Skio Subscriptions (YC S20)

Rebuys/recharges! Boldly rise attentively/smiling/grinning!

$399/month. 14-day free trial. Additional charges may apply.

App highlights

  • Up-to-date tech: works with the latest themes

Brands using Skio

Reviews

4.9 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

  • 5 of 5 stars
    96% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    3% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    0% of ratings are 3 stars
    0
  • 2 of 5 stars
    0% of ratings are 2 stars
    0
  • 1 of 5 stars
    1% of ratings are 1 stars
1 review

Burlap & Barrel

We've had a very bad experience with Skio, so please beware. First off, Skio is missing core functionality (exporting customers, limited variable data for notifications, limited ability to set rules around charge dates) - we requested that functionality during the 6 months that we were using Skio, but were told that not enough other customers were asking for it. The bigger issue was that Skio accidentally charged customers who had previously canceled their subscriptions. On top of that, Skio also continued to send renewal emails to our customers with broken links months after we offboarded from Skio and moved to Recharge. Skio is a new company and I hope they continue to improve their product, but we had to move off because of the missing functionality, continued mess-ups that eroded customer trust, and lack of accountability to get it right next time.

Developer reply

January 25, 2022

We've reached out to the merchant here to see if we can make this right. I would be annoyed as well in their shoes.

Long story short, we should've rain-checked working with Burlap & Barrel until we were certain we could handle their use case of doing quarterly billing and custom anchoring logic (along with other requests).

At the time we started working with them, I was doing everything on my own (we've now raised $3.7M and have an actual team). Given Burlap & Barrel's above use case is not common, it was a mistake for me when I was alone to commit to handling this. After having this experience, we now always make sure we can make a potential customer happy before committing to working together.

The core features mentioned as missing are actually all available in our product now (this review is based on outdated information).

The renewal email mess-up mentioned here were notifications that were set to enabled not properly checking if a merchant was off-boarded. This is now fixed.

Again, totally makes sense why they weren't happy here. It was my responsibility to say we weren't a good fit and I blew it. We're now much better at saying this :-)

-Kennan