Samlet bedømmelse
3,5
Antal pr. bedømmelsesniveau
  • 78 % af bedømmelserne er på 5 stjerner
  • 4 % af bedømmelserne er på 4 stjerner
  • 2 % af bedømmelserne er på 3 stjerner
  • 2 % af bedømmelserne er på 2 stjerner
  • 15 % af bedømmelserne er på 1 stjerner
17. august 2023

It was a good app, but they start to charging me and I don't know why If I have the free plan. Also an app of WhatsApp and they don't have WhatsApp support, so wrong. The worst support, I send an e-mail days before and there's no answer yet

Al Recibir Ecuador-Tienda En Linea
Ecuador
7 måneder bruger appen
Redigeret 23. maj 2023

This is the worst support experience I have ever had in my life, they updated their application and have not been able to solve their failures, even though they have been sent emails with videos explaining them, they can't solve it,

Canvas Mérida Fine Print Art
Mexico
Cirka 3 år bruger appen
SuperLemon App svarede 24. maj 2023

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced with our support. We understand the frustration caused by the application's recent updates and the failures that have persisted despite our efforts to provide detailed explanations through emails and videos.

We have already sent you a mail to know more details regarding the problems you faced so that we can address them and improve our services. Please reach out to us on support@superlemon.xyz. We are here to assist you and provide you with the best possible assistance.

We genuinely appreciate your patience and understanding.

22. april 2023

They abandon customer support, no replies, chat button does not work from mobile safari and mozilla. Terrible experience!

Roble.Store
Spanien
Mere end 3 år bruger appen
SuperLemon App svarede 24. april 2023

Hello Customer,

We want to start by expressing our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you encountered while using the features. We truly appreciate your feedback as it helps us identify areas where we can improve. We understand that configuration can sometimes be challenging, but rest assured we are here to help.

We will soon reach out to you for a resolution. We will do everything we can to make your experience with Superlemon positive again!

6. marts 2023

Even you have good features but you bacame an aggressive, sticky and unpleasant app. You are sticking to the add to cart, to checkout to collect customer data but that can't be mandatory as not everyone using WA. In plus, without any consent and settings from our side - you generated 20% discount codes for customers on a market where 5% is already to much.... Your customer support poor and mainly just automated answers - no willingness to sort the problems.....That can be an option what you restricted and can't setup our 4th store. So deleting you from everywhere.... Good luck

DECKO US
USA
15 dage bruger appen
SuperLemon App svarede 10. marts 2023

Sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We will contact you about the issue and resolve it as soon as possible.
We really appreciate your patience.

Redigeret 8. juni 2023

I can't disable the optin widget, I hate it!! The support doesn't exist, never send me back a verification for checkout

SoCool Boutique
Italien
9 dage bruger appen
SuperLemon App svarede 12. juni 2023

Thank you for reaching out to us and sharing your feedback. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused by the inability to disable the optin widget and the lack of support you experienced during the checkout process. We understand that this has been frustrating for you, and we genuinely appreciate your patience.

Regarding the verification email for checkout, we apologize for the oversight. Our customer support team is dedicated to providing timely assistance, and it is disappointing to hear that we fell short in this instance. We will investigate the matter further to ensure that such delays do not occur in the future.

We will soon reach out to you for a resolution. We will do everything we can to make your experience with Superlemon positive again!

Redigeret 21. marts 2023

parou de funcionar, nao leva mais o cliente para o whatspp direto, quando clica no icone do whatsapp abre uma janela de chat mas nao joga para o whatsapp.

tecno&cia
Brasilien
Mere end 3 år bruger appen
18. november 2022

Product is ok
why is no one replying to my emails?
Live support also not there. Please reply
Also how to check which customers have got abandon cart messages?

GymX
Indien
Mere end 3 år bruger appen
SuperLemon App svarede 18. november 2022

Sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We will contact you about the issue and resolve it as soon as possible.
We really appreciate your patience.

17. oktober 2022

Is someone still maintaining this app? I've been sending emails for almost two weeks with no response :(

Desplastifícate
Mexico
Cirka 2 år bruger appen
21. juli 2022

Es funktionierte erst gut, jetzt kann man die App nicht mehr benutzen. Das Icon ist einfach verschwunden und die Quick-Replies in der App funktionieren auch nicht mehr.

La Pepa
Colombia
Næsten 2 år bruger appen
9. juni 2021

Used to work well for over a year but the last 6 months have had several issues. The automated Abandoned cart has stopped working twice, for weeks on end without any notification. Who knows how many sales have been lost due to this. It was addressed by the developers only for it to happen again a few weeks later. Been told it would be fixed in 2-3 days - more than a week later and no response. Very generic responses usually from the Help Desk Team. Unfortunately lost all faith in the app. Just found a better app for the same price with more functionality and more trust ratings.

Zoodle
Sydafrika
Cirka et år bruger appen
SuperLemon App svarede 9. juni 2021

Our support team is in contact with you on ticket #22004. We are working hard to fix this issue as soon as possible. We apologize for the inconvenience caused. Please wait for our response in the ticket.