Product Reviews

Product Reviews

by Shopify

The simplest way to share your customers' experiences.

3.7 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    68% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    12% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    6% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    4% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    10% of ratings are 1 stars

All reviews

41 - 50 of 1435 reviews

Midnite Moon Trip

The one glaring cavity in this app is that it doesn't integrate with Shopify Email which seems like a no-brainer to me. How am I supposed to prompt my customers to leave reviews? People rarely leave reviews on their own when they have an average or good experience. It only happens *sometimes* when the experience was outstanding or more often when it was very very bad. This puts an undesirable slant on unprompted reviews. This is common marketing sense.
Otherwise I love the simplicity and ability to customize this app. If this one very important factor is fixed, and I could aggregate all of my reviews on to a single page for my customers to see, I believe this would be the perfect app for me.

Developer reply

January 16, 2021

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review here. I definitely agree that the ability to prompt reviews via email would be a really helpful addition to the app. I'll be sure to pass this on to our developers as a feature request for you. Cheers! - Brie, Shopify Support

Horizon Micromobility

Read the reviews first, the good and the bad. As soon as you get a review you'll then start to get errors with google console. You'll then contact support, they act surprised, even though this bug is years old, you'll then look to remove app and spend time looking at an alternative. It's shocking that this is a Shopify app and shocking that they have no issues with treating customers this way.

Developer reply

January 16, 2021

Hi, there. I'm sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with our support team. As mentioned in previous reviews, our developers are aware of warnings that you may receive from Google tools about missing data when using the app, and we are working on the app's compatibility with Google's requirements. This does not affect your general SEO or cause any trouble for customers in locating your online store. Feel free to let us know should you have any further questions about it. - Brie, Shopify Support

Routine

I used this app to help me do x. I really like how it does y. It would be nice if it did z better.
I used this app to help me do x. I really like how it does y. It would be nice if it did z better.

Tricks and Traps

This app is pretty disappointing. The fact that it is built by Shopify and doesn't sync with your orders or Shopify Email is pretty bad. You can't auto email customers asking them to leave reviews... Unless you want to manually email every customer and ask them to leave a review, this app will likely remain unused... Also, it lacks the simple functionality to show "verified customer" which would give the review more credibility. 2 big oversights by Shopify. You are better off using one of the other product review apps.

Developer reply

January 12, 2021

Thank you for your review. I can definitely see why email review prompts and verified customers would be useful. I'll be sure to pass this on to our development team as a feature request for you. Thanks for the feedback! - Brie, Shopify Support

luckypeach.co

Pretty good system for customer reviews, but it would be better if they had the ability to add pictures or even just automatic emails to ask customers to leave a review. The one bad thing about this app is that it slows down your page speed.

Developer reply

January 11, 2021

Thank you for reaching out and for providing us with your feedback, and I'm glad to hear you've had some success using the Product Reviews app. I can see why having these extra features and increased page speeds would be beneficial, and I will be sure to pass your comments onto our development team. -Victor, Shopify Support

Sauipe

So far this is really bad. We currently have Yotpo, which is a great reviews app. However, we are moving a new theme (not from Shopify) and that theme only works with this review app. I can't find any documentation for this Product Reviews app, and from what I see so far it doesn't have any features that we have now.

Developer reply

January 11, 2021

Hi, there. I'm sorry to hear that you're not pleased with the app so far. If your new theme isn't compatible with the Yotpo app, I'd definitely recommend reaching out to your theme developer to see if there's anything they can do for you, as they may be able to make some adjustments to support the compatibility.

You can find some helpful information about the Product Reviews app in our help docs: https://bit.ly/3nuSjk1, however you can always reach out to support with any questions as well: https://help.shopify.com/en/questions. Thank you. - Brie, Shopify Support

Steel & Grey

Not a great app from Shopify. Accessing the admin is very difficult, it will not work with Safari but does work with Chrome. The app is very basic, not too many options for customisation or importing reviews etc. There is no way of encouraging customers to review products either. Overall it is really lacking any real advantage

Developer reply

January 9, 2021

Hi, there. Thanks for this feedback! We are currently aware of an issue with accessing the app using Safari, and our developers are working on a fix. In the meantime, using any other browser should work. If you'd like to prompt your customers to leave reviews, you can do this by using Shopify Email or another email marketing app. You can also use an app such as Stamped.io to do this: https://bit.ly/38eEsKm. This can be used as an add-on to this app or on it's own. Feel free to contact our support team if you have any further questions. - Brie, Shopify Support

Nice Things by Helena

THIS APP IS ONE OF THE SHODDIEST THINGS IN THIS APP STORE. The fact that it’s made by Shopify themselves and yet the admin works so badly in almost every single browser (just redirecting on itself over and over again!) implies that it has clearly somehow been made by the laziest, most useless developers at Shopify! What an embarrassment Shopify. Get some of your better developers to fix it!

Developer reply

January 8, 2021

We appreciate this feedback, and you reaching out about the issues you're having with the app redirecting. I understand how frustrating this is to deal with, so I'd really like to help look into your situation further, and learn more about what's happening on your end. I'm going to follow up with you via email so we can discuss this in more detail. I'll be in touch soon! - Rae

tenpocit

Same here, my customers use the application with no issue but it does not count the number of reviews that I have. I can have 3-4 reviews for an item but the review count is still zero.

Developer reply

January 5, 2021

Hey, there! Thank you for letting us know. I'd like to look into this for you, so I'll follow up with you via email shortly for more information. Speak soon! - Brie, Shopify Support

M3Greek®

My customers use the application with no issue but it does not count the number of reviews that I have. I can have 3-4 reviews for an item but the review count is still zero.

Developer reply

January 4, 2021

I'm sorry to hear that you've had this issue but thank you for notifying us about this here. I'd like to take a closer look at this to see if it's possible to have the review count update correctly, so I will send an email to touch base with you on this. Please look out for that and get back to me if you'd like me to take a look at this for you. -Victor, Shopify Support