Merry and Bright®
Error 404 – Unfortunately, the app no longer works and has been for several months. The support is friendly and fast, but the problem remains. What a pity!
Thank you for writing your review and for letting us know about this issue. This issue can sometimes occur when accessing the app in a private or Incognito window, or if you have cookies disabed in your browser. The Product Reviews app relies on cookies to work properly and a 404 error will occur if it cannot access cookies within your browser.
If you have cookies enabled and are still experiencing issues, I would recommend contacting our support team directly so we can troubleshoot this in more detail: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Victor, Shopify Support
I honestly wanted to believe, that the app for reviews by Shopify would be fine. When you just want reviews on your shop it's easy to use and works, but there I encountered two severe issues. 1st Schema.org data snippets are not provided correct. We use a Shopify OS 2.0 theme. We encountered a mix of incomplete schema data which leads to "warnings" at Google Shopping and Search Console. Even worse, when we uninstalled this app from our shop to give another app a try, it wiped all our metafields data, ALL does nail it, not just the reviews meta data, but also other data we used, which has nothing to do with reviews, plus it wiped the Google Shopping feed data (Categories, Codes, Prices per kg/l). This app should really get a major bug hunt and refresh, for us it caused a lot of work to restore our data. (because our backup app did not backup metafield data)
Thank you for writing your review and for detailing the issues you had with the Product Reviews app. I appreciate the frustration you'd have with the loss of feed data and issues with the scheme data provided by the app, and I will be sure to submit your comments to our app development team. -Victor, Shopify Support
Is not good for SEO. They don't provide author variable of an review - so that is bad for your schema. I tried to work on with them but with no sense. Looking for another app
Thank you for getting in touch and for writing your review, and I am sorry to hear that you've found the Product Reviews app to be incompatible with your store from an SEO perspective. I will be sure to pass your feedback onto our app development team for them to consider. -Victor, Shopify Support
Works great on my new website, gocrossbow.com. Just added it a few weeks ago and already seeing the number of reviews on my products listed in google search. Great for seo and driving organic traffic.
Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review for Product Reviews! We're so glad to hear that it's been helpful for your business in the SEO sphere. If you ever have feedback you'd like to leave for Product Reviews, feel free to update your review, or reach our to our Live Team. -Imogen, Shopify Support
Yikes. All seems ok until it comes to importing reviews. Seems like there has been success within the Shopify community that I've attempted to mock but every time I try to upload there is a new issue that didn't exist before.
Hey there, Noisy Clan. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review for Product Reviews.
When it comes to importing reviews, there are a few issues that may pop up. If an import fails, it's likely caused by one of the products having reviews imported is not set to 'available' for the 'Online Store' sales channel. it's recommended that you mark your products as 'available' in the 'Online Store' sales channel before importing your reviews, as this will prevent the import from completing successfully.
Additionally, imports can enter a sort of 'stuck' state occasionally, and our Live Team will need to be contacted here to refreshed the import so it completes.
I recommend giving the availability step a try, and seeing if they resolves things. If it doesn't, then please reach out to the live team using this link: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Imogen, Shopify Support
It doesn't work.
It used to, but now it doesn't.
Maybe Shopify will fix it, maybe not.... who knows.
Hey there, ASAP Aquarium. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review for Product Reviews.
We're sorry to hear that the application has seemingly stopped working for you, and we'd love to lend a hand to help resolve things. I suggest that you reach out to our Live Support Team using this link (https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA), so you can let us know what exactly is going on with the application, so we can lend a hand with resolving the issues. -Imogen, Shopify Support
I just want to say that whoever created this app could not create it well. There are not enough words on explaining how many days and tries I had just to upload a few reviews. Also, the installation is tremendously difficult because the line codes need to be put in a specific alignment and rows. I have installed multiple apps and worked with them, coding and editing and I have never encountered so many bugs. Even the Shopify Team had to try multiple times to fix the problem and reached to multiple technical assistants. Dissatisfied. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND. STAY AWAY FROM THIS AND DO NO WASTE YOUR TIME!
Hi, there. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review today, and I'm sorry to hear about the issues you've been having with Product Reviews.
The installation process for the app is a bit more involved with having to directly add the code to a theme file, and we recognize that other similar applications have installation processes that skip doing this step manually. I'm also sorry to hear about these bugs you've mentioned, as well.
You mentioned you've been chatting with our Support Team, and I advise that you continue to do so if you experience continued issues with Product Reviews. The Support Team is equipped with the tools to help you troubleshoot the application in real-time, and are also able to document the bugs you've been experiencing so they be passed along to our Product Team. -Imogen, Shopify Support
We have contacted Shopify since this is their app - the app is clearly bugged. It does not work. All other apps we have work perfectly OK and this is the one that keeps showing the 404 and this "Product Reviews needs access to cookies. This lets the app authenticate you by temporarily storing your personal information. Click continue and allow cookies to use the app." Absolutely insane!!! Shopify need to fix this!
Hey there, Fonthill Media. Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us a review, and I'm sorry to hear about the issues you're experiencing using Product Reviews currently.
It is true that Product Reviews requires cookies to be enabled on the browers you're using in order for it to load properly. It sounds like you've been speaking with our Live Support Team directly, which is great, as they're equipped with the tools and information to help you address this issue. Since the error message you're receiving is related to cookies, it's likely doublechecking your browser's cookie settings can help you resolve this. You can confirm that it's a cookies issue by using a different browser to login to your store, and access the application. You'll also want to make sure that you're not using an incognito window or a private browsing window to login to your Shop. The method used to enable cookies is different for all browsers. If you're using Google Chrome, you can try the following steps: (Chrome menu > settings > privacy and security > cookies and other site data).
Since it sounds like you've already been chatting with the team, if the above information doesn't help you, I advise that you continue to follow up with them so they can help guide you to a resoution. -Imogen, Shopify Support
The Coffee Project
I've had an open ticket since May 3rd. Support has been friendly, but slow. I'll get an email asking me to click a link to see if that works, try it, reply still getting 404 error page. Next day, get a message telling me they have confirmed I have permission to view the page, try it again. Next day, please clear your cache and cookies and try this link. Clearly the link in the code is broken, or the app itself is broken.
Hi there, The Coffee Project. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review for Product Reviews.
I appreciate you providing everyone with the context surrounding your support ticket with us. Since you've already been communicating with the team, I strongly recommend that you continue speaking with them. The Live Team is able to authenticate you and your account, and is able to dive a lot deeper than what we can here on the Reviews Team.
If you're continuing to have issues with the app, even with the help that they've been providing, please stress that with the team and let them know that the issues are persisting. We all do our best to help, and I'm confident that our team will continue working with you until a solution is found for your issue. -Imogen, Shopify Support
Error 404 it shows. So right now app is not working, and its not cookies. I dont think its local either
Hi, there. Thanks for leaving a review, and we're sorry to hear about these 404 issues you've experienced with Product Reviews.
When investigating these 404 issues, they usually do end up being the result of a cookies setting issue with the browser you're using to login to Shopify. Product Reviews requires cookies to be enabled in order for it to load as expected. A method to confirm that this is a cookies issue by using a different browser to login to your Shopify store, and to open the application. If you're using a private viewing or incognito browser, you'll need to stop using this type of window to login to your store, as this causes Product Reviews not to work, because these windows block cookies. The method used to enable cookies is different for all browsers. If you're using Google Chrome, you can try the following steps: (Chrome menu > settings > privacy and security > cookies and other site data). The steps for checking your cookies settings for other browsers can also be found via a quick Google search.
You mentioned that you do not believe that this is a local issue, or cookies-based issue. If you believe that something more in-depth is happening with your Product Reviews application, then I recommend reaching out to the Live Team. That way, they can authenticate you accont, take a deep dive into the application, and refer to the Technical Team if needed for some advanced troubleshooting. You can access the Live Team using this link: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Imogen, Shopify Support