Tidio ‑ Live Chat & Chatbots

Tidio ‑ Live Chat & Chatbots

Free plan available. Additional charges may apply.
Rating (4.7)
Reviews
Developer
1581 reviews
43 reviews
Overall rating
4.7
Counts per rating level
  • 89% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 1 stars
43 reviews
Edited February 2, 2023

Storeowners beware!
I seriously don't know how Tidio have so many good reviews, our experience is that it worked poorly and customer care was non-existent until we really kicked up a fuss, only then did they react as they should have in the first instance.
Our issues with Tidio resolve around receiving the sound notifications when a customer has submitted a chat (or a new message) only about half the time which meant we missed a lot of chats. We reached out to Tidio several times for support, they were days, sometimes a week to respond and then we got a bland brush off that it must be a problem at our end with our equipment.
Now we all work from home with different internet, routers, equipment etc., totally independent of one another with no central server and the issue was universal with all of our operators, which kind of gives a bit of a clue? Anyway, we eventually decided that the issue seemed to be mainly occurring if the app wasn't actually open and showing on the screen, we would normally get the sound notification if we happened to have the Tidio screen up in front of us but as we only get a couple of chats a day this resulted in us issuing a third screen to all operators to enable the chat to be visible at all times. This process was worked out ourselves with no further input from Tidio as all they could advise was for us to clear the cache and reboot (which we did on a daily basis at one point to try and make it work properly).
All of the above was a 6 month process of trying to sort out what was happening without support.
What we found in the end was that not only do you need to have the app open on a screen but you also need to clear your cache and reboot every single day and even then it was hit and miss on whether we would get a noise notification.
We made the decision to leave Tidio and one more thing to watch out for, if you've paid for a years subscription and have uninstalled the app due to poor performance and service, you don't get a refund on the remaining 6 months subscription as they have a 'non-refund' policy and it's too small an amount to be worth all the time and effort suing them for.
A lot of these chat apps are similar in that they appear to have everything that you need and would be great if they worked 100% but they seem to be a bit hit and miss in operation.
Tidio is an expensive app for what it does, we decided in the end to employ a third party receptionist company (Pocket Receptionist in the UK), who charge 50% more than Tidio but this has freed us up and we don't have to worry about having to jump on the chat, it's not until we've done this that we realised what a distraction the chat is, even when it works OK. I would definitely recommend this cause of action to anyone as the customer has instant communication with your company (although they don't know it's a third party help), are reassured by professionals either with a simple script or the promise of a call back and you get emails pop through from the third party with all the details on, giving you time to respond when it suits you. It's very rare that the customer needs an instant response, but you get that choice on when to respond as soon as you get the email, so if you need to jump on it to secure an order you can, simple!
If you're going to use a chat service though, do yourself a favour and give Tidio a miss!

Update in response to Tidio's reply:
There was no misunderstanding on our part and we were not offline, as exhaustively explained to you at the time, so please don't try and gloss this over and make it look as if this is our fault as incompetent operators. We had previously used Tidio for a couple of years prior to signing up last year, so were fully aware of how to operate the app correctly. Also, as exhaustively explained before in both chat and emails, there was nothing wrong with the pop up notifications, a tiny red flag popped up when a customer was on the chat, this was often the only way we knew that they were, so for the second time in black and white here, we've had to tell you that it was the noise notification that the issue was with, it seems like you are still in complete denial about it despite the overwhelming evidence proving otherwise, which is a shame because if you didn't treat your customers with such contempt you would be able to build a really good app if you were prepared to learn from your mistakes.
Your chat agents were generally quite responsive, yes, support emails, forget it...a waste of time.

FRISKA DESK
United Kingdom
Time spent using app: Over 1 year
TIDIO LLC replied February 2, 2023

Dear customer, I'm really sorry to see your opinion, and I must respectfully disagree.

The number of good reviews we have received so far is based on our constant work to keep Tidio a valuable service for online businesses. We also strive to provide top-notch customer service to answer customers' questions and quickly fix any issues with our tool.

The notifications problem you reported in September 2022 was a slight misunderstanding of the Tidio features. That sometimes happens, and our staff did their best to explain that you cannot receive a live notification while you're offline and have the Tidio admin panel closed. That is why you need to be logged in and set to online in your Tidio to receive pop-up notifications.

The average response time of our agents for the chats we had with you was around 60 seconds. Once we escalated your request to our Tier 2 team for a more in-depth look, the replies took us an average of 2 hours, which is in line with our standards and faster than many other companies in our industry.

Your account is midway through the yearly subscription. That disqualifies it from a refund due to the Refund Policy, available in Tidio's Terms & Conditions. I hope your newfound system will help you succeed in your business, and we're happy to help you get back to Tidio.

Best,
Olek
Tidio

December 3, 2022

Very disappointing results and customer service with the premium options. I was charged 20 days before my normal renewal date. The customer service provided was very unprofessional. The chatbots act up and make customers go away instead of keeping them engaged. Tried contacting the customer service department multiple times to fix the issue, expectations were set but never delivered nor bothered to follow up. If you want to waste your time, your money get this one...

VibeVice™
United States
Time spent using app: Almost 2 years
TIDIO LLC replied December 3, 2022

Hi there!

We're sorry to hear about your not satisfactory experience! Our Customer Satisfaction Specialist will contact you directly to address it. Thank you for letting us know!

October 19, 2022

I installed this app on the trial version and completed the set up. Upon going live, I "used up" all of my chats as Tidio "contacted" every single customer that visited my site. Even though the only actual chats were the two that I did as test with myself. So, Tidio basically charge you for every website vistor that comes to your site regardless of whether the chat function is clicked and used. Of course, this information is not disclosed as part of the sign up for the monthly package. Seems very scammy.

Orpheus Music
United States
Time spent using app: 21 days
TIDIO LLC replied October 19, 2022

Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts, and sorry for the disappointing experience. It seems that there might have been a misunderstanding here. Your live conversations are not limited in any way, with the plan you are currently on. Only the chatbot conversations are. We always try to provide as clear information as possible, and the limit of chatbot conversations is mentioned on our pricing page. We are sorry if this sounded confusing. We will make sure to keep this in mind for future improvements. Meanwhile, it would be great if you'd be willing to reach out to our live chat support. Our team is ready to explain the best ways to optimize the chatbots usage, and their effectiveness. Looking forward to chatting with you! Chris

Edited October 12, 2022

Update: 10/12/22 I was charged $49.00 on Oct 9th even though Tidio assured me I would not be charged. I want my refund.
Tidio ‑ Live Chat & Chatbots (Uninstalled 2 hours later) $49.00
Tidio Chat Automation: 2022-09-09 - 2022-10-09
Update: as of 9-23-2022 I have still not received a full refund as I was told by customer support when I cancelled within an hour of install because of misleading wording in pricing plans on Shopify compared to their website. Tidio ‑ Live Chat & Chatbots $49.00
Tidio Chat Automation: 2022-09-09 - 2022-10-09
I am very disappointed in this company. I had high hopes for this app. Installed it after viewing the details and pricing on both Shopify and Tidio.com and the pricing for the higher plan was $49.00 on Shopify and $39.00 on Tidio so after reading all the details I believed the higher price and plan meant I get all the features including the bots unlimited. After upgrading since there is no trial I was charged immediately and when I figured out that I would have to add the Communicator Plan as well for $19.00 more I requested a refund after only having it for a couple of hours and all I was told is to cancel and it will automatically end at the end of the billing cycle. THATS NOT GOOD ENOUGH! This is a bad business practice of bait and switch and I can't believer they allow it on the Shopify Marketplace.

Coastal Gifts Inc
United States
Time spent using app: 21 days
TIDIO LLC replied September 9, 2022

Hi there, we are extremely sorry to hear of your experience! Our Customer Satisfaction Specialist will be contacting you to address this immediately. Thank you for letting us know!

August 30, 2022

Have been using this app for almost an year... now suddenly the option to send products directly from the chat have been removed from the free plan. Absolutely disappointed.

AutoManiac.it
Italy
Time spent using app: Over 1 year
TIDIO LLC replied August 30, 2022

Hi Alberto. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your thoughts, and also sorry to hear about the disappointment. The Native Shopify Integration features have grown over time to become a powerful tool, which helps generate revenue. That is why it was moved from the Free plan to the Communicator plan, which in fact is our cheapest paid plan. I understand that this is a crucial feature for your business, and taking into account all the other great features and the value that the Communicator brings for the money spent, it would be a great choice and a thing to consider. Thank you for understanding, and please let us know if there's anything else we can do to help. Chris

August 10, 2022

I can't find any really people for customer support anymore, when i meeting some questions what i can do just delete it, really stupid design

Monument Grills
United States
Time spent using app: About 15 hours
TIDIO LLC replied August 10, 2022

Hey, I'm sorry to hear that you were not able to reach us. We're available on our support line and reply to emails 24/5. My team has reached out to now to see how we can help.
Olek - Tidio

August 4, 2022

Unfortunately app was very confusing to setup. Since i already done the the free trial couple years ago i decided to pay the full plan, almost $50 dollars /month. I wanted to start a new chat, from zero but customer support was confusing. different answers every time i talked to someone. so i decided to cancel and because the app didnt have features i needed and was confusing, so i had to cancel it. Dominika from customer support promised me that I was going to receive full refund (tried to make the app work for 5 days and no success). Its been over 2 months , sent her few emails and no response. I will have to call my credit card to get money back, unfortunately i do not recommend this app to anyone.

NutriVita
United States
Time spent using app: About 1 month
TIDIO LLC replied August 4, 2022

I'm so sorry to hear about it. Please let us look at it again with our team. We will reach out to you via email shortly with a clear action plan to fix this.
My sincere apologies - Olek - Head of Customer Service.

July 23, 2022

Not working, only want to know your personal information email, address, phone. Also Tidio want to know same information of all your customers((

EstheticsUS
Ukraine
Time spent using app: 14 days
TIDIO LLC replied July 23, 2022

Hi! Please get in touch with us at support@tidio.net. We'll happily help you solve any possible issues you might have. We do not require any personal information apart from the data necessary to create the account, and we do not require your customers to provide any data unless you'd set it up yourself.

May 17, 2022

The app stuffed up our theme and caused a major malfunction. In addition, after over a year they suddenly deleted our premium account, configured chatbot, and all the customer base for no reason. BEWARE!

LVBagaholic
Netherlands
Time spent using app: Over 2 years
TIDIO LLC replied May 17, 2022

We're sorry -- in response to the globally imposed sanctions, Tidio is suspending all operations in the sanctioned countries. Since your account has been identified as originating from one of them, Tidio has terminated your account as we've informed you via email. If your business has no connections with the sanctioned list, we can help you create a new account. We've reached out to you directly via email with a more detailed explanation.
Olek - Tidio

November 30, 2021

I like a lot of the features of this app, however, I have been having issues with chats not appearing on the desktop. Chats do not appear until several hours later. These issues have been replicated on Mac, PC, and iPhone. We have tried all the obvious things to curtail this issue but have had no luck as it keeps happing intermittently. Support has been less than helpful to the point we are now looking for a better chat solution we can trust is working. This is a great service but they need better support, they are slow to respond and so far have not been helpful at all. I have screenshots of 15+ times where we left a customer hanging in the wind because the app didn't display on the phone or mac or PC. This is bad for business and I wish the Tidio support would take these issues more seriously.

Brothers with Glass
United States
Time spent using app: 5 months
TIDIO LLC replied November 30, 2021

I'm so sorry to see your review. We're now looking for a solution for you to resolve this issue with a dedicated support agent quickly. I'm also reviewing all of our communication to make sure that we did our best to help you. Olek - Head of Customer Service at Tidio