SendOwl

SendOwl

Free plan available. 14-day free trial. Additional charges may apply.
Rating (4.3)
Reviews
Developer
154 reviews
14 reviews
Overall rating
4.3
Counts per rating level
  • 83% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 9% of ratings are 1 stars
14 reviews
November 13, 2022

I don't ever leave reviews, but I am very disappointed in the app and even more disappointed in the customer service. There is a page within the app that states there are unlimited downloads. I based my whole store around this and paid my assistant to set up my store using this app. Well come to find out, they don't actually offer unlimited downloads. When I contacted customer service I was given the run around and told that no where on their site do they advertise this (essentially implying that because it's not advertised this way, the incorrect wording within the app shouldn't matter). Super disappointed, but even more upset by the response. Sorry, but don't say you have something and then treat your customers in a dismissive way when they ask where the feature is. Will be removing every bit of my store because I'm not giving money to an app that falsely advertises and then tells me it's my fault for actually reading about the features they falsely claim to have.

Cowie's Kinders Shop
United States
Time spent using app: About 1 month
SendOwl replied November 14, 2022

Hi Erin,
Sorry for the confusion. As I shared in the support ticket, we do not support unlimited downloads as we operate differently and everything is tailored towards the individual purchase and not the mass distribution of a file. At this time, we offer the choice of 3, 5 and 10 download attempts for each order. You can also reset the download attempts for your buyers at any time. We will update the download settings page in our app to ensure the copy is up to date and I'm sorry you've had this experience. We value your business and your feedback, so thank you for sharing your experience. If we can help with anything else, please don't hesitate to get in touch with us, we'll be happy to help. Again, thank you for your time, your thoughts and comments are valued. Wishing you the best.
Chelsea

August 19, 2022

Super disappointed. Signed up so I could get the free plan thinking it was a pay-as-you-go option since that's what's indicated on this page but in my SendOwl admin, there was something about how it was estimated that I was going to owe $15/month. I emailed Support and the response I got was that the email associated with the plan I signed up for the "Shopify-Only Growth Plan." SendOwl support referred me to this specific Shopify page about their app that clearly indicates that there's a "free" option and the next level up is Standard ($9/month), Growth ($15/month), and Custom ($89/month). I didn't sign up for the Growth plan. I wanted the free/pay-as-you-go plan. There appears to be no way for me to change this. Support didn’t even try to help me figure that out. Super disappointed. I feel like I was offered one service and given something and told it was more expensive though I didn't okay that. I have no clue if this app works or how well it does. I have found a less expensive option to do what I want that I’m already paying for but had hoped SendOwl would be an option that might work for my business.

randomcreativemoments
United States
Time spent using app: About 22 hours
SendOwl replied September 6, 2022

Hi, Paul here. I am sorry for your experience! From your feedback, we have reviewed the onboarding process to ensure it's as clear as possible as to what plan you are choosing. With that said, our team did reach out and offered to move you to the Free Plan. Unfortunately, we didn't hear back from you but our offer still stands (as it does with anyone) so let us know if you want to move to the Free Plan!

Cheers, SendOwl.

October 9, 2021

Literally the worst app ever. But even worse than the app is the customer service. They often have massive outages, do not communicate the outages and then will not return word on customer service issues. Find another digital file delivery application. The only thing they know how to do properly is take payment

Thoughtfull.co
Canada
Time spent using app: About 1 year
SendOwl replied October 13, 2021

Thank you for your review, I can understand your frustration. However, as we noted in the support ticket exchange, the issue is not with SendOwl but with your external script. In other words, your own script is failing to generate the orders and the issue is not with SendOwl.

--

UPDATE: The merchant did respond to the ticket and confirmed it was their script that caused the issue and not an outage with SendOwl.

--

We do appreciate your business and hope we can help. And, for true [rare] outages, we do have real-time reporting and support.

April 8, 2021

I've used 20+ apps and this is the first negative review I've left. This app is complete garbage. Installing is a nightmare, managing your files is basically impossible and updating your files is literally impossible. I wish I had just built something from scratch instead of wasting my time/money.

Workhorse Type Foundry
United States
Time spent using app: About 2 months
SendOwl replied April 8, 2021

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear about the issues you are having.

I've looked through our support tickets and I can't find any related to updating files, or the update function not working. I'd love to see if we can help. Would you be able to reach out to me at paul@ sendowl.com or open a ticket with us, and we can work on a solution for you? Cheers, SendOwl.

Edited December 26, 2020

They are fine for the basic case, but start to fail pretty badly if you do anything complicated. So far we have had problems with: Editing Orders, if you have an app that edit orders on shopify after the fact like a Post Purchase Promotion app send owl will fail to pick it up and not send it out to your customers Partial Refunds: if you give a partial refund to your user send owl sees that as a refund on the whole order and cancels the digital order. Their support is ok and getting back but in the end not very helpful. If you are bootstrapping something simple this is the app for you, but I would suggest against this app if you are dealing with 1000+ customers. Updating after reaching out and trying to work with support: I complained about orders being incorrectly cancelled. They assured me that unselecting a checkbox in their app would make it so they didn't get cancelled. That was wrong and after mass partial refunding orders I now have hundreds of orders to fix. I would strongly suggest against using this app and find one that works and has good support that understands their own product.

Toybox Labs
United States
Time spent using app: About 2 years
May 10, 2020

Support for this app is horrible.They dont get back to you at all. I have reported them to shopify also and actively looking for the substitutes.

PlaneEnglish
United States
Time spent using app: Over 1 year
May 1, 2020

DO NOT USE THIS APP if you have recurring orders/subscriptions!

I have sought support on this aspect twice and been met with astonishment and limited understanding.

I wish to throw SHOPIFY under the bus here as well, as they truly do not care about how their 3rd parties interact with the shopfront.

Imagine if hundreds of your customers were to each receive hundreds of automated emails over a 30 minute period. I've been crippled with shame and embarrassment.

SendOwl, you're welcome to reach out to me for details of this horrific experience.

Shopify, I suggest you look in the mirror as well.

RacingRant
Australia
Time spent using app: Over 2 years
Edited January 26, 2023

Update 1/26/23:

After 5+ years of using SendOwl and 240K+ orders processed. I finally made the switch to the "Downloadable Digital Assets" app. Let me add some credibility to the review: We run a very successful digital asset based business and have been featured in several Shopify ads, marketing materials, etc.

A year ago SendOwl was purchased and came out with new pricing, taxing each transaction that was processed through their service. I'm self hosting on Amazon S3, so my monthly bill went up minimum 2x because I was "high volume". Ironically, all plans now have a per order fee attached to them regardless of volume. And a free plan asking 5%!? Get the #$&$ out of here! Shopify has a free app for that. I have no problem paying for a product that adds new features, but they never arrived even after multiple conversations with the new owner/CEO. Add to that multiple major outage incidents over the last 2 years and I finally threw in the towel. The new app I'm using has all the features I requested from SendOwl over a 2 year period, but was never delivered and I'm extremely happy so far.

SendOwl is a great product, but the pricing model is disgusting, the customer service sucks, outages are a real issue, etc.. I'm allergic to rent seeking and thank god we had a choice to switch to a better product. Do yourself a favor and avoid this app.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Original Bad Review:

Been a SendOwl user for years. The product works. New features have been slow or non-existent and the customer service is awful. We've had amazing results delivering files to our customers until today. Several hundred orders are going unfulfilled and we're getting the classic "non answer" customer service.

Look at other options and alternatives for digital delivery needs before settling on SendOwl

The Drum Broker
United States
Time spent using app: About 7 years
SendOwl replied January 26, 2023

Hi: thanks for the note about SendOwl being a great product. We value all customer feedback - good and bad. SendOwl does a lot under the hood, and think our pricing is very fair. Any user can choose to be on a flat per order fee structure (avg 30 cents); the 5% is for folks that do not want to pay a SaaS fee ever. We have a lot of users that love the flexibility of it and it ends up being a lot cheaper than a 15/month plan.

That said, we are very sorry to see you go and wish you continued success. If you ever want to come back and discuss features you'd like to see, please do reach out.

-Matt, CEO

Edited February 1, 2020

This app advertises 30 day free trial then 9.99/mo but in my reality, they gave me 1 free day trial then $15/mo. I'm selling only one ebook.

Sukime
United States
Time spent using app: 7 months
Edited October 8, 2019

MESSED UP MY SHOP! wish I could give this 0 stars. Customers couldn't download the free e book without doing a whole check out with their shipping address and billing address etc. I asked the help about this and they seemed like had no idea how their app worked. It was a pain in the ass to delete the app. and when we finally did our shop got messed up and our add to cart disappeared. really pissed off with this app. terrible experience.

Mushroom Revival
United States
Time spent using app: 6 days