Theme Updater

Theme Updater

by Out of the Sandbox

Keep your premium theme up to date

3.3 of 5 stars(134 reviews)

Keep your theme up to date

Upgrade to the latest version of your Out of the Sandbox or Pixel Union theme to take advantage of new features & bug fixes.

Preserve theme settings

Automatically move over your current theme settings so that you don’t have to reconfigure them.

Priority Theme Support

Pro subscribers receive priority ticket based support from our Merchant Success Team for any Out of the Sandbox theme questions or issues.


About Theme Updater

About Theme Updater

A bit of background: Shopify does not currently provide an easy way to update any themes when a new version of it is released.

You would normally need to obtain, then upload, a new zip file, then reconfigure all your theme settings — including resetting all of your colors, typography, images, text and more.

The Shopify Theme Updater app lets you not only upgrade to the latest available version of your Out of the Sandbox or Pixel Union theme, without losing any of your configured theme settings. In some cases, it may even be able to carry over basic customizations that you or your developer have made directly to the theme code.

When you purchase a theme, you will receive 1 year of free updating through our Theme Updater App's Basic Plan as soon as you register your theme. Before or after your free trial expires, you can select a subscription plan in order to continue to keep your theme up to date and get access to exclusive features through the app.

The Theme Updater App includes two subscription-based plans with monthly and annual billing options:

Basic plan (monthly + annually)

The basics for quickly getting your theme up to date.

  • Update your theme to the most recent version, quickly and easily
  • Email notifications when a new version of your theme is available
  • Transfers basic customizations when possible
  • Exclusive discounts

Pro plan (monthly + annually)

Advanced features for prioritizing and accelerating your theme updates.

  • Prioritized ticket-based theme support from our Merchant Success Team for any Out of the Sandbox theme questions
  • Detailed information about any custom code modifications that the app spotted in your theme that will need to be moved over manually by you or your developer
  • Support for copying over language files

How it works

  • Install the app (no changes will be made to your code yet)
  • You can then check the app dashboard to see if your theme needs updating
  • First you’ll need to register your theme
  • Once your theme is registered, click "Update" to update your theme
  • The app does not affect your live store or make modifications to your existing theme code
  • Instead, the app installs an unpublished copy of the latest version of your theme
  • You should then preview and thoroughly test the new unpublished theme
  • Consider keeping the old version on your store or downloading a backup
  • When you have fully tested your store and you're ready to go live with the new version, click "Publish" to switch over to the new version
  • If you find an issue with the new version even after publishing it, you can revert back to the old version

Integrates with

  • Out of the Sandbox Shopify Themes,
  • Pixel Union Shopify Themes

Media gallery

Support

Pricing 365-day free trial

See all pricing options
Basic plan

$9/month

or $6.58/month billed at $79 once per year

  • Keep your theme up to date

  • Move over theme settings automatically — no more manual updating

  • Basic custom code is often able to be transferred

Pro plan

$14/month

or $10.75/month billed at $129 once per year

  • Priority theme support

  • View all code customizations

  • Transfers language files

* All charges are billed in USD. Recurring charges, including monthly or usage-based charges, are billed every 30 days.

Overall rating
3.3 of 5 stars
Based on 134 reviews

  • 5 of 5 stars
    49% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    8% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    4% of ratings are 3 stars
    (5)
  • 2 of 5 stars
    5% of ratings are 2 stars
    (7)
  • 1 of 5 stars
    34% of ratings are 1 stars

Most recent reviews

Clairevoire

From a business owner to another, this is a risky move that you are making with your brand. Sure you get the money now, but is this really worth it in the long run, destroying your relationship with your existing customers.

The app was a great tool, which I'd gladly pay a little fee to update, but not as a subsciption.

ACU Precision Sheet Metal

This is our first theme from out of the sandbox (Turbo). I did not think this app would work based off of others; however, it updated my theme with only 4 lines of code needing to be manually converted over. Hopefully there will be more options for pricing in the future. www.acumetalfab.com

Developer reply

January 8, 2020

Hello ACU Precision Sheet Metal team,

Thank you for taking the time to leave that great review and we’re glad to hear the app worked well for you! We’re always looking to improve our support while also keeping the Updater App competitive in pricing and feature offerings. Hopefully the app continues to help you, and if you’re currently using the Pro plan, you can also take advantage of our Priority Support feature should anything come up!

If there’s anything else we can help with, please don’t hesitate to get in touch and we’d be happy to help!

Sincerely,

The Out of the Sandbox team.

spellhound

1 star not only for the app - but the shady practices of this company. We have all paid hundreds of dollars for your themes and now you expect us to subscribe to an app to update - these updates should be free and easy - they are mostly to fix bugs - I don't see why we should foot the bill for bugs that NEED fixing.

Developer reply

January 8, 2020

Hey there Spellhound team,

We just wanted to follow-up here to hopefully clear up any sort of confusion and also to lend a hand if there was anything else we could help with.

First and foremost, it’s worth noting that you do not need the app to update your theme. We will continue to offer free lifetime support and updates, however, there is a caveat to the updating process should you choose to do so via the app itself.

You have one year included for free with the Theme Updater App, however, after that, you'd need to subscribe to a Basic or Pro plan (which ranges from $9/month for Basic and $14/month for the Pro plan) in order to use the app. This doesn't mean that you can't update your theme however! You can still update the theme by downloading the latest theme file from your order and uploading the file that way, and then manually reconfiguring the theme - this is how all other Shopify themes are updated currently. The app itself is an optional method to updating your theme which can speed up the process, and the Pro plan also provides you with additional features such as priority support!

Hopefully that helps clear up any confusion, and please feel free to send us an email should anything come up!

Sincerely,

The Out of the Sandbox team.