Shop channel

Shop channel

Shopify

Create a free mobile app experience for your online store.

2.3 별 5개 중(33 리뷰)

Customize your store profile

Manage your brand’s presence in the Shop app. Edit your logo, cover image, description, and product catalogue.

Increase lifetime value

Create marketing automations to drive repeat purchases and build loyalty with customer experience tools.

Track and optimize performance

Track your audience, Shop Pay sales, marketing automations, and measure the Shop app against other channels.


Shop channel 정보

About Shop channel The Shop channel is your control center for managing and optimizing the Shop app. Enable Shop’s ecosystem of features, create your brand experience, and track Shop’s performance.

Key features
:

  • Accelerated checkout: Convert more sales with Shop Pay, the highest converting checkout on the internet.


  • Order tracking: Build trust, increase transparency, and reduce support debt with the ‘Track with Shop’ button
.

  • Mobile app storefront: Shop is your brand’s mobile app storefront to customize. Update your store profile and product catalogue at any time.


  • Product recommendations: Maximize every new customer by driving rediscovery with Shop’s product recommendations.


  • Targeted marketing automation: Create post-purchase offers to drive repeat purchases sooner.


  • Analytics dashboard: Measure Shop’s impact on your business with key performance analytics on your audience, Shop Pay checkouts, and marketing automations.

Note: The Shop channel is available in all countries where Shopify Payments is available. Specific requirements are needed to enable some of Shop's features. You can check your store's status on the settings page of the Shop channel. Or read our Merchant Guidelines.

미디어 갤러리

지원

  • 개인정보처리방침

가격

무료

2.3 별 5개 중

전체 평가는 앱의 현재 상태를 반영합니다. 여기에는 모든 앱 평가가 포함되지만 가장 최근의 평가에 우선순위가 있습니다.

  • 5 별 5개 중
    평가의 21%는 별점 5 입니다.
  • 4 별 5개 중
    평가의 6%는 별점 4 입니다.
  • 3 별 5개 중
    평가의 15%는 별점 3 입니다.
  • 2 별 5개 중
    평가의 6%는 별점 2 입니다.
  • 1 별 5개 중
    평가의 52%는 별점 1 입니다.

가장 최근 리뷰

La Chica Loca

One of the representatives recommended a list of supplier to use for my store. I utilized the recommendation provided, then Shop removed the payment gateway for infringement of the supplier I used without warning and said that the decision is final. Very deceiving and caused major inconvenience to my business! They don’t even bother to take accountability on their end nor help e-commerce owners whatsoever! The way they do business is a joke!

개발자 회신

2021년 11월 5일

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review the Shop sales channel. Sorry to hear about your experience and trouble with eligibility for our Shop sales channel. If you were deemed ineligible for certain features, you should still be able to install the channel. Your customers will continue to be able to take advantage of order tracking, viewing recent orders and seeing the available contact information for your business. For any queries or concerns you have relating to that, please reply back directly to the email you referred to, and we'd be happy to assist you further.

If you did not receive an email, please contact us after logging in via this link on the Shopify Help center - https://help.shopify.com/en/questions/shop-app#/login so that we can authenticate you on the account and take a closer look for you as soon as possible.

Best wishes,
Brian,
Shop Support

Alla Violetta Boutique

i just can copy "egostore" review...xped the same with this app. Someone in i even dont know what country made us having the same "infrangement" or something like that...we removed that 10 products or such on ca catalogue of 6000 and more products and nothing. we cant use this app :(

개발자 회신

2021년 11월 3일

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review the Shop sales channel. Sorry to hear about your experience and trouble with eligibility for our Shop sales channel. Just like with Egostore below, if you were deemed ineligible for certain features, you should still be able to install the channel. Your customers will continue to be able to take advantage of order tracking, viewing recent orders and seeing the available contact information for your business.

Please reply back directly to the email you would have received if you were deemed ineligible in any way, and we'd be happy to assist you further. If you did not receive an email, please contact us after logging in via this link on the Shopify Help center - https://help.shopify.com/en/questions/shop-app#/login so that we can authenticate you on the account and take a closer look for you as soon as possible.

Best wishes,
Brian,
Shop Support

egostore

When Shopify said our store has 40% customers came from Shop and invited us to join, we were happy to install this app and tried. We fulfilled all the requirement they listed on page to open store but our store still disable. Once we contacted the CS team to find out the reason, it's all because our store has received an infringement of Shopify’s Intellectual Property policy when we were started using Shopify and the decisions on this are considered final and can not be reviewed. WHAT THE? We were invited to join the channel and then got sentenced to death penalty all in a sudden (not even given a 2nd chance to review) If our shop was not qualify on the first place, why send us invitation to join? My experience conclusion of using this app: What a waste of time!

개발자 회신

2021년 11월 1일

Hi there, thanks for taking the time to review the Shop sales channel. Sorry to hear about your experience and trouble with eligibility for our Shop sales channel. If you were deemed ineligible for certain features, you should still be able to install the channel. Your customers will continue to be able to take advantage of order tracking, viewing recent orders and seeing the available contact information for your business. For any queries or concerns you have relating to that, please reply back directly to the email you referred to, and we'd be happy to assist you further.

Best wishes,
Brian,
Shop Support