SEO Manager

SEO Manager

by venntov

SEO power tool. Rank higher. Get found. Sell more. Manage SEO.

4.8 of 5 stars(1569 reviews)

Super charged SEO tool

Includes: SEO scan, meta content tools, keyword suggestions, Google search console connection, search analytics, and so much more.

JSON-LD structured data

Give Google information about your store in a way it understands. This helps you to rank better and get found.

Broken link management

Keep your 404 errors under control with SEO Manager. We identify your broken links and automate the fixing process.


About SEO Manager

The best way to drive traffic to your store is by being on the front page of Google. Get found in Google with SEO Manager.

SEO Manager makes it easy for you to understand and implement SEO measures that will help your store rank better in search engines.

As a Shopify merchant, you know that getting people to visit your store is important.

Simple to use, this app allows merchants to take control of how search engines see their store, and gives them real time feedback about the success (or failure) of their search engine optimization efforts.

While that is easy to say, it is more difficult to do. Enter SEO ( Search Engine Optimization.) Optimizing your store is as essential to ecommerce success as a baseball bat is to baseball.

With a step-by-step tour that guides you through the app's features, we also offer comprehensive help documents to further your understanding of SEO.

Not only do you have an amazing application at your fingertips, you have resources available written by the leading Shopify SEO experts.

This supercharged SEO app has over 20 features, 15 of which are unique to SEO Manager

  • Edit titles
  • Edit description
  • Keywords field
  • Google result simulator
  • SEO issues scan
  • SEO issues scan suggestions
  • Focus/Keyword suggestions
  • Image ALT text issues scan
  • Title templating
  • Index/No Index
  • Advanced meta settings
  • Google page speed integration
  • Google mobile friendly test
  • Product "unavailable after" meta
  • Redirect on "out of stock"
  • Sitemap management
  • SEO control of tag filtered collections
  • 404 error logging
  • 404 error management
  • 404 error export/import
  • Real-time 404 repairs
  • Google knowledge graph support
  • JSON-LD Data Support
  • Works with Kit
  • Local business structured data
  • Google sitemap submission
  • Integrated Google Search Console analytics
  • Google trends integration

Integrates with

  • Google,
  • Google Search Console,
  • Bing,
  • Kit

Support

Pricing 7-day free trial

$20/month

* All charges are billed in USD. Recurring charges, including monthly or usage-based charges, are billed every 30 days.

Overall rating
4.8 of 5 stars
Based on 1569 reviews

  • 5 of 5 stars
    90% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    5% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    0% of ratings are 2 stars
    (7)
  • 1 of 5 stars
    3% of ratings are 1 stars

Most recent reviews

Happiest Shop Ever

It is not working. I paid for months. I spend hour days for setup. Nothing changed. I hope I can find something easy to manage and works better than this. Also it's not user-friendly and has lots of bugs.

The Original Socks

Really helped me understand SEO more and helped my store become more visible. The customer support is amazingly helpful and correct. My favorite SEO app definitely.

domaniandco

I uninstalled your app after trying it for 5 minutes and you have been charging me $20USD for 7 months now. I would like a refund of the unauthorised charges right away please. Even your invoice says UNINSTALLED APP but you con't to charge me.

Developer reply

September 4, 2019

Hi there,

I wanted to follow up with you publicly as you have stopped responding to our emails privately. You initially installed the app on February 28th, and emailed us on March 1st to make use of our free theme adjustment service. We did that on March 1st.

On August 22nd you both emailed us and left us a negative review stating that you had never used our app, which was responded to that same day by our support team. Becca, one of our customer success advocates, was able to secure you a refund from Shopify Billing on August 25th. We have tried contacting you again via email as well as by phone three times to convey this, and it shows that you read the email from our team on August 25th.

As you sent an email “demanding a refund” and you received said refund- is there anything else we can do to make you happy? We at venntov strive to make all of our customers happy, and want to ensure that we gave you a stellar customer experience.

Please email hello@venntov.com if there is anything else we can do to meet your needs.

Best regards,

Rhian Beutler

COO/Co-founder