전체 평점
4.6
평점 수준당 개수
  • 평점의 87%가 별 5개입니다
  • 평점의 5%가 별 4개입니다
  • 평점의 1%가 별 3개입니다
  • 평점의 1%가 별 2개입니다
  • 평점의 6%가 별 1개입니다
2020년 5월 23일

This app is full with bugs and horrible customer service, don't get me started about the amount of times I had to translate the same words.

Sweetie Feetie
네덜란드
앱 사용 기간 6일
답글 Weglot개 2020년 5월 25일

I am so sorry for the trouble this has caused you but we do not outsource our support. You wrote us 4 messages on a Saturday. We state in the saved reply we are open Mon-Fri.

We actually have faster support than most apps. Also:
-We do not have any active bug
-We do not have horrible customer service
-If you had to translate a word various times, there is usually a reason behind it.

Let me know if you need additional help.

2019년 12월 4일에 편집됨

Bad app. Bad support.
Wanted to translate to Arabic with right to left layout
The app messed up my website layout (for the translated language only)
I contacted support asking them to correct these changes. Karina responded with a silly email telling me they cannot "redo a site" for me.

I chose another app, had the same problem, but they resolved all issues for free!

Weglot is a bad choice!

Response:
You should've handled this issue in a more professional manner rather than saying "redo a site for you". I never requested changes for my site. I was requesting your team to correct faults caused by the Right To Left (RTL) view. If you had a little more experience in RTL layout you would've understood what I meant.

The other app understood the issue and worked with me and they resolved everything.

I had the right to review and I posted what I believe.

Weglot is a bad choice.
Good luck to you too :)

Response:
I have no interest in fighting you as well. And I am not gearing nothing to hurt no one. I wrote what I think in a direct way.

Again, I am not asking for any changes on my website. If I want to "redo" my website I would hire a developer for that. Not install a language app and ask its customer support team to redo it for me. The response didn't relate to my request and was inappropriate.

I am installing your app to add Arabic. After I did, the layout changed to right-to-left. However, there were drastic mistakes in that change. Some elements changed other elements remained left-to-right. That is why I was very disappointed when you said "we cannot redo a site for you".

I wish you the best of luck.

Layla Collection
쿠웨이트
앱 사용 기간 6일
답글 Weglot개 2019년 12월 4일

Update: Thanks again for your second response but if you wish to settle this matter, We recommend you email us back directly as it seems your responses are geared to hurt Weglot in a non-cordial way. We are here to just help out our wonderful users and have no interest in fighting with you :)

Again, best of luck to you.

We are so sorry to hear you believe our responses were silly but here at Weglot, we do not take any email from our more than 50k+ happy users as a joke. We know Weglot is not for everyone so we are happy you found a provider that works with your needs. We are here to provide all our users with the tools to make their site multilingual but like all apps, we have our limitations in the work we can do in making changes to their site. We like to let our numbers speak for themselves and with more than 600+ 5-stars reviews, Weglot is a great choice in support and multilingual needs :) Best of luck Mahmoud!

2018년 3월 13일

One of the mist dissatisfying apps ever used..

- Does not translate the right things entering
- After asking for support, explaining in 5 mails, it still was unclear.

- After finally get it on the right pages, it does translate horrible and miss out words everywhere, which makes you still have to manually do everything.

- After deleting it, it still is on your webshop, charges you money for not using the app, and you manually have to go in your code and delete it.

Electronicsportsclothing
벨기에
앱 사용 기간 6일
2019년 11월 10일

Not sure what's this apps for, once you reached 2000 words, the translation automatically turned offline, 2000 words is ridiculous small for a normal website, and is not easy to uninstall the apps. it leave code everywhere, only install this apps if you have couple page and not many word on ur website. if not once it reached the limit on the free plan, u can either pay to make the translation work. if u decided not to pay, all existing translation won't work as well. Waste my time to set up before, now I can't remove it properly, can only turn it to private. AWKFUL

GULA MAGICK
홍콩(중국 특별행정구)
앱 사용 기간 5일
2022년 3월 16일

I do not recommend the use of this app. It has misconfigured the details of the products and now the invoices do not come out right and the support has been unable to solve it. Pretty bad support.

Carnes Campoverde
스페인
앱 사용 기간 5일
2019년 6월 19일

Currently testing this app, but i have to give thumbs up to Christophe from the support team, amazing communication and fast replies! i do recommend this app if you want to have your store in multiple languages.

Hyper Atlantic
프랑스
앱 사용 기간 6일
2018년 8월 13일

I wish I could give it 0 stars! So first...once you install and go for a trial account there is no delete account button - you must email support for deletion :))...wonder now if they will wait for trial to expire then charge me and then delete :)) We will have to wait and see wont we? This does not help you translate any app added buttons and the automated translations are just off...they translate automatically everything even if you want that translated or not - and in my desired language they got a lot of words wrong (Romanian). Then comes the fun part... once you delete your project from their server, remove the app from shopify....the translation is still there....ohhh yeah....you must then edit your theme.liquid to remove the button and all....nice work... you wasted 45 min of my life for a 2 min app preview...Get better or just quit!

Dinmall Ro
루마니아
앱 사용 기간 5일
2018년 5월 19일

:( I can't delete a Weblog(https://apps.shopify.com/weglot) from my website. It's a translator. I deleted it, but it remained on the site :( the translator window hangs to the left of the main menu. This flag is hanging and I can not remove it and the translator program works. Your support told me that the issue will be resolved 24-72 hours. It's long! I can't work with the site. This is a problem. I didn't have such problems in Shopify before. Please solve this problem. I can't wait a few days. This error of your platform is regarded by me as forcing a deal. It's illegal. I will refuse the services of the company of Shopify.

Goldelfin
스페인
앱 사용 기간 5일
2020년 3월 11일

Very satisfied with the app !
Easy to use.
Great reactivity from the staff (Thomas really helped me!)
Marina

MEA AYAYA
프랑스
앱 사용 기간 대략 5시간
2021년 2월 19일에 편집됨

We would give it negative stars if we could. Not only did it fail to translate all the words. But each time we went on the website, it would automatically translate words even though we switched it off. Furthermore they automatically switch off your translations without ANY WARNING. No emails, no notifications. This completely BOTCHED OUR LAUNCH. Very unprofessional and I would report them to Shopify if there was such an option. We lost around 100 visitors in few seconds because the website was in another language. Do not use this APP if you want something stable. @Weglot I would strongly recommend that you are more transparent with your users. If you had been we would have stuck around even with the bugs Edit: The response from Weglot is that we didn't contact support. When you are on launch day and the app screws up your translation and you lose 100 visitors because of language issues you don't contact support, you delete the app. Also the response from Weglot is untrue, we received no emails, no notifications and the upgrade page did not show billing plan for monthly.

mademyself.fr
프랑스
앱 사용 기간 4일
답글 Weglot개 2021년 2월 19일

Hello,

We are sorry you had such a bad experience with Weglot but as we have mentioned in the email addressed to you:
1. You had 4 messages sent to you warning you you were at the end of your free trial 48 in advance.
2. You mentioned you couldn't pay yearly but if you look at your billing page, the option is there.
3. You were on a free trial. We specify this is for 10 days and after it changes to a free plan. This has nothing to do with the app's functionality.
4. Is there a reason you did not contact support if you had an issue? We are always here to help.
5. We are always transparent and happy to chat with our users if they have any questions.

Happy to send you the screenshots of the emails again.

Lastly, all users can see the monthly/yearly pricing choice if they head over to https://dashboard.weglot.com/billing/upgrade.

Feel free to email us at support@weglot.com with any other questions /concerns.

We wish you the best!