Calificación general
3,8
Recuentos por nivel de calificación
  • El 49% de las calificaciones son de 5 estrellas
  • El 8% de las calificaciones son de 4 estrellas
  • El 3% de las calificaciones son de 3 estrellas
  • El 6% de las calificaciones son de 2 estrellas
  • El 35% de las calificaciones son de 1 estrellas
1 de noviembre de 2017

Unfortunately they're not doing thorough enough testing on these "updates" which have broken features which will cause you more work to go through and fix. Shame really. I used it for my last cart update but a lot of updated features such as typography didn't match up like my previous theme causing me to have to go into CSS to fix where with the previous they were properly linked within the dashboard. Other images issues as well has caused me to abandon this app because you'll end up having to do more work to find the bugs that they've missed.

Andreabonelli
Estados Unidos
Alrededor de 1 año usando la aplicación
30 de septiembre de 2022

Useless Theme and zero interest from them about your issues. The updater cannot update the most expensive theme on the market and you have to start all over again building your website. Furthermore, you have to pay extra to update your website. Ahh... wait... Actually you can not update it but you paid for it. Complete waste of money and time. The so called "Customer Support" are rude and arrogant. If you want to pay for all that - Go for it!

Flamentina
Reino Unido
Alrededor de 1 año usando la aplicación
Out of the Sandbox respondió 3 de octubre de 2022

Hi Flamentina team!

When updating your vintage Flex v2.2.2 theme to OS 2.0, all content will need to be rebuilt. This is a one-time process required by Shopify to align with new templating standards. You will still be able to use the Theme Updater to help streamline your updates with future releases!

With all of our Out of the Sandbox themes, you only need to pay once, and the theme license is yours - there is no additional cost to retrieve an updated theme version!

The Theme Updater does have monthly and yearly subscription options, but there is always the option to manually update the theme for free if that is a better fit for you.

Thank you very much for your feedback!

All the best,
Out of the Sandbox

9 de abril de 2021

I used this app for the first time. I was glad I made a backup of my site because I had to restore it. I had 7 backend pages that could not be updated. I used a comparison app to review the coding that was different and I spent 3 hours updating. I published the site. It did not work at all. I paid a significant amount for the theme and I am very disappointed with this Theme Updater and I will not be purchasing it. Disappointed with Out of the Sandbox for slow or no response.

RiseUpDesk
Estados Unidos
12 meses usando la aplicación
Out of the Sandbox respondió 12 de abril de 2021

Hello RiseUpDesk team!

We're sorry to hear you've had trouble using our Theme Updater app.

Our app never applies an update directly to your theme file. It will always create a copy to be used in the update while the original file remains published.

Our support team has followed up on your recent request, we look forward to hearing back from you!

All the best,
Out of the Sandbox

Fecha de modificación: 19 de septiembre de 2019

Very poor service and underhand fees - simply read the reviews. The app doesn't work very well, and now a greedy developer wants to charge over $100 a year (forever) for an app to update a couple of lines of code. Their themes are full of bugs, support is very slow (at times even leaving bugs in the code - I'm looking at you 'Artisan'), and now they are trying to sneakily charge for something that was advertised as part of their theme purchase. I doubt this is acceptable practice, or legal, in most countries.

We have already had to change two Out of the Sandbox themes due to bugs in their software, and now they do this. If I were them, I would be very embarrassed as to how they treat long standing customers.

The most insulting thing is the email we were sent, spinning this charge as an 'opportunity'. Please don't patronize us with PR, you are simply milking merchants for all you can get before moving on.

P.S. Following the developers response: You seem to miss the point - everyone who purchases an Out of the Sandbox theme agreed to do so with the knowledge that the updating app comes along with it (and we have also paid an initial premium for the theme and updater app). You are significantly changing the agreement by now charging for the app, and I would say that is unlikely to be legal here in the EU. Also, you mentioned in one response that you need the money to fund your IT systems - well, if you can't afford to provide a service, don't offer it for free with the intention of locking customers into a 'blackmail scheme'. Have the dignity to admit you simply want more money by charging customers twice.

THE HOSIERY BOX
Reino Unido
12 meses usando la aplicación
Out of the Sandbox respondió 19 de septiembre de 2019

Hello The Hosiery Box,
We appreciate your honest feedback - it is true the Theme Updater App will soon have a number of flexible subscription options available, required to use the tool to automatically configure your updated theme, and access advanced perks (like our new Priority Support feature in the Pro Plan).

However, updated theme files and support will continue to be FREE, as we continue to improve our themes with new features and bug fixes; with these updated theme files, the normal process of updating a Shopify theme can be followed, which does not require use of the app.

We have been working hard on improving and maintaining the Theme Updater App, adding new features and support for more themes, and want to keep offering you the time-saving convenience of updating without needing to reconfigure your settings. We understand your grievance with the change in pricing, and hope the subscriptions options we're offering line up with how you value the app, so we can continue to offer you the fastest updating experience possible.

Sincerely,
- The Out of the Sandbox Team

Fecha de modificación: 9 de marzo de 2020

The app doesn't work if you have minimal customization on your page.
The company and its shady practices are even worse!

Nemanja Nikolic
Reino Unido
12 meses usando la aplicación
24 de septiembre de 2019

If I could give 0 stars I would! I have been managing this website for our company for over 2 years and I can't think of even one time that we've used this app. And now I come back from vacation to an email saying this week (because they only gave a weeks notice) the Free Basic Plan will now be charged $9 per month.

I've read many of the other reviews and the responses from OOTS -- they seem to not understand why we all are frustrated with this. Regardless if there's a way to update themes without the app -- there's only a handful of updates throughout the year, but yet you want to charge us PER MONTH for these handfuls of updates -- that I should add we've hardly ever if at all, used.

This subsidy website has been temporarily on back-burner -- it's most definitely not worth an additional $9 per month for practically nothing in return. I will be deleting this app -- this theme had too many conflicts with other apps we've tried to use and no solutions available anyways.

Interior Ink
Estados Unidos
11 meses usando la aplicación
Fecha de modificación: 21 de noviembre de 2020

Destroyed our theme twice in a row. Furthermore it places the wrong items in the cart via mobil (happen also twice). No real support, "because of custom design". Well, the custom design is just basic CSS so no real adjustments. That should be able to handle the update but it doesn't. Support is very nice and friendly, but useless. They've created a storetasker ticket for us, but there was no reply by anyone. Great looking themes but be aware of adjusting anything - not even the font (like in our case). (PRO PLAN)

MANUFAKTURWERK®
Alemania
11 meses usando la aplicación
Out of the Sandbox respondió 3 de diciembre de 2020

Hello MANUFAKTURWERK® Team,

Thank you for leaving this feedback.

Our support team has reached out to assist with the issues you've mentioned here. For the mobile cart, we have determined this is caused by some custom modifications. Our team has provided a temporary solution and we are here to help if you have any questions.

All the best,
Out of the Sandbox

Fecha de modificación: 14 de julio de 2020

We write very rarely reviews but in this case this app has been bothering us a lot. We have bought the first team from Out of the Sandbox many years ago. At that time we didn't need to pay for the theme updater app at all and it was a free of charge which I think is the minimum as themes from Out of the Sandbox are not cheap. But since last year they figured out they want to make more money by charging for this app but in the same time reducing the quality of service. In the past we always got feedback within 24 hours when there was an issue or they needed to resolve something. Now we need to be lucky to get feedback in 3 days and this is called priority service.

So for us conclusion is that if we want to buy more themes it will definetley not be an Out of the Sandbox theme.

We would even not mind to pay for the theme updater app as it is useful but what they charge is too much 14USD per month for priority support taking too long. And yes we do request it through the theme updater with the priority support and a general email. If you go outside of the priority support you should be happy to hear something in 1 week and sometimes even 2 weeks which is completely ridiculous

Update 14-07-2020 According to feedback of out of the sandbox the question has been answered. But this is not the case still waiting for an answer on some changes of the theme they made which changes the design of the header

omigo
Países Bajos
11 meses usando la aplicación
Out of the Sandbox respondió 13 de julio de 2020

Hello Omigo!
Thank you for sharing these details; we take your input seriously and we’re always looking to improve the updating & support experience. We apologize that we’ve left you with the negative experience that you describe here! It’s great to see that the support requests submitted last week through the Priority Support form within the app were replied to on the same day (on the next business day for weekend submissions), and we apologize for the wait time for the normal support requests; we have been experiencing very high volume. We look forward to offering the Priority Support experience to all incoming support requests from Pro Plan users like yourself, regardless of how you get in touch - we’re working on launching that feature shortly; until then, feel free to submit any new questions through the Priority Support form within the app to have your request jump to the front of the line.
Thanks again for your review; always looking to improve!
-The Out of the Sandbox Team

Fecha de modificación: 18 de septiembre de 2019

I have received an email telling me that they intend to delete the free plan of this app, so think twice before to buy one of Out of the Sandbox theme: without the app you will have to start new every time they publish an update! I am utterly disappointed by their policy...

La Cave à Laine
Francia
10 meses usando la aplicación
7 de junio de 2022

This app makes me want to switch to a new theme company entirely. I (along with seemingly several other users) have an issue with Flex rendering on mobile crawlers, so google believes my site is not responsive. After emailing back and forth with them, their only solution was to install the updated theme. But, you can't download and update flex anymore without using their app. This app costs 80+ per year. If their theme doesn't work on mobile, then why would I be responsible for paying to update it? Out of the Sadbox used to be the best Theme providers, and now its just so terrible, and falling behind other apps I use on other sites.

Ketsol
Estados Unidos
9 meses usando la aplicación
Out of the Sandbox respondió 7 de junio de 2022

Hi Ketsol team!
Thank you for your feedback! There seems to be some confusion here about the Theme Updater App - while the Theme Updater App makes the updating process quicker, easier, and includes exclusive features, you can also upgrade your theme, for free, to the latest version by manually updating.
We have a great support article that can help manually update your theme here:
https://help.outofthesandbox.com/hc/en-us/articles/4409266932883-Updating-a-Theme-Manually
If you do decide that you would like to use the Theme Updater App to help update your theme, feel free to read through our Theme Updater App FAQs:
https://help.outofthesandbox.com/hc/en-us/articles/115006910567-Shopify-Theme-Updater-App-FAQs
A member of our support team has reached out to you via email about your specific mobile responsiveness issue as well!
All the best,
Out of the Sandbox