AfterShip Returns , 2,264 reviews

Overall rating
Counts per rating level
  • 79% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 11% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 1 stars
What merchants think

Feedback submitted

Merchants appreciate this app for its customizable features, intuitive interface, and seamless Shopify integration. It's praised for effectively tracking returns and enhancing the customer shopping experience. The app is suitable for businesses of all sizes due to its scalability and affordability. Many commend the customer service for its efficiency and quick response time. It's recommended for its seamless website integration and easy navigation.

Edited March 25, 2020

Have to change my review from 5 stars to 2 stars. After trying to setup Paperless invoicing from UPS within Postmen, the staff seems lost and are all sending me the exact same copy pasted email with instructions. Yet it keeps generating an error and none of them can figure it out...
Still havent heard back.

Over 1 year using the app
Edited April 28, 2019

Horrible app!!!
They Added features after the initial install and billed for things we never signed up for. Sketchy and confusing interface after conversion from original app. Moving on to something else.

Hellanbach 2
United States
Over 1 year using the app
April 6, 2018

Awesome app but extremely disappointed they are discontinuing it and making you pay like $40 a month for the new one.

Land Leather
United States
About 1 year using the app
June 9, 2020

so disappointed. honestly there aren't that many options for an automated return app. Don't have much of a choice so I'm using this but:
1. its complicated to use and setup
2. They MAKE you use their partner app Postmen. We already use shipstation for shipping orders out and now ih ave to pay for another app just to get this to work
3. not that many options for customization. It sends way too many emails to the customers regarding the return process and when i contacted customer support to turn them off they said its not possible. The customer is going to receive emails through shopify regarding their return and also from this app. Its annoying for the customer to receive literally 5 emails regarding their return.
im continuing to search for another app and hoping to switch soon if these issues aren't resolved. doesn't make sense to me to be forced to send emails

Mini Dreamers
United States
About 1 year using the app
AfterShip & Automizely replied June 9, 2020

Dear AfterShip Returns Center user,

Thank you for leaving us a review. We're sorry you feel that way.

1. Regarding the setup process, would you mind let us know where you find it complicated so that we could improve.

2. Postmen is one of our company's product and it's completely free now. In this app you can connect with your own courier account to generate labels using negotiated rates.
If you don't have a courier account, we also provide discounted USPS courier account for you to setup.

3. Regarding the email notifications, actually, when you update a return, you can always "uncheck" the send email notification option, in this case, Returns Center will not send out the notification emails to your customers.

Thank you for choosing Returns Center, we are always improving our app. Hope to see you again soon!

December 9, 2020

I can't setup the Hero image or create a custom return page URL. I have sent numerous emails and have not received any assistance. My 14 day trial is over and I will be looking for another app to install.

Shop Poshlime
United States
10 months using the app
AfterShip & Automizely replied December 9, 2020


Apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Give us a last opportunity to get all your issues resolved and make you happy customer!
You can always reach out to us via the chat option available on your account or email us at We are available 24 X 7.

Kind regards,
Brishketu pal

July 7, 2020

Looks great but Its been a headache to add it to my homepage and there's no way to contact the developers. Shame seems great.

United States
7 months using the app
AfterShip & Automizely replied July 7, 2020

Dear customer,
Thank you for your review. To add your returns page to your store, you can simply copy your returns page URL, which is "", and then paste this to your store website by:
- In your return policy page, add a text string, e.g. "visit returns center" and add the link;
- in your store theme footer section, put the the link in your website footer.

Hope this will help! Thanks

Edited July 22, 2020

I really need this pop up window to go away so that is why I'm writing a review. But for some reason it won't let me submit it!

Best Friends by Sheri
United States
5 months using the app
AfterShip & Automizely replied July 23, 2020

Dear customer,

Thanks for your review. Sorry that the pop up window bothers you. We have closed that. :)

April 1, 2018

Liked it before the mandatory switch and sign up to something different. This version will no longer be available after April 30th.

United States
4 months using the app
October 2, 2020

It is confusing and not easy to set up. I you have someone who understands all the steps you have to take to get this running in the background, then it will be easy. But for a new person setting up their shop, its not east to get running.

Plus Size Rider Canada
3 months using the app
AfterShip & Automizely replied October 4, 2020


We are committed to helping you. One of our team members will reach out to you in order to help.

Mukul Saxena

Edited April 27, 2022

The app seems to be good. I've just tried couple of test orders and still waiting to see how it works when live.
I've had previously an issue setting up the app and paying for SSL but after a discussion with support it has been sorted.
The supper helped me to set custom domain and everything so now I hope it makes our exchange and return process faster and smooth for us and our customers.
21 days using the app
AfterShip & Automizely replied April 7, 2022

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

Please accept my sincere apology for the experience you had. However, this is not the experience we want to provide to our users.

You are our valued user and we always aim to deliver a great experience. We are disappointed to know that our service did not meet your expectations. For the SSL charge not being visible, We have shared the feedback with our developers, Also, please note that Cloudflare charges us for SSL, and for that reason, we have a charge to enable the SSL on the return page.
We have shared some more details with you over the email, Kindly go through the email and let us know if that works for you.

Looking forward to hearing back from you.

Returns Center