Avaliações (1 678)

Avaliação geral
4,9
Pontuação por nível de classificação
  • 92% das classificações são de 5 estrelas
  • 4% das classificações são de 4 estrelas
  • 0% das classificações são de 3 estrelas
  • 0% das classificações são de 2 estrelas
  • 3% das classificações são de 1 estrelas
14 de janeiro de 2022

I have been using this app for well over a year now, and have been recently seeing the performance of this app drop dramatically! The app crashes, meaning your filters on your website will not work, load or appear. The Sync button fails, and you are left waiting hours-on-end for a response from the App developers with a fix, which makes you lose out on sales and gives your customer a bad experience. Do not bother with this app. Find an alternative. I am.

97th Vintage
Reino Unido
Almost 3 years usando a aplicação
Editado a 6 de agosto de 2020

Been using this app for the past 2 years. When it works it works great. However, this app is constantly down it seems they just can't handle the number of requests on the servers they're using. IF you want your website to be constantly down due to this app and lose thousands of pounds every day because of this app then download it. Support is ok but only seem to be available for 2 hours a day. Stay away from this app nothing but issues for the past 2 years!! Probably the worst app I've used unfortunately

Aztec Clothing
Reino Unido
Over 2 years usando a aplicação
1 de fevereiro de 2023

Bad app if you have a customized store. Every time their tech team try to work on a bug, always screwed up the functionality and we had to restore from the backup to fix their mess. Can't trust them anymore.

MirrorMate
Estados Unidos
About 2 years usando a aplicação
26 de novembro de 2021

I'm using this app and it just crashed during the biggest sales day of the year! Contacted the customer service via email and skype to no avail. Freaking out over lost sales at the moment...

Akenz Store
Hong Kong, RAE da China
About 2 years usando a aplicação
13 de abril de 2023

It is not possible to stick cms-sides or banners to a certain search query (that is only available for products). A personalization is not possible for that. In our opinion that should be standard for an app like that and we would not recommend the app until this feature is added.

Liveocare
Alemanha
Over 1 year usando a aplicação
13 de novembro de 2020

Not compatible with translation tools, so the app is not fully translated on my site. The product titles are showing only in one language only. Support is not helpful to find ressources and help with the issue. Would not recommend for multi langagues sites.

Boutique Opto-Réseau
Canadá
Over 1 year usando a aplicação
16 de março de 2019

Application has stopped working, no advice why, not able to get support. They do not offer 24/7..
Today is a disaster as none of my products are showing on my website, they have all gone. So many lost sales today and i cannot contact anyone

Collectible Madness
Austrália
Over 1 year usando a aplicação
Questão respondida por Globo 17 de março de 2019

Dear customer. We are so sorry for the problem. We have fixed it. Our team will contact to you to upgrade to version 5.0. We faced the problem because you are using version 4.0.
One again, We are so sorry for the problem

2 de março de 2023

We wanted to love this but we will be switching to another app. You have to manually sync the store every time you re-order a collection BUT the biggest issue is that their servers are constantly going down and it has left our site with no products on it until they fix their issues. I would click on a product page and it would show we have no products at all. We have several hundred. They reply via email several hours later and they have a Skype number to call but no one picks up. This is a huge problem when you are losing tons of business because you are relying on this app to show your products on the site. The capabilities are a little basic too. Please trust our word on this and GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!

TRISH SCULLY
Estados Unidos
About 1 year usando a aplicação
Editado a 9 de junho de 2020

Constant issues. I've had the app for 10 months and almost MONTHLY I find a new issue where the app isn't working properly and I have to contact support. It's a waste of my time and I should not have to keep checking the app if it's doing what it's supposed to.
Support is fairly quick at responding to issues but ultimately the app doesn't function properly and it's been a waste of money and time for me.

HAZEL MAI
Austrália
12 months usando a aplicação
Questão respondida por Globo 8 de janeiro de 2020

My pleasure! happy to help. Helen

Editado a 17 de março de 2019

This App works and suddenly it will be down and you will not see any filters. I am using this App from past 6 months and I have faced issue multiple times. Today the App is down and i am not able to see all the products in the website and it effected my sales. I am not sure if there is any maintenance activity or the developer doesn't care to inform about it. I request everyone to stay away from this app. Not worth having it. Make sure to select an App which has 24/7 support, a working phone number maybe and notify customers properly when App is going thru maintenance activities etc.

I am updating my review based on your reply here. If you have upgraded your App from Version 4 to 5, did you inform all your customers about the upgrade so the stores can check proactively to see if there are any issues and report them to you immediately. So you guys are upgrading an App and not testing if the App is backward compatible. Remember stores are paying for your App and this is not a free service.

NYDHI BADMINTON STORE
Estados Unidos
9 months usando a aplicação
Questão respondida por Globo 17 de março de 2019

Dear customer. We are so sorry for the problem. We have fixed it. Our team will contact to you to upgrade to version 5.0. We faced the problem because you are using version 4.0.
One again, We are so sorry for the problem