Shopify Subscriptions

Shopify Subscriptions

Pricing
Price: Free
Highlights
Popular with businesses in United States
Use directly in Shopify admin
Works with the latest themes
Rating
3.1 (91)
Developer
Shopify

Increase customer lifetime value and establish predictable revenue with Shopify Subscriptions

Give your customers the option to receive the products they love on a regular basis by offering subscriptions on your store. Whether you sell all your products as a subscription or just a few, Shopify Subscriptions makes it easy to set up and launch subscriptions, directly from Shopify admin. Your customers can conveniently pause or skip orders and update payment and shipping details right from their account.

Give your customers the option to receive the products they love on a regular basis by offering subscriptions on your store. Whether you sell all your products as a subscription or just a few, Shopify Subscriptions makes it easy to set up and launch subscriptions, directly from Shopify admin. Your customers can conveniently pause or skip orders and update payment and shipping details right from their account. more
  • Offer auto-billed subscriptions (renew weekly, monthly or yearly) with discounts
  • Allow your customers to cancel, skip, or pause subscriptions
  • Use customizable email templates for order confirmations or payment reminders
  • Access reporting to analyze your store’s subscription performance
  • Easily transfer existing subscription contracts to Shopify Subscriptions
Highlights
Popular with businesses in United States
Use directly in Shopify admin
Works with the latest themes

Subscription types

Digital products, Physical products

Pricing you can set

Custom pricing, Fixed pricing, Subscribe and save

Launched

January 31, 2024

Languages

English, Danish, German, Spanish, Finnish, French, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian (Bokmål), Dutch, Portuguese (Brazil), Portuguese (Portugal), Swedish, Thai, Turkish, Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), and Czech

Categories

Reviews (91)

Overall rating
3.1
Counts per rating level
  • 35% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 11% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 11% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 11% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 32% of ratings are 1 stars
May 26, 2024

Added this app. The options are showing twice on my product page. 1st in the normal space. 2nd showing after the footer. Tried to get support. Shopify told me to speak to the app support? Its just brings me back to shopify support.

Who can give us support for this app that does not work.

Qahwah Club - Speciality Coffee
United Kingdom
4 months using the app
Shopify replied June 15, 2024

Hi there,

We have made updates that solve the problems you faced for the placement of the subscription widget

To ensure the correct placement of the subscription widget we recommend that

- If you are on a vintage theme, ensure that you have added the code snipped to the product template before turning on the app embed.

Adding the code snippet will ensure that the widget displays in the correct place on the product page. You'll have to add the code snipped to the appropriate section of the product template. See the vintage theme instructions on this page:
https://help.shopify.com/en/manual/products/purchase-options/shopify-subscriptions/setup#display-subscriptions-on-online-store.

-If you are on a 2.0 theme please ensure that the app embed is toggled to off. App embeds are only used for vintage themes.

Hope this helps! We thank you for feedback that helped with the continuous evolution of our app

Best,
Ameya Bongale
Product, Shopify Subscriptions

May 2, 2024

Too many glitches. Works sometimes. Most of the time it doesn't work. However, I found a workaround, which is ridiculous that I have to use...

You have to click the first variant, select your duration, and then click add to cart in order for any of the other variants to populate as subscriptions..

For example, I sell coffee, so I have to select Light roast, whole bean, then 4 week duration, then add to cart, then the subscription will populate (even if I don't want a light roast subscription). However, if I try to select any of the other variants (medium or dark roast) before I add the light roast to cart and delete it from the cart, the subscription will not populate for any variant other than the 1st selection.

WOW! What a useless app, and it's been in BETA forever then launched with a tremendous amount of glitches. Please fix these issues

I Prefer Craft Coffee
United States
3 months using the app
Shopify replied June 15, 2024

Hello.

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback and apologize that you ran into issues using Shopify Subscriptions.

I replicated the steps on the Deli Donut Blend on your store, but could not uncover any glitchy behaviour. All the variants displayed the subscription option every time.

However, if you are still running into any challenges please reach out to our support teams so we can continue the conversation and assist in solving the issues.

Best,
Ameya Bongale
Product Manager, Subscriptions

April 24, 2024

I'd give ZERO stars if I could, this app is a complete waste of time. It's pretty clear that they have no interest in fixing any of the issues when customer support advises that the best course of action is to speak to a third party dev... why would I do that when it's built by Shopify and enabled on a Shopify built theme with no alterations or any additional code. Such a joke, clearly don't know what they are doing given that it was launched after the beta version had numerous bugs.

The Stately Hound
United Kingdom
About 1 month using the app
Shopify replied June 15, 2024

Hello,

We're sorry you're having trouble with our app.

We are here to help and if you need any assistance you can certainly ask the support team member that you are interacting with to reach out directly to our product team.

In the meantime, our help documentation - https://help.shopify.com/en/manual/products/purchase-options/shopify-subscriptions/setup continues to be a valuable resource for information for setting up and using our app.

I hope this helps

Best,
Ameya Bongale
Product Manager, Subscriptions

May 15, 2024

App doesn't work at all. People try and subscribe (I tested myself) and it still shows as 0 active subscribers. Moved from another app to this and have now lost all my subscribers - so thanks very much.

Sweet Hamper Company
United Kingdom
2 months using the app
Shopify replied June 15, 2024

Hello,

We apologize that you ran into issues using Shopify Subscriptions.

Your feedback is valuable. Please reach out to our support teams so we can continue the conversation and assist in solving the issues.

In the meantime, there is more information on how to migrate customers from other apps to our subscriptions app. I am linking it here - https://help.shopify.com/en/manual/products/purchase-options/shopify-subscriptions/import-export

Hope this helps resolve this issue if it's related to importing exisiting contracts from another app!

Best,
Ameya Bongale
Product Manager, Subscriptions

April 12, 2024

User Beware! You would think that Shopify would understand the wants and needs of their store owners and the behavior of customers. In this instance at least, they have failed miserably! There is no functionality to this app except for having subscriptions that customers never want to change. All of the niceties to assist your customers or even analyse your subscriptions are gone.

At this point I don't see how we can keep this app.

Prebiotin
United States
3 months using the app
Shopify replied April 19, 2024

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback.

While our app is designed for simple uses cases, we will inform our development team of the needs you have highlighted for the future release of our app.

We value your contribution towards the evolution of our app.

Best,
Ameya Bongale
Product, Shopify Subscriptions

Support

Shopify can answer any questions you have about Shopify Subscriptions.

Developer

Shopify

151 O’Connor St, Ottawa, ON, ON, CA

Data access

This app needs access to the following data to work on your store. Learn why in the developer's privacy policy.

View personal data:

Customers, store owner

  • Customers

    Name, email address, phone number, physical address, geolocation, IP address, browser and operating system

  • Store owner

    Name, email address, phone number, physical address

View and edit store data:

Customers, products, orders, Online Store

  • Edit customers

    Customer data

  • Edit products

    Products or collections

  • Edit orders

    All order details or Subscription contracts

  • Edit your Online Store

    Theme, metaobject definitions, or metaobjects

  • Edit other data

    Locales, locations, customer payment methods, or translations

More apps like this

4.9 out of 5 stars 1736 total reviews Free plan available
Subscription and recurring payments app, packed with features
Built for Shopify
4.9 out of 5 stars 3418 total reviews Free plan available
Keep shoppers with recurring orders, subscription box, bundles
Built for Shopify
4.9 out of 5 stars 452 total reviews Free plan available
Expand Sales with recurring payments, Boxes & Memberships.
Built for Shopify

Want to add an app?

Try Shopify free for 3 days