Overall rating
Counts per rating level
  • 14% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 11% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 13% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 15% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 47% of ratings are 1 stars
May 2, 2019

This app keeps stuffing up on me, half the time it won't even print and ends up just sitting there in the printer app?? Also feels like so many more steps to actually print barcodes compared to the old app. Not user friendly

BK8 Outfitters
11 months using the app
Shopify replied May 28, 2019

Thanks for taking the time to offer this feedback about the Retail Barcode Labels app! The apps team at Shopify is always looking for ways to improve the functionality and workflow of our apps, so I’ve reached out to you via email to get more context and to look into this further. I hope to hear from you soon! -Lauren, Shopify Support

July 23, 2021

We use this barcode maker for our two stores. The biggest issue it has is it makes duplicate labels for different items. This messes with our inventory levels a lot and it seems to keep happening. I am looking for a new app as we cannot afford to let this keep happening as we have two brick and mortar stores and an online store so it is very important that our inventory is correct at all times.

United States
11 months using the app
Shopify replied July 29, 2021

I am sorry to hear that you have had this issue with the Retail Barcode Labels app and can appreciate that the duplication of labels is especially frustrating when you have numerous stores and accurate inventory reporting is important. This is a known issue with the app and we are logging merchant feedback on this, so I will be sure to pass your comments on to our app development team. Thank you for writing your review and letting us know you're having this problem. -Victor, Shopify Support

June 21, 2020

Only suport for Avery and Dymo labels. Couldn't get it to print on my Brother labelprinter. No possibility to add custom label sizes . Fix those and you have a great app.

10 months using the app
Shopify replied July 3, 2020

Thank you for providing your feedback to us here. At this time the app is only compatible with supported label printers, although I can appreciate that being able to use it with other brands and models would be a benefit to you. I'll be sure to submit this feedback to our development team on your behalf. -Victor, Shopify Support

May 25, 2019

We do not like the new app. The printer and label default changes each time the app is open. The old application was far better.

Santa Fe Clay
United States
9 months using the app
Shopify replied May 27, 2019

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! Our team works hard to improve the Retail Barcode Labels app functionality so we’d like to look into this further for you. I’ve reached out to you via email, hope to hear from you soon! -Lauren, Shopify Support

Edited January 11, 2023

This app is free and yet somehow still I'm disappointed. It is restricted to a limited range of labels from 3 specific brands of labels with specific brands/models of printers. (conveniently printers you can buy from the Shopify store.) You'd think this thing would be highly optimized for said printers, but I've had so many issues. For example, just today I had the labels just randomly start printing sideways. Like, between print-jobs using the same template, minutes apart. Shopify has a bad habit of creating apps and then never supporting or improving them, and sadly this is one of them.

Update: 01/11/2023.
No noticeable updates, but through some tinkering, I've been able to get it to work and it does print labels, so I'm upgrading it from 1 to 2 stars. However, another noticeable issue is the clunkiness in regards to bulk controls. You can't, for example, filter your search to a product category and select all, and you can't copy past a quantity down a row like you can if you were bulk editing something in Shopify. This is being mentioned because I recently needed to print one of each label, for the purpose of sticking on bins (a pretty fair use-case) and that involved me individually searching each item and then individually setting the quantity to 1. Very very very tedious, and if you have a warehouse full of SKU's, you're in for a bad time.

I appreciate Imogen's response, and I genuinely hope to see this app improve, but it really does feel like it's being neglected.

United States
8 months using the app
Shopify replied September 15, 2022

Hi there, Sanshee. Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. We're sorry to hear that Retail Barcodes hasn't been performing to the standard that you expect from us. We take feedback such as this very seriously, as it helps us improve our product offerings into something folks can enjoy using. Our Product Team is aware of requests for further supported label types and printers, and I'll make sure they see your review here for further proof of the value such features would bring. If you do encounter issues such as the labels changing orientation in the future, please reach out to our Live Team (https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA) so they can document the issue, and assist with troubleshooting. -Imogen, Shopify Support

November 25, 2021

No email back from support, barcodes are invalid. It would be a great app if the barcodes worked for google shop.

United States
8 months using the app
Shopify replied November 30, 2021

Thank you for writing your review and I'm sorry to hear that you did not receive a response back from our support team. If you're still experiencing issues with the barcodes, please reach out to our team again who can also be contacted via callback and live chat: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. -Victor, Shopify Support

January 8, 2021

This app is really frustrating. It doesnt create barcodes consistently. It logs out of shopify & is just a frustration.

Rock Paper Scissors
United States
7 months using the app
Shopify replied January 11, 2021

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback here; I'm sorry to hear you're having trouble with the app. I'd like to help you troubleshoot these issues, so I'll follow up with you via email shortly to take a look together. Cheers! - Brie, Shopify Support

Edited October 1, 2020

Fine at first but now won't work. Won't create new templates. And the printer paper size drop down doesn't have the compatible size printer paper.

United States
7 months using the app
Shopify replied October 5, 2020

I'm sorry to hear that you've experienced this issue with the Retail Barcode Labels app but thank you for notifying us of the issues you're having here. I'd like to take a closer look into this to see if we can troubleshoot this issue together, so I will be sending an email to you shortly to discuss this with you further if you're still looking for help. Please get back to me there if that is the case. -Oliver, Shopify Support

February 22, 2021

We used this application to print the barcode for our store. While using this application we were facing the problem of not printing the price along with the barcode. We contacted to the support team regarding this issue. But they said that your country currency doesn't support with our system as this application is used worldwide for printing the barcode. For developer:
Developers should update this application with time by time as many of the Shopify users using this application for barcode printing.

United Arab Emirates
7 months using the app
Shopify replied February 22, 2021

Hi, there! Thank you for that feedback - that is correct, you aren't able to print your pricing on your barcodes using the app if you are using an unsupported currency on your store. If this is the case for you, I'd recommend using the Dymo label printing software instead: https://bit.ly/39fg0Ji. Hope that helps! - Brie, Shopify Support

August 5, 2022

I wish you could add pre-existing barcodes from our vendors with the Shopify app. Need to allow up to 9 number barcode.

Swalty Sisters, LLC
United States
6 months using the app
Shopify replied August 18, 2022

Thank you for taking the time and sharing this feedback with us. While there isn't a way to import barcodes at this time, you can create barcodes up to 39-digits. However, this will depend on the type of labels you're using, so please refer to our list of supported label sizes (https://bit.ly/3durQDU).

That being said, we understand that importing barcodes from the vendors can be beneficial for our merchants, like yourself, and we'd be more than happy to pass this feedback along to our development team as a feature request for future considerations.

On the other hand, if importing barcodes is something that you absolutely need right now, then we'd encourage using StockSavvy Barcode Scanning (https://bit.ly/3SYLBUy) for the time being. Cheers! -Elias, Shopify Support