Theme Updater Plus

Theme Updater Plus

Free plan available
Rating (2.9)
Reviews
218 reviews
88 reviews
Overall rating
2.9
Counts per rating level
  • 42% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 7% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 4% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 7% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 40% of ratings are 1 stars
88 reviews
February 3, 2023

Superstore theme - awful - full of bugs! The filters and the menu stop working when I select the infinite scroll pagination. Support has been unresponsive and does not seem to care. Avoid out of the sandbox. Worst company I have ever come across

BOUTIQUETOYOU
United Kingdom
Time spent using app: Over 5 years
Out of the Sandbox replied February 6, 2023

Hi BOUTIQUETOYOU team!

Looks like this might be a review of the Superstore theme - not of Theme Updater Plus.

It also looks like you might have reviewed the Superstore theme twice, with the same review, accidentally!

We appreciate your feedback, but would recommend reaching out to our support team so we can help you with setting up your Superstore theme.

You can send us any questions you may have, here:
https://help.outofthesandbox.com/hc/en-us/requests/new

All the best,
Out of the Sandbox

February 3, 2023

Absolutely awful - the superstore theme is full of bugs - once you switch to infinite scroll pagination, the filters, mega menu and more or less everything else stops working and becomes unclickable. The worst support I have ever seen - nobody seemed to care to even look at the issue. The theme was not tested prior to being released. Absolutely awful and would highly recommend that you avoid Out of the Sandbox.

Hi WIldflower
United Kingdom
Time spent using app: Over 6 years
Out of the Sandbox replied February 6, 2023

Hi 'Hi WIldflower' team!

Looks like this might be a review of the Superstore theme - not of Theme Updater Plus!

We appreciate your feedback, but would recommend reaching out to our support team so we can help you with setting up your Superstore theme.

You can send us any questions you may have, here:
https://help.outofthesandbox.com/hc/en-us/requests/new

All the best,
Out of the Sandbox

December 12, 2022

I have really liked my OOSB theme but this app and the support have been so bad that it has, unfortunately, really changed my view of Out of the Sandbox.

Also, typically apps are priced based on their usefulness to the customer. How do justify charging $89 for an app that has low review ratings, poor functionality, and requires a significant amount of manual work on the customer's end?

Ally Safety
United States
Time spent using app: 7 days
Out of the Sandbox replied December 14, 2022

Hi Ally Safety team!

When updating your vintage Turbo v4.1.1 theme to OS 2.0, all content will need to be rebuilt. This is a one-time process required by Shopify to align with new templating standards. You will still be able to use the Theme Updater to help streamline your updates with future releases!

With all of our Out of the Sandbox themes, you only need to pay once, and the theme license is yours - there is no additional cost to retrieve an updated theme version!

The Theme Updater does have monthly and yearly subscription options.

With the Free plan, you are always able to download the most recent theme version at no additional cost, and update manually. For this update to OS 2.0, because of Shopify's new templating standards, this is advised.

Thank you very much for your feedback!

All the best,
Out of the Sandbox

December 8, 2022

I spent a lot of money on a theme by Pixel Union A YEAR AGO to be told that now Out of the Sandbox is going to handle it. Which takes them forever to give support. The theme updater never suggested updates, I have issues, and support emails still come from pixel union, even though pixel union actually had useful information and articles on the theme, and now OOTSB only has links to articles? They tell me I need to update. Which means I now have to manually do it because god forbid something actually happens they way they say it will? I feel like I spent so much money to fall through the cracks. I don't know what game they are playing, but I swear I am going to find a new theme builder. It's such a mess. $320 down the drain.

Ardent Market
United States
Time spent using app: Over 1 year
Out of the Sandbox replied December 9, 2022

Hi Ardent Market team!

When updating your vintage Superstore v3.2.1 theme to OS 2.0, all content will need to be rebuilt. This is a one-time process required by Shopify to align with new templating standards. You will still be able to use the Theme Updater to help streamline your updates with future releases!

With all of our Out of the Sandbox themes, you only need to pay once, and the theme license is yours - there is no additional cost to retrieve an updated theme version!

The Theme Updater does have monthly and yearly subscription options.

With the Free plan, you are always able to download the most recent theme version at no additional cost, and update manually. For this update to OS 2.0, because of Shopify's new templating standards, this is advised.

Thank you very much for your feedback!

All the best,
Out of the Sandbox

December 8, 2022

The theme and service will not be fulfilled this year, I bought it two years ago. Now, upgrades cost extra money. Support tickets take longer to process. I quit. Bravo!

uni
Hong Kong SAR
Time spent using app: 5 months
Out of the Sandbox replied December 9, 2022

Hi uni team!

With all of our Out of the Sandbox themes, you only need to pay once, and the theme license is yours - there is no additional cost to retrieve an updated theme version!

The Theme Updater does have monthly and yearly subscription options, but it does not look like you currently have a subscription to the Pro Plan of the Theme Updater.

With the Free plan, you are always able to download the most recent theme version at no additional cost, and update manually. For this update to OS 2.0, because of Shopify's new templating standards, this is advised.

Thank you very much for your feedback!

All the best,
Out of the Sandbox

November 28, 2022

When I try to update, there is no 'update' button. Only SYNC. I try to SYNC themes and nothing happens, I registered my theme 2 months ago and need the latest updates. Therefore I have concluded there is a serious problem with this app and it does not work! Please fix this ASAP.

theurbanbathhouse
United Kingdom
Time spent using app: 2 months
Out of the Sandbox replied November 28, 2022

Hi theurbanbathhouse team!

It looks like you do not currently have a Pro Plan subscription for Theme Updater - this is why the option to update your theme automatically within the app is not available.

With the Theme Updater’s Free plan, you can register your theme, install a default theme, and get notified when new versions become available.

The option to update your theme to the most recent theme version, automatically, is an exclusive feature of the Theme Updater’s Pro plan.

The Theme Updater’s Pro plan includes all the features of the Free plan, and will also allow you to transfer theme editor content, help to transfer customizations, transfer theme settings, and allow you to compare changes (before and after).

A member of our support team has reached out to you via email as well!

All the best,
Out of the Sandbox

November 9, 2022

We paid $89 to use this app to update a theme that was registered and compatible. It did not carry over any of the work we had put into customizing the theme through the Shopify sections and theme editor. We're not even speaking about development work - just settings through the theme. The quotes we have gotten from developers to carry over the settings have been extremely expensive and all over the place. It's as if developers know you're in a tough spot s they see how much they can charge you. Do not make the same mistake we did - they do not issue refunds and there are tons of bad reviews here for a reason.

MANIMAL
United States
Time spent using app: Over 5 years
Out of the Sandbox replied November 10, 2022

Hi MANIMAL team!

When updating your vintage Streamline v3.4.1 theme to OS 2.0, all content, such as home page content, will need to be rebuilt. This is a one-time process required by Shopify to align with new templating standards. You will still be able to use the Theme Updater to help with future release updates.

Although the Theme Updater does have the ability to transfer over customized code, customizing code can still result in some issues, and more complex customizations will need to be manually transferred over to the updated theme file.

Thank you very much for your feedback - we are always looking for ways to make our app better!

A member of our support team has reached out to you via email as well!

All the best,
Out of the Sandbox

October 16, 2022

Useless Turbo Theme The updater cannot update the most expensive theme on the market and I had to start all over again building my website, They want to you pay extra every month to update your website. Completely waste of money and time. If you want to pay every month and start all over again building your website after every theme updates-- buy it.

Katze Boutique
United States
Time spent using app: Over 5 years
Out of the Sandbox replied October 17, 2022

Hi Katze Boutique team!

When updating your vintage Turbo v7.1.1 theme to OS 2.0, all content will need to be rebuilt. This is a one-time process required by Shopify to align with new templating standards. You will still be able to use the Theme Updater to help streamline your updates with future releases!

With all of our Out of the Sandbox themes, you only need to pay once, and the theme license is yours - there is no additional cost to retrieve an updated theme version!

The Theme Updater does have monthly and yearly subscription options, but it does not look like you currently have a subscription to the Pro Plan of the Theme Updater.

With the Free plan, you are always able to download the most recent theme version at no additional cost, and update manually. For this update to OS 2.0, because of Shopify's new templating standards, this is advised.

Thank you very much for your feedback!

All the best,
Out of the Sandbox

September 30, 2022

Useless Theme and zero interest from them about your issues. The updater cannot update the most expensive theme on the market and you have to start all over again building your website. Furthermore, you have to pay extra to update your website. Ahh... wait... Actually you can not update it but you paid for it. Complete waste of money and time. The so called "Customer Support" are rude and arrogant. If you want to pay for all that - Go for it!

Flamentina
United Kingdom
Time spent using app: About 1 year
Out of the Sandbox replied October 3, 2022

Hi Flamentina team!

When updating your vintage Flex v2.2.2 theme to OS 2.0, all content will need to be rebuilt. This is a one-time process required by Shopify to align with new templating standards. You will still be able to use the Theme Updater to help streamline your updates with future releases!

With all of our Out of the Sandbox themes, you only need to pay once, and the theme license is yours - there is no additional cost to retrieve an updated theme version!

The Theme Updater does have monthly and yearly subscription options, but there is always the option to manually update the theme for free if that is a better fit for you.

Thank you very much for your feedback!

All the best,
Out of the Sandbox

August 15, 2022

Support is pretty non-existant. Tickets are not answered in a timely fashion. Always feel a lack of support. Theme got updated a few weeks back, and it has not been working correctly after the update. Still no response to ticket after 5 days.

DucabikeDirect
United States
Time spent using app: About 3 years
Out of the Sandbox replied August 16, 2022

Hi DucabikeDirect team!

We’ve repaired the ‘clear’ function for the collection filters and confirmed this was a bug in that theme version. It looks like Theme Updater was used to successfully update to that version (just had a theme bug!).

Revisiting the email thread, it looks like we received your initial email Wednesday afternoon and we provided our first meaningful reply by Monday.

Our team patched the affected theme file for the repair and future theme versions will include the fix. We hope it is clear that this theme error isn’t due to Theme Updater’s performance in this case.

All the best,

Out of the Sandbox