So far so good. I had some problems setting it up, but the ShopSync team was much more helpful than Mailchimp's team.
The app seems to do what it says it will do and I haven't had any problems once I've been up and running
Bodacious 10 Cosmetics
Needed this since Shopify won’t connect to MailChimp. Connected to mailchimp and imported my customers. Got the job done.
We were forced to migrate from the native MC integration like everyone else. Good for a free tool and that has to be appreciated. Still, migration led to a lot of unwanted emails being triggered. They cover this in their documentation and provide a way to probably avoid this, but in the end, it did not work for us. The cause being a MailChimp bug I hope this will be resolved soon as we currently have to put many extra hours to check on campaigns.
Hi there, we saw your review and wanted to get in touch to clarify the comments around the migration process and unwanted emails going out.
We're sorry if you had that happen, but we've tried to make it clear on what to expect before installation. The issues around triggering welcome emails is a confirmed Mailchimp bug with internal timestamps that we do not have control over. It is not a result of anything we've engineered incorrectly in the ShopSync app.
We hope you enjoy using ShopSync, please let us know if you need additional help. We can be reached anytime at firstname.lastname@example.org.
The app does what it says with quickly syncing your MailChimp account, but you will need to remake all of your automated/ongoing emails.
The Herbal Wei
Wow that was easy. Imported all contacts and Mailchimp still functions just like it did before. Only thing, I'm not sure if I remove the Mailchimp app or leave it. Great app! Saved me time & effort!
Hi there, thanks for your review. You'll want to remove the legacy 'Mailchimp for Shopify' app after ShopSync is installed to avoid conflicts under the hood with automations and e-commerce data.
Disconnecting is very easy and it's best done through the Shopify app store. After your automations are migrated, just follow these steps:
1. From your Shopify admin, go to Apps
2. Locate the 'Mailchimp for Shopify' app, and click the garbage can.
3. Click delete and you're done!
Shiny Happy Art
So far so good... still cross-checking it every day.
We changed over a few days early (and only after reading the instructions numerous times!) The sync went smoothly and updated into a different existing audience list that we specified.
After 7 hours of sync, it was complete and I ran a couple of dummy name tests to verify that it was updating correctly.
I wanted a merge field of 'Postal Code' but apparently this will only work for a 5 digit zip code, not a 4 digit postcode.
I used this app to help with Shopify and MailChimp no longer being directly compatible. I saw a few issues people had had with implementing this app so I did my homework. After comparing apps, reading all the FAQs, and verifying some things with the VERY helpful support staff, I synced up and am now all good. I was confused initially thinking I could only have one list. Not so, only one list can be synced, which has always been the case with MailChimp. Great step by step install instructions. The only confusions were with just how easy the switch-over to this app was.
Installation and syncing was quick and easy, however, instructions weren't very clear on how to make sure everything from Mailchimp was working properly. Having read previous reviews of unwanted emails being re-sent to customers, so I took the following steps which seemed to eliminate all problems, I haven't encountered any other issue so far:
1) Sent out an email to my entire list with a notice of email update, letting them know to ignore any emails they may receive in the next few days.
2) Paused all current campaigns in Mailchimp and cleaned up my email list - I deleted all those who unsubscribed, just in case any unwanted emails are sent to them.
3) Install Shopsync
4) Check the queue in each of the paused campaigns. I found 10 people added to the onboarding queue who were previous subscribers and had already received the onboarding emails before.
5) I wasn't sure how to remove these people from the queue, so I duplicated my onboarding campaign and archived the old one. The new one had a refreshed queue so there were no unwanted subscribers in there.
6) Re-activated all my campaigns, including an abandoned cart email.
7) Deleted Mailchimp app in Shopify
8) Logged into Mailchimp > Account > Connected Sites and realised that the pop-up form and abandoned cart emails were not activated for some reason.
9) Manually clicked on "Add" next to each one. I had to make a new abandoned cart email in order to have it added to Shopsync, after which I archived the old one.
10) Tested my website in incognito mode and everything worked fine - pop-up form now showed up properly and abandoned cart email is running too.
P.S. I did get about 50 new contacts added to my list after syncing, most of them are paying customers, and they did not appear to be duplicates, so I'm still baffled why they weren't on the list before.
We've only just integrated and it seems to be working fine. Our only gripe is that we have to have our newsletter signups going to the same list as the checkout signups and this means delivering a discount to page subscribers delivers to the ones who have just bought and opted in at checkout. Not great! Ideally we'd like better control over the checkout vs on-site signups with 2 list at least. This is an improvement we'd like to see soon.
Smooth and easy transition. No issues. Glad I'm still able to use Mailchimp after all. Thank you ShopSync. Haven't been able to test all features yet except for Mailchimp integration and Discount Code sync which is why I only rated 4 stars but pretty sure I'll be giving it 5 stars once I have had a chance :-)
Most welcome! Anything we can do on our end to update the rating to be 5 stars? Let us know at email@example.com, happy to help anytime.