UpCharge: Surcharges & Fees

UpCharge: Surcharges & Fees

Free plan available. 14-day free trial.
Rating (4.2)
Reviews
Developer
122 reviews
10 reviews
Overall rating
4.2
Counts per rating level
  • 74% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 8% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 10% of ratings are 1 stars
10 reviews
March 3, 2022

Great app, responsive support. Only issue is that it wasn't clear this would not work for adding brokerage, tariff & customs fee as % of cart total. I was hoping to use this to add our prepaid customs and tariff costs, as we export to USA from Canada and we prepay all of the extra costs involved with crossing border. It does calculate the fee but I expected the fee could be shown as a line item after subtotal, or at least as last item in the cart. Instead it's simply mixed in with cart items. So in conclusion, only useful for 'Optional' fees such as add a service, custom add-on, insurance etc...

VR Supplies®
Canada
Time spent using app: 28 days
January 20, 2022

This app is amazing! BUT we cant use it as it is not set up for Australian States! PLEASE can you do a upgrade on it!

Able Westchem
Australia
Time spent using app: 8 months
May 30, 2020

Is it possible to use this app to build conditions from Order Tags, rather than Customer Tags? I have apps that add details of ongoing orders to tags, and I want to be able to specify different payment criteria based on those tags. Those other apps do not add these tags to Customer Tags - only Order Tags.

Pro2Call
Canada
Time spent using app: 11 days
Mageworx replied June 1, 2020

Hello,

Thank you for reaching out to us.

Unfortunately, it's impossible to create fees based on Order Tags. Please note that fees are applied on the cart page and the app may process the data based on the product, cart or customer account attributes. After a fee is applied, it's passed to the Order admin as a product. So it's impossible to connect the app logic with any existing orders or an order that has not been submitted yet.

In case of any questions please let us know.

February 26, 2020

Great app!
There are some bug but don't worry you will get the support service very well. They have solved all my problems very fast.

Greenspaces.id
Indonesia
Time spent using app: About 3 years
Mageworx replied February 27, 2020

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a beautiful review. Our company values put customer satisfaction as top priority and we are committed to our customers.

Do reach out to us for any suggestions or queries.

Have a great day.

November 29, 2019

In the computer hardware retail business profit margins are super low and competition is fierce. This app helps us to keep our prices at competitive levels whilest protecting us against lost funds due to transaction fees from payment gateways.

The support team takes pride in their work and the level of profesionalism and product / app expertiese is something I haven't seen in a long time.

Thanks guys! Keep it up! I look forward to a long lasting business relationship with you.

Titangaming Ltd
New Zealand
Time spent using app: 3 months
Edited March 10, 2021

app mostly works, has some slowness about it and can sometimes bug out, but working with developer as it happens to work out why

Scentalicious Supplies
Australia
Time spent using app: Almost 2 years
February 26, 2019

I sell beverages and was able to use this app to add a bottle deposit fee to my cart. There are small things that could be improved but the core of the app works great. Support was fantastic. I'd recommend this app!

Canoe Cola
Canada
Time spent using app: 5 months
February 25, 2019

This app definitely does what it says, and once its all configured it works great!

However, it took a bunch of trial and error and time with support to make it work the we intended. I would give it a 5 star rating if they fixed their documentation so it was clear.

Here are a couple of things we learned:

1) If you are going to use this for handling fees or fees that apply to every product, then you'll be using the HIDDEN FEE type, to make it work correctly you need to make sure to click the "DEFAULT" button for every one of the hidden fee type or they won't be applied, even when you rule would appear to do so. This is no where in the documentation, but should be.

2) You cannot affect the sort order or where the fees are shown in the cart, so they are not group or placed in alphabetical order. This means that the cart looks a little random. We wanted the fees to be shown after the products they applied to, but were told no can do! It really doesn't make any sense, and I'm sure if you could edit the code for your cart you could figure it out.

Other than these the app works well and does as its advertised!

Engineered Fluids
United States
Time spent using app: Almost 2 years
Edited December 3, 2018

App is flexible and easy to use. Provides a wide range of configurations options to manage fees across different product sets, The support department is excellent, Quick to respond and fast to resolve.

GripShade.com
United States
Time spent using app: Over 1 year
October 26, 2018

We use this app to add a cart fee during checkout. It works quite well and the support team is super responsive! I wish there was a little more opportunity for customization (our cart fee needs more details to describe it and there is a strict character limit). The cart fees work by generating products, which can seem a little confusing on the backend, but the benefit is that the cart fee shows up everywhere we need it to (work orders, confirmations, etc.). Overall would recommend this for a solution to cart fees and we have definitely seen this app pay for itself with the increased revenue.

Cedar and Moss
United States
Time spent using app: Over 4 years