Weglot ‑ Translate Your Store

Translate your store into multiple languages.

Shopify app insights
  • Popular with businesses in the United States

Free plan available. 10-day free trial. External charges may apply.

App highlights

  • Seamless workflow: use directly in Shopify admin

Reviews

4.6 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

Counts per rating level
  • 88% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 1% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 5% of ratings are 1 stars

Filter and sort reviews

1 - 10 of 14 reviews

Coqueta Official

Location Italy
Time spent using app 13 days

I didn't like the fact that even though you pay for the business plan to have the store translated in 3 languages, you still have a word limit. That way, for how is my store, I was only able to add 1 language and a half instead of 3... it doesn't make much sense to me. Not for me, sorry

Developer reply

July 13, 2022

Hi Coqueta,

I’m sorry to hear about the experience you had.

We’re committed to providing fast and friendly service at a fair price and we do apologize if this was not communicated in the way it should have been. We take pride in being transparent about pricing – so that both parties know what is expected upfront. The word limit is actually set so that our servers can function well for all our users.

I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our product team and I hope there’s another chance where you can try us again!

Wishing you a great day,

The Weglot Team

Paint by Numbers

Location Spain

Found the app difficult to use and not intuitive to set up. I wanted to use subdomains, but I couldn't find an option. The docs asked you to choose this when creating a project, but the app did not give me any option. There was no online chat available. After deleting the app, it left residual code that we had to clean manually.
Pricing is insane. Other translation apps allow you to translate any number of words (third party apps included) and have any visits for $40 a month versus the €1,990.00 a year for a few languages configuration that Weglot charges. I'm sorry that I cannot recommend this app, and while it might have been worth it in the past, there are more options to choose from nowadays.

The Traveler Art

Location Spain
Time spent using app Over 1 year

Good app, interesting to have the store translated immediately. Good customer service when you are an active user. But with an important problem: If you do a lot of dynamic translation, it slows down the page speed a lot without any other solution from the technical support than to delete dynamic translation requests. That has been the main reason for me to switch to another app taking advantage of the change of my store from Debut to Dawn theme and the launch of Markets in Shopify 2.0. The main task: I had to go from a subdomain using Weglot es.xxx.com to a subdirectory using Shopify xxx.com/es (with the entire store translated again with Translation Lab) and that means, if it is not done correctly, a shower of 404 errors apart from the loss in SEO positioning for the same reason. That meant looking for a solution to do 301 redirects because in my case I was never going to use the es.xxx.com subdomain again. It was just then that Weglot tech support told me they couldn't help anymore... I can come to understand it if you're going to abandon them. I found the solution in the Shopify community: Before deleting anything, you have to register a hosting with SSL with the es.xxx.com subdomain and redirect from there. You can read the rest in the last messages Here: https://community.shopify.com/c/technical-q-a/redirect-site-translation-from-subdomain-to-subdirectory/m-p/1507549#M81227

Chado teepood

Location Estonia
Time spent using app 10 months

We tried to make Weglot work for about 6 months but new problems kept coming up... The biggest issue - we simply could not get product translations to work properly and consistently on the cart page and checkout page. Backend got super messy, because even though automatic translation was turned off (it had to be because the translations were always way off), it kept generating automatic translations in the back end and it was very hard to stay on top of it. Trouble with translating the log in/create account/etc customer section, got the following error from Shopify - "Parameter Missing or Invalid: Required parameter missing or invalid: customer" and those sections basically didn't work in the translated version of our site. We could not translate our shipping methods. Customer support tried their best, but too many issues with this app in the end.

ELSE

Location France
Time spent using app 12 months

I've been in the E-commerce/Digital industry since over 15 years and managed +250 brands online. WeGlot is an easy solution to setup, that is right. But unfortunately, their solution translates quite badly, and above all it's really not an SEO-friendly app, although they mention it. I hope they will improve drastically the SEO part in the future, it's a must.

Famme

Location Denmark
Time spent using app 2 minutes

When you install the app. It does not warn you before modifying the store.

The "correct" way would be to have a setting or prompt "do you want to add a language picker. Not just adding it and write "hey, we have added a language picker"

IAIOS

Location Spain
Time spent using app 8 months

I am not happy with the app for many reasons. I think it is not worth the price. The costumer service is a bit rude...

Developer reply

February 4, 2020

Hi there IAIOS,

After reviewing the exchanges with the support team, we are surprised as we extensively helped out to help you understand any questions you had about Weglot. We always love to help our users and did not see a negative exchange within our team. We'd be happy to see if we can help you solve the issues you have. You can always reach us at support@weglot.com

Teaology Skincare

Location Canada
Time spent using app 6 months

Expensive. The interface is easy to manage and the set up as well.
Unfortunately, it becomes very expensive quite fast. Also, you cannot download your translations if you want to migrate to another platform.

Swanlee

Location France
Time spent using app 3 days

Bug et ne débloque pas les fonctionnalités lorsque l'abonnement est payé. A ce jour je n'ai pas trouvé comment traduire ma page Checkout X. Bonne idée mais inutilisable pour moi

Mukimuki

Location United States
Time spent using app 1 day

Only 2000 words on the free plan. That means each time a word is loaded on the screen it counts towards the 2000 words. A couple of users on your site can go through that in a few minutes and after that, it doesn't even keep the manual translations after you fixed all the terrible machine translations. I could understand paying for multi-languages but never for a single language.

Previous 1
Previous 1