Route ‑ Protection & Tracking

Route ‑ Protection & Tracking

by RouteApp LLC

Fuel Growth with Order Protection, Package Tracking & More

3.9 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.
  • 5 of 5 stars
    72% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    6% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    1% of ratings are 3 stars
    (3)
  • 2 of 5 stars
    4% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    16% of ratings are 1 stars

All reviews

10 reviews

DopeBoo

We finally got a lovely person (Katie) to provide us some support and help regarding the appin the end. But by that point there had just been too many issues to make it worthwhile. First, setup is not easy or smooth. Secondly, they modified some things in our checkout process that we didn't want and we had to have them resolve it. Next, we see clients adding it (or having it default and them not deselecting it) so ok....But we never saw or got notice of when a new order was needed to be shipped to a client. It was not a painless, smooth or easy process that they lead you to believe when making their sales pitch AT ALL. It also required you to log on over to their site and see and track things there. Sorry, I don't see that making life any easier. Then I guess we had 1 maybe 2 orders with issues and they reached out to us and said that we were having too many issues and had to raise rates/change the setup as it wasn't working for them. What?!?! In the end, it didn't save us any time, energy or ease of frustration with order issues. Spent awhile looking around at other apps and we'll move on to one of them. If we are going to have the headaches anyways, then why are we giving them the money? Would give it a 1 star were it not for the help Katie was kind enough to provide in the end.

Developer reply

May 21, 2021

Hi there,

Thank you for relaying your experience. We’re so happy to hear that our wonderful CSM, Katie, was able to provide help and clarity in the end . We do apologize, however, for the rocky start. We’d be happy to look into your situation as well and do everything we can to further clarify and set things right.

At times when merchants have additional assets on their page, or customized checkout processes as in your case, adding Route can require a few extra steps for a smooth setup. We do have a team dedicated to implementing the Route widget in such situations, and they can be reached at merchantsupport@route.com should you run into any future implementation snags.

We are so sorry for the confusion caused regarding notice of when a new order is needed to be shipped. When an issue is approved for a reorder, our specialists notify the customer and an update is provided for merchants within the dashboard.

Regarding tracking, we do require an account login for our merchant portal so merchants can securely track their customers’ packages and have visibility into issue statuses and order stats.

Customers, on the other hand, are welcome to download and log into our Route app or follow the web tracking link in their Route confirmation email to track their packages.

Again, thank you for sharing your experience, and our apologies for any confusion caused. All of your feedback has been passed along to our team. If you experience any further implementation difficulties, tracking inquiries, or other questions, please feel free to reach out to merchantsupport@route.com and we’d be more than happy to assist.

All the best,

Jordan, Customer Service

dla dushy

I can not say that I recommend this service. I used it for more than six months and during all this time I had THREE cases related to delivery problems. And only ONCE did Route cover the cost of the lost item. The last time I received an alarm notification from the post office about a parcel. Track number did not work. I wrote Rout's support and was told they couldn't help with it. Hundreds of dollars for six months to pay for the "service" is nowhere. Just weird.

Developer reply

March 24, 2021

Hi there,

Thanks so much for your invaluable feedback. We pride ourselves on offering top-notch customer service, and we are so sorry your experience fell short. We'd be happy to look into your customer claims and assist however we can.

It appears that out of the three claims filed, that one was filed outside of our coverage timeframe, the second case was closed as the customer told our specialist the package arrived safely after filing, and the third claim is still awaiting a response from the customer regarding updated tracking information. We've had an agent reach out to the third customer to make sure they're taken care of as soon as possible.

Since Route covers packages in lost, stolen, and damaged cases, we do require accurate tracking for all packages filed so we can ensure each situation is handled accordingly and within our coverage timeframes. As for the first claim not covered, per Route protection policy we do have certain timeframes during which a claim should be filed. An overview of our detailed coverage policies can be found here: https://help.route.com/hc/en-us/articles/360041131194-Route-Package-Protection-Policies as well as deadlines to report issues here: https://help.route.com/hc/en-us/articles/360050129513-Deadlines-to-report-an-order-issue.

Our sincerest apologies for any confusion caused regarding Route's protection parameters and required tracking on all packages. If you feel that claim denial was made in error, or you have any questions regarding our policies, please reach out to us at: https://help.route.com/hc/en-us and we'd be happy to revisit the claim or clarify further.

Hope you're staying safe and healthy,

Jordan, Customer Service

United Apparel Liquidators

Loved it at first, but I do not like the new way they handle claims and refunds. We got the app to take some of the burden off of our small team when it came to filing claims. Now they have made more work for us on the reporting end. Looking for alternatives.

Developer reply

March 16, 2021

Hi there,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your honest feedback! We are always looking to improve our practices and procedures, and I am so sorry that our claim process was not meeting your expectations.

Due to a recent automation and implementation update to our system - Resolve via Platform (RVP) - replacement orders and refunds are now solved at the click of a button via Shopify, and credited weekly back to your Route bill.

We have found that another great benefit of RVP is that it has allowed us to deliver on our promised 24-48 hour response time.

For more details on how RVP affects your billing, please read more here: https://help.route.com/hc/en-us/articles/360055934194-Route-Order-Issues-Resolution-Resolve-via-Platform-

Our Support team works to ensure that your customers will be assisted with ease, all with the necessary information to quickly find a resolution that will work best for them, and still following close within Route’s policies.

We are more than happy to help you find alternatives, and are always here to explore different approaches that may work best with your own processes–as we value your partnership and your time!

If you would like to continue using Route, please feel free to contact us at merchantsupport@route.com and we'll do everything we can to help.

For any future questions - claim follow-up, RVP billing concerns, or full-coverage inquiries - please feel free to reach out to merchantsupport@route.com. 

Thank you,
Leea, Route Support Team

needed.

Updating our review-unfortunately Route has had major bugs and customer service issues of late, and we are de-activating. The slow response times, denials for arbitrary reasons, and billing issues (double billing us multiple times) is worsening our customer service experience, not enhancing it. (ORIGINAL REVIEW: We had some initial bugs implementing Route, but customer support and partnerships teams have been very amenable to my suggestions for improvement, and finding creative solutions that fit our brand ethos and website user experience. We pay for full coverage so it's a little pricey. I will say that the customer paying for Route at checkout was problematic from the start, which is why we went with full service. )

Developer reply

February 25, 2021

Hi there,

Thank you for your positive review! We're so pleased that our implementation, support, and partnership teams were able to work with you on solutions and features that best fit your brand and user experience.

We likewise feel very lucky to be partnering with you, and we are glad that the full coverage option is bringing peace of mind to both you and your customers.

Should you run into any future snags with your current Route setup, feel free to reach out to us at merchantsupport@route.com. We would be more than happy to support and accommodate however possible!

Hope you are staying safe and healthy,

Jordan, Customer Service

Sloppy Chops Co

This app has potential, but is seriously lacking after the latest update to policy. We have been utilizing Route throughout 2020 and initially had a great experience (timely communication in helping to get it installed on our site and also with our customers when there was an issue). HOWEVER, beginning this autumn 2020, Route changed its policies where when a claim is filed by a customer and approved by Route they do not immediately reimburse your account. Instead, if the claim is approved, they will immediately create a replacement order within your store and mark it as PAID and the claim as RESOLVED. Unfortunately, this order is NOT actually paid for at that time, nor is it fully resolved, as new policy dictates that they, theoretically, will now only reimburse claims on a WEEKLY basis (I say theoretically as I have not received reimbursement as of yet from the billing period ending 12/13/20, and there is no reimbursement scheduled on our invoice history w Route). This new policy, even when working as it should, easily leads to complications with the customer as they obviously want their new product shipped out ASAP, however, as a shop I need to explain to them that I will not ship out a replacement until payment *actually* clears from Route. Other issues that have also cropped up recently is poor communication (they take several days to respond to emails [if at all], and are curt in their messages, not answering fully and ignoring assistance requests). There is no phone number or live chat to speak with anyone in real time, so email is your only available method of communication with CS. Also, take note that their insurance does not cover the cost to ship the new item covered in the claim, so although a claim may be filed and approved, Route does not pay for reshipment of the replacement item, nor does the customer -- it will have to come directly out of the shop's pocket...not ideal for international packages or items that are pricey to ship.

Developer reply

January 4, 2021

Hi there,

Route strives to provide top notch customer service, so we greatly value feedback and appreciate you sharing your experience with us. We are so sorry it was less than ideal, but we'd be happy to clarify further and assist however we can.

Our new update - Resolve via Platform (RVP) - eliminates the time, effort, and cost required to resolve customer issues with a replacement order or refund when the customer encounters order issues with lost, damaged, or stolen packages.

In terms of billing under this new system, Route still pays for qualifying refunds and reorders - the subtotal of the protected items minus shipping, taxes, or discounts - and merchants will be credited/paid weekly by Route for all refunds and reorders. Although we've changed how we format reimbursements, Route still works as promised.

For more details on what RVP means for billing, read more here.
While we are busy at work this holiday season with an uptick of online orders and COVID and weather delays, our new RVP update allows for a 24-48 hour response time and much faster resolution time.

I see that a member of our merchant team has already been in touch with you regarding your billing questions and further assistance. However, should you run into further questions, or notice any billing discrepancies, feel free to reach out to us at merchantsupport@route.com. I’ve notified our team of your feedback, so they’ll be on the lookout for any communications!

Hope you had a lovely & safe holiday season,

Jordan, Customer Service

SUVA Beauty

We have used this app for about one month and maybe 800 customers have purchased it. The process for the customer to request a replacement and reorder is not easy like their sales team have suggested. A customer will almost always get frustrated and require support from the brand.

Maybe 20 customers have requested a claim and as of now only one has been approved. We have had to mitigate for these which is fine but really defeats the purpose of this app.

Lastly, the support is not quality as you need to submit email tickets and responses take long which frustrates a customer further.

I would recommend that someone should just consider adding a product themselves as insurance and test for a month to see if you even need a service like this. But, if you do need this consider another service as they dont follow through on their marketing claims.

Brooklyn Slate Company

Initial experience was great! The service was exceptional and helped us tremendously through the 2019 Holiday season. Our connection broke sometime in early 2020 and we didn't notice until May (we didn't have any shipping issues). I was surprised no one from Route reached out to us regarding the disconnect from our website. We recently had our first claim in months and it has been a nightmare. ZERO communication from Route. The dashboard doesn't work (well, maybe if you let it load for 15 MINUTES!). Hearing back from customer service took almost a full week.

Estancia Tiles

At first the app worked great (early 2020) and there was Merchant support and even a phone number at that time but now no phone number and emails take days even a week for a response. Over the last 6 months the claim dashboard has issues and trying to file the claim is broken. Even the customer gets an error message trying to file the claim. If you have multiple items in the shipment, you have to add photos of every single item so for a box of 100 tiles that arrive broken, you have to add the photos 100 times! One claim was denied for a damaged table top saying it was cosmetic. I only give it 2 stars as it has potential but lacks people that can respond to emails (no phone number is available for any help). They rate a F with the BBB which tells it all. Read the reviews there.

Strolleria

A company that will pay for all your customers' lost, stolen and damaged packages at no cost to you? If it sounds too good to be true, it might be. Over six weeks, Route paid five claims for lost and stolen packages. But our first damage claim—and more importantly, the company's handling of it—caused us to deactivate the app.

We sell luxury baby gear, so the safety and integrity of our products is of the utmost importance. A customer contacted Route when her $1,400 product arrived with a 3-foot gash and numerous holes in the box, which resulted in scratches and dents. Route tersely informed her that she was not eligible for a replacement or refund because the damages were "only cosmetic," not functional. Route instead offered a $150 refund, which would not come close to covering the cost of replacement parts. The customer was outraged and is planning to file a chargeback against us, which would quickly erase the financial gains we made with Route.

Route's website makes no mention to customers or retailers that claims may be only partially covered. Prior to implementation, the sales rep assured us repeatedly that Route does not meddle in the details of claims—he said their goal is to make these claims easy for both us and the customer. In reality, they are asking customers to file police reports for any lost item over $100, and their team is arguing with customers about the value of damaged products. Plus, our account manager on multiple occasions threatened to raise our rate from 1% to 3% because we had five claims in six weeks. Route will work for you some of the time or hopefully, even most of the time. But for us, the benefits did not outweigh the risk to our customer satisfaction and company reputation.

Harddy

Great idea and eventually will very likely be good. In the current version, it caused more problems than it solved. EDIT: I'm still using the app with the hope it works better in the future, it's a great idea.

The integration is done by adding a product to your inventory, which they don't tell you. This means that any dynamic product display could potentially show the the insurance product. We immediately saw it in our dynamic ads, recommended product widgets, also bought widgets, new products, trending products, and in our automated emails. There are some workarounds for parts of this, but not all.

The one claim we had failed because the customer contacted us first and needed immediate help.

The new widget is defaulted to "on" so it's automatically added to the customers bill unless they turn it off. After a few customer complaints about this, we had to disable the app. (There isn't actually a way to disable the app, I added css display: none and put the product out of stock) - EDIT: They fixed the widget so it no longer defaults to the on position.

Support is slow to respond and does not do much to actually solve problems. For an app that would ideally lead the way for our customer support, this was a bad sign. User experience and ultimately reviews mean everything to our business, so is just isn't worth the risk for us. EDIT: Communication has improved and we're working together to address all of my concerns.