Theme Updater

Theme Updater

by Out of the Sandbox

Keep your premium theme up to date

Overall rating
4.2 of 5 stars
Based on 84 reviews

  • 5 of 5 stars
    69% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    11% of ratings are 4 stars
    (9)
  • 3 of 5 stars
    4% of ratings are 3 stars
    (3)
  • 2 of 5 stars
    5% of ratings are 2 stars
    (4)
  • 1 of 5 stars
    12% of ratings are 1 stars

All reviews

10 reviews

Chillatto

difficult to work with. Resistance to helping their client. Days to get help but it is false help!

Developer reply

March 05, 2019

Hello Chillatto,

Thanks for the note, and I'm glad we could work with you back in January to resolve the issue! We're now able to reply to reviews, and I'm just following up to see if you have any outstanding questions that we didn't address from our Support correspondence. If so, feel free to send in a reply on our previous note, or submit a new one here: https://help.outofthesandbox.com/hc/en-us/requests/new

All the best!

Hollyworks

Tried the pro version of Theme Updater to bring Atlantic theme 11.6 tot 13.4.5. The result was horrifying: a mix of badly placed page elements and duplicate items in the customize section. There is no solution for painless updating: I had to do everything manually. I think this tool only works for minor updated themes.

Developer reply

March 19, 2019

Hi Hollyworks!

Sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience with the Theme Updater App. We’re now able to respond to App reviews so we wanted to take this chance to reach out!

The Theme Updater App is able to carry over simpler code customizations in most cases. If you or your developer have made extensive or complex customizations directly to the theme files, then these customizations will need to be manually transferred to the updated theme.

The ‘Pro Plan’ comes with the option to view a line-by-line breakdown of the code changes for customized files under the ‘View template customizations’ option when updating that we’ve added in to help merchants who have those advanced customizations! Were you able to take a look at this option when updating?

Please feel free to get in touch with us directly here: https://help.outofthesandbox.com/hc/en-us/requests/new - perhaps we can clear up any questions you may have about how the Updater App handles customizations!

We appreciate your feedback and would love to see if we can help out with the issues you experienced!

Cocofina - The Coconut Experts

Out of the sand box started with good intentions and it used to offer sterling customer service but all they are now too big for their boots, its very sad since we have used the theme for a while now, I would not buy anything from them again and would not recommend them either!

Developer reply

March 19, 2019

Hi Cocofina!

We’re now able to respond to App reviews so we wanted to take this chance you reach out to you! So sorry to hear that you’ve become unhappy with our customer service. Our Project Manager had reached out to you in December to help clear up the previous support interaction - hopefully, this helped clarify the outstanding issue.

If there are any other questions we can help out with, feel free to get in touch with us here: https://help.outofthesandbox.com/hc/en-us/requests/new. We’d love to help out and do what we can to turn this experience around!

Soiefleuri

I have written for 3 Weeks ago then for 2 Weeks ago an email and no response. I have a massive issue with my turbo theme Template. My products show up very strange after I have clicked some item. The products do not side by side. There are below each other and descriptions disappear. Maybe my English is too bad to explain that. But that is an absolutely catastrophic from the customs service. And 350 Dollar is on the top of the template prices.

Birminghamjewelry

ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE service. This company updates their theme every two weeks but every time you update your theme, it messes up all your custom coding. They don't have a phone number to contact, only by email, which is fine - if they actually respond and help with your concerns.

Andreabonelli

Unfortunately they're not doing thorough enough testing on these "updates" which have broken features which will cause you more work to go through and fix. Shame really. I used it for my last cart update but a lot of updated features such as typography didn't match up like my previous theme causing me to have to go into CSS to fix where with the previous they were properly linked within the dashboard. Other images issues as well has caused me to abandon this app because you'll end up having to do more work to find the bugs that they've missed.

Yorkvilles

We used the updater. Now we have no access to the theme at all. It just times out and we cannot do anything. I cannot imagine a worse situation. There is no telephone number to call. No support. Nothing.

Yorkvillesus

When we bought the turbo theme we though updating it would be a seamless process. That is why we were happy to shell of the $350 US that it cost to get the program. We thought the updater would change thing including our custom changes.

This is the response we got:

Scott Marshall (Out of the Sandbox)
Oct 25, 3:27 PM EDT
Hi Rxxxxxx,

Thanks for the reply and sorry for the wait.

Unfortunately, this process is quite standard for many customers who customize their theme. If you wish to avoid these conflicts in the future, I would avoid customizing your template files to ensure the Theme Updater App can successfully update your theme.

Please let me know if this helps or if you have any other questions.
Thanks,
Scott Marshall
Support Supervisor - Out of the Sandbox
support@outofthesandbox.com
Monday to Friday 9AM-6PM (Eastern)

So be aware if you buy Turbo and the updater that you are on your own and have to do all of the customizations yourself - again.

False Advertising at its best.

Abode Mercantile

Embroidelan

NIGHTMARE!!!

I installed the Updater App for two reasons; to ensure my theme (Responsive) was up-to-date and to try and fix a bug with my e-commerce site that developed overnight - because despite submitting a ticket for support no-one has got back to me from Out of the Sandbox Support Team! This came at a very bad time as I was running a special offer weekend and currently, visitors cannot checkout because the checkout button has magically disappeared!
So, I installed the app in the hope that I could try and fix the problem myself.
First, some customisation IS copied over when you update the theme. However, for all those considering whether to use this app, here is a list of what has not been copied over to the updated theme and I will have to do manually (not a quick fix then...and more hours required to invest in making the necessary changes);
1. Company logo and Favicon are not copied over
2. I installed the Multilingualizer translation tool to allow my website to be displayed in any language - the installation has not been copied over and my website is covered in text that looks like this "....EVERYDAY WEAR..ESSENTIELS DU QUOTIDIEN...."
3. Customise coding for the padding in the Header has not been copied across
4.The changes and translations made in 'Edit Language' have not been copied across - that is 13 tabs, pages long that I have to redo!!!!
5.Footer - Privacy Policy and Terms and Condition links have gone!
6. The formatting on Product Pages and Collections have not been copied across.
7. at this point I stopped looking for anything else...too depressing!

For me, this update will cost me days or even weeks to manually make all the changes. When do I have time to do that??! I'm trying to run a business not repeat hours that I've already spent setting up my website. This is going to be a very gradual process!

The only thing I am thankful for is that you old them version remains intact until you make the change to the updated version - and YOU can decide that.

If you can avoid it, I would strongly suggest that you don't!!