Bold Upsell ‑ True upsells!

Bold Upsell ‑ True upsells!


The #1 Black Friday app: Sell more with upsell and cross-sell

4.7 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

  • 5 of 5 stars
    86% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    7% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    2% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    4% of ratings are 1 stars

All reviews

11 - 20 of 59 reviews

Doesn't work. Will assuredly break your store and you will lose customers after installing this app, just like we did.

Couture Look

This app is so dumb! Probably a first grade wrote this app. The list of collections has limitations on how many it can show so if you have lots of collections, you can forget about picking. The list stopped somewhere in the middle of the B's collection...have long ways to go! Support told me that they will put in a request for future enhancements. Are you kidding me??? Future enhancements when the app is broken?? OMG!!!


Terrible experience. Bloated slow code. Page load time went from under 1 sec to 10 secs. Also stops add to cart from working. Should work out of the box as it's just the Simple Theme.

VVS Jewelry

****ing app disabled my cart page. I didn't know until a week after when a customer asked me why products added to his cart wasn't showing up on the cart page. I thought it was a facebook tracking issue. I wasted a lot of money because of this app.


This app makes your page go from 3 seconds to loading speed to 19 seconds. Horrible, make sure that you duplicate your theme before trying the app.

Homes Bracelets

uninstalled the app because it sucked and it messed with our code. Do not install. huhuihihihihuhiuhiuhiehwfi

Developer reply

January 29, 2020

Hello there. I'm glad to see that our team of experts were able to identify the issue of one of your other apps having conflicted with our code, causing some unsightly text on your homepage.

It looks like one of our installation experts was able to get the Upsell code fully removed from your store, as per your wishes.

I just wanted to apologize for the inconvenience this has caused, and we want to wish you the very best in the future!

Save Australia

Terrible experience. Buggy app. Everything takes forever. Customer service has no idea what they're talking about.

Developer reply

January 30, 2020

Hi there, I'm sorry that you had a poor experience using our app. I noticed that one of our newer chat agents was having a difficult time figuring things out for you, but it seems that one of our others was able to help you out after and everything seemed good from your end.

I understand you have already deleted our app, but if you decide you'd like to try Upsell again in the future, please don't hesitate to let us know. Best of luck with everything in the future.


This shit doesn't let me cancel my subscription. Something like this never happened to me before. It says that my next charge is in 2 days, but it doesn't let me cancel it. It's unreal and very stupid.

Developer reply

December 9, 2019

Hi there! One of our app specialists, Tim, has reached out to you already, but I just wanted to let you know that in order to avoid being charged after the trial, you just need to delete our app from your Apps section within Shopify's admin!

We hope that helps. Please don't hesitate to reach out if you need anything else.

HMB, Inc.

TL;DR; If you plan to ever make updates to your products, this app will break and you'll have to start from scratch.

I've only had the app for about a month and twice in this time period, my product upsells have randomly stopped working. I've had to reach out to support twice now and I feel like I have to constantly police the app to make sure it works. In many cases, I've made no updates to the products, but been accused of doing so (including in the response to this review). and told that's why the app has broken.

Quite frankly though, even if I made changes to product descriptions or pricing, that's not a good reason for the app to break.

This means that the app is not dynamic, which is super surprising to me. What if someone needs to mass update pricing? Shopify allows users to mass update products via CSVs for a reason - because it's required by many of their users. A premium paid app should support this functionality. There is a reason Shopify set it up so that the handle is treated as a unique identifier... so that users can make updates to products without things breaking.

Also, if you have a lot of unique upsells (we have 50+), it's super time consuming to set up the upsells. You have to collapse and uncollapse fields to set up triggers, and the search function for filtering is very unreliable. Lots of unnecessary UI design on the backend that slows things down for the user.

All-in-all there is much work to be done on this product. I'm not sure how it has such good ratings?

If you're only planning to use this product for 10 or fewer products, it's probably ok though.

Developer reply

December 5, 2019

Hello there, I just wanted to say thank you for taking the time to leave us a review and share your experiences with the app. I'm very sorry you have been experiencing some troubles with our Upsell app - I want to assure you that having to constantly watch the app is not something you should need to do.

Because each offer is unique, it unfortunately does take a bit of time to set them up. However, there is an option to duplicate your offers! That way, if you're making similar offers, you can easily duplicate & adjust the conditions so that it saves a bit of time.

Regarding the offers not working, that shouldn't be the case unless any changes have been made to the offer product since creating the offer, or it's out of stock. As well as if your plan's view limit has been reached.

I hope this clears things up! Please don't hesitate to respond to our most recent email, and we'd be glad to discuss things further with you if you'd like.


Careful installing ANY BOLD App!! They add a ton of code. We have been down all week. The apps do not all talk to each other, a lot of features are not intuitive, and URGENT in the BOLD world, is now 6 DAYS!! When they work they are great, but when they don't it is a nightmare!

Developer reply

October 21, 2019

Hi there, I just wanted to apologize for the delay in getting all of your apps properly integrated and working on your store; that's certainly not how we like our merchants to experience when they contact our support team.

It looks like Eric has answered your most recent questions in regards to different apps and the checkout limitations. We hope that the solutions offered will align with your business' needs, as we are unfortunately limited when it comes to other third-party apps.

Again, we are very sorry for the frustration this has caused you; we certainly did not want you to have a bad experience with us, and hope we can turn that around.