Overall rating
4.9
Counts per rating level
  • 97% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants highly recommend this app for its ability to increase sales and Average Order Value through post-purchase upsells. They appreciate its user-friendly interface, easy setup, and personalized "Thank You" pages for different products. The detailed analytics provided are invaluable for refining strategies. The customer support team is praised for their exceptional service. Long-term merchants endorse it for its reliability and consistent performance, making it a crucial tool for serious e-commerce businesses.

April 9, 2024

Overall great app and fast helpful customer service! Alex helped me out with a bunch of questions and overall definitely recommend the app if you are looking for post-purchase upsells, super straight forward and quality support! Great app! easy 5 star

RoseGold & Black Pty Ltd
Australia
Over 2 years using the app
ReConvert 💵 replied April 14, 2024

Thank you for your 5* review - it means the world to us!

We want our merchants to be as successful as possible and we grow with them! That's how we have always rolled and will continue to roll 📈

Always here for you 🖤

Jordan | Customer Care

May 4, 2024

I used this product in the past and had to take a break as I didn't need a post purchase option, things have since changed and I needed to get my old program back. I had some questions and Avraham and Alex took great care of me. Product is awesome, and 10/10 customer service.

Frontline Optics
United States
About 1 year using the app
ReConvert 💵 replied May 6, 2024

Hey!

Thank you for your 5* review and I'm pleased you are happy! Alex and me - dream team.

I'm glad we were able to help you in the end to achieve the result you were looking for!

Always here for you 🖤

Avraham | Customer Success

May 8, 2024

ReConvert has been great for our thank you page optimization, and their customer service is top notch. Avraham was incredibly helpful when we ran into some issues, and we've been very pleased with the team's responsiveness!

Soapbox
United States
Almost 3 years using the app
ReConvert 💵 replied May 15, 2024

Hey!

Thank you for your 5* review and I'm pleased you are happy!

I'm glad we were able to answer your questions and get things sorted for you! Was a pleasure assisting.

Always here for you 🖤

Avraham | Customer Success

Edited April 18, 2024

I had a few issues with some incorrect billing amount, but the management team promised to sort it out.

Coolcat Gadget
Hungary
Over 4 years using the app
ReConvert 💵 replied April 14, 2024

Hi V

Thanks so much - Happy to have helped. 🖤

Avraham | Customer Success Manager

May 3, 2024

Don't waste your money; this app won't better your business but will take your money from your hard work in achieving your sales. This app has taken money out of my accounts without authorization, approximately $1600, as they have done to other businesses according to the reviews. They are very sly, and I have read in a review here that they changed their free plans by giving only one day's notice. They claim I have been using the app, yet I have screenshots proving they never had access to my customer data, which is essential for the app to function correctly. The app was disconnected after the free trial because it didn't bring any extra sales whatsoever. Yet, they continued to take money from sales they did not contribute to in any way.

MVE BOUTIQUE
Australia
Over 1 year using the app
ReConvert 💵 replied May 5, 2024

M,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I'm sorry to hear about your frustrations.

Our records show that:-

- When you installed the app, permission was provided to charge up to a maximum of $799, in accordance with the pricing terms, was agreed to you by you.
- You had a 30 day trial beginning on 29 December 2022.
- On 21 January 2023 you were charged your first charge of $89.99 as you had between 1,000 and 1,999 orders.
- Since then, and continuing until 17 March 2024, you were charged $89.99 per month (as the number of orders remained the same).

Some months you were also charged a commission of 0.75% on orders where ReConvert technology generated the sale.

On 17 April 2024 you were charged $49.99 as your total orders in this month dropped to between 500 and 999 orders.

On 25 April 2024 you uninstalled ReConvert and made claims that we had fraudulently been taking your money since January 2023.

I would like to help address your concerns and improve your experience. I would personally like to speak with you to understand your goals better and see how we can assist you in achieving the results you want using ReConvert.

Please reply to my email from a week ago, so we can schedule a call. I'm here to assist you and find a resolution together.

Thank you again though for taking the time to share your perspective.

Best regards

Avraham | Customer Success

March 25, 2024

This App is best for reconverting conversions. Alex is best with his customer service and I am so happy he solved all my inquiries with patience. I will definitely be using this app on all my other stores.

Himalayas Shop
Australia
Over 3 years using the app
ReConvert 💵 replied March 27, 2024

Thank you for your 5* review - it means the world to us!

Alex sure is great!

Always here for you 🖤

Jordan | Customer Care

May 3, 2024

The customer service is absolutely amazing, I had a problem and Avraham from Reconvert helped me with it thoroughly! I’m so grateful! Defiantly download this app because if you do ever need support, they’re so helpful!

CanineCraftsUK
United Kingdom
7 months using the app
ReConvert 💵 replied May 5, 2024

Hey A!

Thank you for your 5* review and I'm pleased you are happy!

I'm glad we were able to help you in the end to achieve the result you were looking for!

Always here for you 🖤

Avraham | Customer Success

April 25, 2024

There are a lot of disappointing apps in the Shopify App Store that are poorly designed, confusing, and just don't work. This is not one of them. I'd never installed or used a post-purchase upsell app before, but it was a breeze using this because you can visually see the flow you're building, and it all worked as expected. This app absolutely deserves its high rating.

Great job to the ReConvert team!

Gear Genius
United States
About 1 month using the app
ReConvert 💵 replied May 2, 2024

Thank you for your 5* review - it means the world to us!

We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about how highly-regarded you consider our app to be! We also think so (but then we could be accused of bias! 😉 )

Always here for you 🖤

Jordan | Customer Care

April 17, 2024

I loveddd this app! I don't even know why I deleted it, but I am back. Customer Service agent assisting me and gave the best service.

Bezzleme
United States
Almost 2 years using the app
ReConvert 💵 replied May 2, 2024

Thank you for your 5* review - it means the world to us!

Thank you for acknowledging the hard work that everyone at ReConvert puts in to try to make our customers' experience the best it can be!

Always here for you 🖤

Jordan | Customer Care

March 23, 2024

The app doesn't work, i showed their team proof of how it just redirects my customers to a non loading page and tried all their solutions. They've bene "working" on it for the last 4 days with no updates at all. I reached out yesterday and it turned they haven't actually done anything at all to fix the issue. Very disappointed with their app and would not recommend it considering their response now to teh issue as that it was "Global" issue affecting all of it's users. The only reason i found out it wasn't working was because i decided to test it, it seemed like it was working so if i wouldn't have done that it would just be redirecting my customers to a non existing page for who knows how long.

Kreative Living
United States
About 3 years using the app
ReConvert 💵 replied March 26, 2024

Hi there,

Sorry you seem to have had some issues with the app!

I have sent you an email. Can you please get back to me and I will solve this for you? I promise it'll worth your time :)

I've been trying to call and email you but got no answer.

I really want to solve this issue for you.

Avraham | Customer Success Manager