Shopify Subscriptions

Shopify Subscriptions

Price: Free
Rating (2.8)
Reviews
Developer

Highlights

Popular with businesses like yours
  • Based in United States
Built for your business
  • Use directly in Shopify admin
  • Works with the latest themes

About this app

Launched

January 31, 2024

Languages

English, Danish, German, Spanish, Finnish, French, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian (Bokmål), Dutch, Portuguese (Brazil), Portuguese (Portugal), Swedish, Thai, Turkish, Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), and Czech

Categories

Subscriptions

Increase customer lifetime value and establish predictable revenue with Shopify Subscriptions

Give your customers the option to receive the products they love on a regular basis by offering subscriptions on your store. Whether you sell all your products as a subscription or just a few, Shopify Subscriptions makes it easy to set up and launch subscriptions, directly from Shopify admin. Your customers can conveniently pause or skip orders and update payment and shipping details right from their account.

Give your customers the option to receive the products they love on a regular basis by offering subscriptions on your store. Whether you sell all your products as a subscription or just a few, Shopify Subscriptions makes it easy to set up and launch subscriptions, directly from Shopify admin. Your customers can conveniently pause or skip orders and update payment and shipping details right from their account. more
  • Offer auto-billed subscriptions (renew weekly, monthly or yearly) with discounts
  • Allow your customers to cancel, skip, or pause subscriptions
  • Use customizable email templates for order confirmations or payment reminders
  • Access reporting to analyze your store’s subscription performance
  • Easily transfer existing subscription contracts to Shopify Subscriptions

Subscription features

  • Subscription types: Digital products, Physical products
  • Pricing you can set: Custom pricing, Fixed pricing, Subscribe and save

67 reviews

Overall rating
2.8
Counts per rating level
  • 27% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 12% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 13% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 15% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 33% of ratings are 1 stars
March 6, 2024

I've never written a review on a shopify app, even when it's been bad, but this one is beyond bad. We used it when it was in Beta with the hope and promise of improvements when it became available to everyone, but the app hasn't changed at all from the awful beta to now. We have almost zero control over settings, the only thing we can update on our end is how many payment attempts before the subscription is cancelled. It's embarrassing that this is a native shopify app. I know that app creation isn't a simple thing, but there are apps out there that already exist and do a lot better, it seems wild from a user perspective that they would get this so wrong. It has been a nightmare for our team to try to manage, there is no way to search within the app, there is no way to control user access or how they can manage their subscriptions. This app is basically unusable and the amount of band aids and workarounds we have is such a huge time and money suck that we regret switching. If there were any communication at all on upcoming updates we may feel a bit better, but the communication is absolutely zero. It has honestly made us consider leaving shopify altogether, that's how frustrating the whole experience with this app has been. I really really hope for improvements soon.

Still Life Studio Memberships
United States
30 days using the app
Shopify replied April 19, 2024

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We sincerely apologize that you ran into issues using Shopify Subscriptions.

Our app is designed with simple uses cases in mind. We have taken of your feedback and informed our development team on the advanced use cases.

We value your contribution towards the evolution of our app and in helping us become better.

Best,
Ameya Bongale
Product, Shopify Subscriptions

April 9, 2024

The app is fine, but it's useless because of how it handles shipping rates. Basically, it only allows having 1 shipping rate. So, if you want to offer Pickup $0 and Shipping $N, you can't do it. It will always show Pickup $0. It's super important that they fix this...

ZYN THE WINE MARKET LTD.
Canada
About 2 months using the app
Shopify replied April 19, 2024

Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback.

We are working on enabling shipping rates on our app. Please stay tuned !

Best,
Ameya Bongale
Product, Shopify Subscriptions

March 4, 2024

Please allow multiple shipping options! We have different shipping tiers on Shopify so I don't understand why that can't just carry through to Shopify Subscriptions since this is all under Shopify.

Also, we have tried importing our subscriber list and since the shipping price is wrong, we were told to delete the app for 72 hours to clear our list and start over. Did that and canceled subscribers are still showing up in our contracts dashboard meaning we have duplicates inhibiting us from selling subscriptions to customers.

Support - please help!

ELAVI
United States
23 days using the app
Shopify replied April 19, 2024

Hi there!

We apologize that you ran into issues using Shopify Subscriptions. Your feedback is crucial to us.

We’ve shared your feedback internally and will be working to enable multiple shipping options for subscriptions.

If you need help in importing subscriptions, we recommend you reach out to our support teams and we can continue the conversation, monitor your specific challenge and assist in solving the issues.

Best,
Ameya Bongale
Product, Shopify Subscriptions

March 25, 2024

I'm feeling frustrated and disappointed because I've been searching for hours for a live store that uses this app to see how it works in real-time, but I haven't had any luck. even their support chat doesn't want to share any resources.
I'm surprised that the Shopify tech team hasn't created a demo store when every crappy app in the store seems to have one.
I wonder what kind of tech team is working in there, and I think someone should be held accountable for this negligence.

Brain Tea
Canada
About 2 months using the app
March 3, 2024

Minimal ability to edit the text, leading to confusion over terms. Specifically, the bottom text about cancel/pause/renew -- very handy, agree with it entirely on principle, I wanted to (but could not) edit the text to point out that this is for the subscription purchase and not the one-off. The formatting left it a bit vague.

Colors do not pull dynamically from BRAND, which feels an odd and uncomfortable choice to leave off.

Unsure when subscriptions bill -- the first of the month? The day customers sign up? This is not a setting nor was easy to find out when installing the app.

Options were unclear. I can add an option to send weekly or monthly or annually, I assume that's how often to customer gets charged? Would request clarification on wording in the dashboard so I can offer better thoughts. At first I took it as "oh, customer can be charged for 3 months, and then I'll mail... once... a month... no that's not right..."

While installed, there was a conflict where the subscription app was duplicating in my footer. This is not a mark-off of the app, may be a theme issue, but mentioning it for dev exploration.

The checklist in the backend upon install did not check off steps as I was going through them, which lead to considerable worry and time spent over exploration: "Am I doing this right, is something not clicking, what is happening."

Overall, the idea is GREAT as a starter. The execution needs review, the backend communication needs review.

Will keep an eye on app to see if work continues.

Netherworld Post Office
United States
30 days using the app

About this app

Launched

January 31, 2024

Languages

English, Danish, German, Spanish, Finnish, French, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian (Bokmål), Dutch, Portuguese (Brazil), Portuguese (Portugal), Swedish, Thai, Turkish, Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), and Czech

Categories

Subscriptions

Built by Shopify

About Shopify

4.2 average rating

15 years building apps for the Shopify App Store

151 O’Connor St, Ottawa, ON, ON, CA

More apps like this

4.9 out of 5 stars 1469 total reviews Free plan available
Subscription and recurring payments app, packed with features
Built for Shopify
4.9 out of 5 stars 3117 total reviews Free plan available
Subscriptions, subscription box, recurring payments, & bundle
4.9 out of 5 stars 338 total reviews Free plan available
Expand Sales with recurring Subscriptions, Boxes & Memberships
Built for Shopify

Want to add an app?

Try Shopify free for 3 days