelievable number of products in your database. I only have 7 real products and I've already spent the last 15 minutes deleting, literally, hundreds of these things.

I'm giving this two stars because the support can be helpful. They did a good bit of customization for me, perhaps knowing how awful their app is, but in the end it just wasn't enough. I hired an expert who customized code in about 30 minutes that is lightyears beyond what this app does.

And while support can be helpful, if you're in the US, beware -- they're in Belarus and so the end of their day is 11am PST, if you're lucky. So unless you want to wake up at 3am every day to try to get this working, you have to wait 24 hours, usually, for a response to any question you have. Pretty painful stuff. We were glad to be rid of it.