Theme Updater

Theme Updater

by Out of the Sandbox

Keep your premium theme up to date

3.3 of 5 stars(137 reviews)

Keep your theme up to date

Upgrade to the latest version of your Out of the Sandbox or Pixel Union theme to take advantage of new features & bug fixes.

Preserve theme settings

Automatically move over your current theme settings so that you don’t have to reconfigure them.

Priority Theme Support

Pro subscribers receive priority ticket based support from our Merchant Success Team for any Out of the Sandbox theme questions or issues.


About Theme Updater

About Theme Updater

A bit of background: Shopify does not currently provide an easy way to update any themes when a new version of it is released.

You would normally need to obtain, then upload, a new zip file, then reconfigure all your theme settings — including resetting all of your colors, typography, images, text and more.

The Shopify Theme Updater app lets you not only upgrade to the latest available version of your Out of the Sandbox or Pixel Union theme, without losing any of your configured theme settings. In some cases, it may even be able to carry over basic customizations that you or your developer have made directly to the theme code.

When you buy a theme, you will receive 1 year of free updating through our Theme Updater App's Basic Plan, which begins on the theme purchase date. Before or after your free trial expires, you can select a subscription plan in order to continue to keep your theme up to date and get access to exclusive features through the app.

The Theme Updater App includes two subscription-based plans with monthly and annual billing options:

Basic plan (monthly + annually)

The basics for quickly getting your theme up to date.

  • Update your theme to the most recent version, quickly and easily
  • Email notifications when a new version of your theme is available
  • Transfers basic customizations when possible
  • Exclusive discounts

Pro plan (monthly + annually)

Advanced features for prioritizing and accelerating your theme updates.

  • Prioritized ticket-based theme support from our Merchant Success Team for any Out of the Sandbox theme questions
  • Detailed information about any custom code modifications that the app spotted in your theme that will need to be moved over manually by you or your developer
  • Support for copying over language files

How it works

  • Install the app (no changes will be made to your code yet)
  • You can then check the app dashboard to see if your theme needs updating
  • First you’ll need to register your theme
  • Once your theme is registered, click "Update" to update your theme
  • The app does not affect your live store or make modifications to your existing theme code
  • Instead, the app installs an unpublished copy of the latest version of your theme
  • You should then preview and thoroughly test the new unpublished theme
  • Consider keeping the old version on your store or downloading a backup
  • When you have fully tested your store and you're ready to go live with the new version, click "Publish" to switch over to the new version
  • If you find an issue with the new version even after publishing it, you can revert back to the old version

Integrates with

  • Out of the Sandbox Shopify Themes,
  • Pixel Union Shopify Themes

Media gallery

Support

Pricing 365-day free trial

See all pricing options
Basic plan

$9/month

or $6.58/month billed at $79 once per year

  • Keep your theme up to date

  • Move over theme settings automatically — no more manual updating

  • Basic custom code is often able to be transferred

Pro plan

$14/month

or $10.75/month billed at $129 once per year

  • Priority theme support

  • View all code customizations

  • Transfers language files

* All charges are billed in USD. Recurring charges, including monthly or usage-based charges, are billed every 30 days.

Overall rating
3.3 of 5 stars
Based on 137 reviews

  • 5 of 5 stars
    47% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    8% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    5% of ratings are 3 stars
    (7)
  • 2 of 5 stars
    5% of ratings are 2 stars
    (7)
  • 1 of 5 stars
    34% of ratings are 1 stars

Most recent reviews

McGuire Diamonds

just wasted a years subscription. deleted, not cool. ...............................................

Nemanja Nikolic

The app doesn't work if you have minimal customization on your page.
The company and its shady practices are even worse!

Security Bollards Direct

Great theme, but the appalling customer service and delays in waiting for a reply to any problems make you wonder whether it is worth the extra money for priority support when in fact this is not the case. We are treated the same as everyone else, so why over promise and under deliver?
I had a fair response today, so will hold my hands up and move on. I get it and appreciate your response. Next time I will make sure I go down the right route when I try to contact your team, thanks for the explanation Sandbox, is much appreciated.

Developer reply

March 4, 2020

Hello Security Bollards Direct Team,

We’re sorry for the frustration here.

We do our best to respond to support requests within 24-48 hours (business days) however, it’s possible that there might be some delays caused by increased traffic.

I have reviewed your most recent correspondence with our support team. We’re sorry for the delay you experienced but it should be noted that the requests you sent to us were not sent through the Priority Support channel.

The Pro Plan subscription for the Theme Updater app grants you access to the Priority Support channel. To access this channel, you can open the Theme Updater app and select Actions > Contact Priority Theme Support.

If the support request is not sent through the app with the Contact Priority Theme Support button, your request will be sent to the general support queue, instead of the priority channel.

We have more information about accessing Priority Support for you here: https://help.outofthesandbox.com/hc/en-us/articles/360026083613-What-is-Priority-Theme-Support-

I hope this clears things up, please do not hesitate to reach out to us in the Priority Channel if you have any additional questions about the theme or the Pro Plan.

All the best,
The Out of the Sandbox Team