ShopSync

ShopSync

by ShopSync

Connect your store with Mailchimp

Overall rating
4.2 of 5 stars
Based on 291 reviews

  • 5 of 5 stars
    71% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    6% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    5% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    4% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 1 of 5 stars
    14% of ratings are 1 stars

All reviews

1 - 10 of 12 reviews

Texture Clothing

It's recommended that you do not have the automatic 'add to mailing list' box check on the payment page. It took me about 9 months to realize that ShopSync had been switching my customers to "non subscribe" when they made a purchase, because that box was unchecked. Because of this, Mailchimp omitted hundreds of my good, long time customers from my mailings. I have now switched to Klaviyo.

Retropilot

There is one significant flaw that you should be aware of before you install and use this app.

Let's say my email is james@gmail.com. I make a purchase for my friend, Mark. The shipping address name is Mark Smith. The billing address name is James Johnson. The app will sync the SHIPPING name to my email (james@gmail.com).

This means when I go to send a newsletter to james@gmail.com and use personalisation in the email, it will say "Hi Mark!" - when my name is actually James.

Shopsync support confirmed this is a known flaw. If you want to use personalisation in your email marketing, you must be aware that this app will 'corrupt' your mailing list by mixing up names.

This might not be an issue for you if your customers only ever ship to themselves.

Developer reply

January 17, 2020

HI Retropilot, thank you for sharing this feedback. After seeing the scenario you described, we dug into the issue deeper and it turns out this is a known Shopify bug, not anything with ShopSync. Here is a response from their support team we received:

"It looks like this is a frustration that more than a few merchants have brought to us. Currently, when a customer account is created Shopify sets the default address as the shipping address instead of the billing address. If the customer put in a new shipping address this would be taken to be the new default address as well. There is no way for the merchant to make this change on their own and to make that change our devs would need to do something system-wide to adjust it to be billing first instead of shipping. The only workaround currently is the laborious process of editing a customer's default address after their account is created."

The good news is that Shopify is aware of the problem and it looks like they will be working to address the issue in the future. Thank you for using ShopSync and let us know if you have any other questions.

Oxy-Angel

I want to ask, why tags not sync to mailchimp. I will update this review and possible upgrade our subscription if tags problem will be addressed.

Developer reply

January 7, 2020

Update 1/23/20: The tagging feature is now live! Here's more information about getting started with it: https://support.shopsync.io/features/tag-mapper.

Please let us know if you have any questions. If this helps you out with your marketing efforts, please consider updating your review.

Hi there, thank you for the review. Tags are on their way :) Due to the Holidays we've been a little less active with our releases than normal. We hope things will be shipped in the next few weeks.

In the interim, could you use Mailchimp's segmentation features to isolate and target your users?

PrendaBella

I noticed this app was not synching my contacts to Mailchimp correctly. Their tech support gave me a lot of explanations such as "my contacts had unsubscribed", etc., which was not accurate. I ended up uninstalling it and installing it again and finally it worked, but I'm not impressed by the "there's nothing they can do" response of their tech support. It's working so far but I'm skeptical and might have to switch to a more reliable service.

Developer reply

July 5, 2019

Hi there, thank you for the feedback. We saw your review, and it sounds like your issue may have been related to temporary delays in the processing of data with our server queues. Recently, we've had quite a bit of volume around installations and syncing which has led to occasional lags in the processing of information. Overall, these delays work themselves out rather quickly.

If something comes up in the future, don't hesitate to contact us for further troubleshooting at support@shopsync.io.

bluespacedoor.com

I just want to say every time I try to instill the app it says, the page you're looking for couldn't be found.

Work Shop Italy: ferramenta online, utensili professionali

since I used this app I have never had so many abuse reports and unsubscrivers, as well as many fake emails that did not appear on my list before ... at this point it is better to abandon mailchimp to find something more integrated.
very sad

Samuel

Michael Cherry Brand

Installing was very easy however I did have issues.I installed today but now my customers cannot subscribe currently and automations not resuming automatically since I archived them.

Snowboard Addiction

When customers sign up to our email list the confirmation email goes to spam - this is a huge barrier to customers and there has been a dramatic customer retention drop off because of this :(

Developer reply

May 6, 2019

Hi there, thank you for the feedback. We saw your review and wanted to reach back out. With the feature you’re describing it is outside the functionality of ShopSync, we don't have control over the confirmation email sent by Mailchimp.

If you're concerned about this feature, Mailchimp would be better suited to answer your questions. You can reach out to their excellent customer service team over at https://mailchimp.com/help/. You should be able to chat with them and take things from there.

Let us know if you have any follow up questions or visit our support area to learn more information about ShopSync.

Erbanna

Although others may be able to use this - it is a poor bandaid to fix the Mailchimp/shopify debacle. I could only download one of my four audience lists and when I tried to ShopSync no one answered my email (which is the only way to contact them.) I only gave it two stars just in case I'm missing something, but honestly I'm dumping ShopSync and Mailchimp as it's too much work and it doesn't work!

Developer reply

May 1, 2019

Hi there, we saw your review and wanted to reach out. We responded to your email that you sent on 3/24, perhaps it got caught up in your spam filter. I'm sorry we weren't able to link up.

As noted in our knowledge base: To avoid conflicts under the hood with Mailchimp, we do not recommend attaching multiple stores to one Mailchimp list.

We've spoken with their support team about this use-case in the past, and they've relayed there could be complications with automations and signup forms if there is more than one store attached to a list. However, you can attach multiple stores to multiple lists inside one Mailchimp account. The main thing to get right is a one-to-one relationship between a store and a list if that makes sense.

Let us know if you have any follow up questions, happy to help anytime. You may contact us at support@shopsync.io or visit support.shopsync.io for instant answers.

Moxxie Essential Care

We used Shopsync to connect our Shopify site to Mailchimp. A few days later we found out that Welcome emails were sent to over half of our existing subscriber list - prompting some to opt out! This is confusing and embarassing. Not sure what went wrong.

Developer reply

April 22, 2019

Hi there, sorry for any hassle. We've actually confirmed the welcome email behavior is a bug on the Mailchimp end and they are working on a fix. Depending on when you installed the app, we attempt to make this very clear on the install screen prior to setting up ShopSync.

As a best practice, we recommend archiving any welcome email that is active in Mailchimp. You will be able to reactivate and fuse these back together after the sync is complete. Mailchimp has put an easy to follow migration guide together that you can follow for any other automations that are activated.

Previous 1
Previous 1