Wholesale Gorilla , 181 reseñas
I've worked with a few months now, but no technical development is done by the team, every time I report a problem, they say "sorry we can't do that, we can't do that ", they apparently don't understand that the customer can help them improve the quality of their application. shame
Thanks for the feedback!
I'm sorry we weren't able to accommodate the request for a custom layout for our quick order form on your store. We're a small team, and we aren't able to implement many of the custom features or layouts that many stores may need.
Instead, we're focusing on slowly rolling our a series of customizable page templates, such as our recently released custom wholesale sign up form.
We're looking to make our quick order form more customizable in the future, but we unfortunately, have to be mindful of how we roll these customizable implementations. We have to do it in a way that works with all types of businesses and the themes they may use (official or not). You may be able to find a 3rd party developer, or Shopify Expert who can build this page the way you want it, though.
Sorry again that we weren't able to offer this bespoke functionality. If you do have any other questions, please don't hesitate to reach back out.
Awesome app. i just sorry to say that i'm trying to communicate with the support since last week and nobody wrote me back yet, if they dont fix a code form me i'll need to find another app.. please write me back i really like this app!
Thanks for the kind words!
I'm sorry you had some trouble getting in touch with us!
I looked through our support tickets and didn't see any emails from the email associated with your store. It's possible that our spam filter may have caught your messages. I'm sorry about that!
We've reached out to you via the email we had on file for your store. We're happy to help with any issues you have.
Good app but super limited.
They work off of proxies, so no templates are really involved to modify. Having an issue where we cannot allow wholesalers to commit to stock (purchase stock) while not allowing retail customers too. SUPER IMPORTANT.
Customer service is OK and responsive (reasonable time frame) but offer no chat or phone support. They offer very little solutions other then 'we cannot customize please contact a developer.'
I was very excited to try them out as they come off as a 'small business wholesaler who understands the demands/challenges of small businesses' but in reality, they offer similar functionality to other wholesale apps. Id still recommend them, but definitely limited and would look at other options on the table.
- you cannot modify the application form
- you have very little customization options on the quick form
- orders are being auto drafted upon checkout for dealers, but if product is out of stock it prevents them from doing this
- do yourself the favor and look at competitor apps and compare functionality
Thanks so much for the feedback. While you can prevent wholesale or retail customers from purchasing certain products with Wholesale Gorilla, it sounds like you want to have different inventory settings for wholesale/retail customers for a single product? If so this is a request we hear a lot, but unfortunately Shopify will not let us submit an order if any out-of-stock items are in the cart. Since Shopify doesn't provide developers a way to set customer-specific inventory at this time, the best workaround is to create a retail-only and wholesale-only product so that these groups of customers can be limited to the inventory you set for each product. In some cases we can develop a workaround for Shopify's limitations, but in other cases all apps are limited by the same rules they set.
As for the customization/proxies issue we definitely agree that more customization options are essential, and we are excited to be releasing a much more robust way for merchants to customize wholesale pages this fall.
Thanks again for your input. We are committed to helping small businesses by continuously working to improve and expand on our feature set, and hearing from merchants directly is the best way for us to do this.
The customer support from individuals on the Wholesale Gorilla Team is great. If you are lucky to get Zach from their tea, he is the best! The app itself continues to get better and the value increases over time. Keep up the great work!
What it can do and what it can not.
What it is good at:
Easy to install
Creating discount codes is a snap.
Support emails are answered in an acceptable amount of time.
Using the app within the Shopify store is seamless and, for the most part, quite easy.
Shipping options are a nice touch.
What it is not.
No Retail pricing is visible once logged in.
All pricing across the entire platform is changed with no option at all to show what the retail pricing is. So basically, the wholesale customer has no idea how much they are saving. This, of course, always prompts many emails from customers asking why all the pricing is not discounted or asking if we have a retail sheet to send them, which is what we ended up doing. It is either that or telling them to log out of their account so they can see the retail pricing and then log back in. We have since started sending them a link to a page with the pricing. This also is not a great solution though since it is just another thing we have to keep updated and maintain.
No way to modify the wholesale submission form.
It would be nice if they allowed us to add some custom fields but unfortunately, they do not. In our case, we have specific questions we wanted to get answered to see if they were a good fit. Since this app runs through a proxy, they do not allow any control over the app. So even minor tweaking is not an option. Therefore we had to set up our own custom submission form to incorporate the fields we needed.
No export of discounts available.
If you have many different types of discounts for different customers like we do, then maintaining them becomes cumbersome. You would be best to make a spreadsheet (yet another thing to maintain) that has all of your discount codes and the amounts off etc. since there is no export option available. You would think this would have been an easy one, but after reaching out to them on this, nope. I was told this was a great idea and that they would consider it for a future update, but that was a while ago, and it is still not an option that I can see.
Poor communication with their customers.
Don't get me wrong, if you submit a request, they will contact you back in an acceptable time frame. They are polite and professional. Unfortunately, they have no communication in regards to their app. How often is this app updated? I genuinely do not know, they never say. If it is often, there is nothing I can see that is any different. I use other Shopify apps and regularly get emails from them regarding updates and new features. It would be nice if wholesale gorilla followed suit.
No ability to change anything
Aside from not being able to change the submission form, unfortunately, there is not much that can be done with this app outside of what it is. Most customizations they offer do work pretty well, but depending on your case use, you will run into issues where you would like to customize something that is just not possible. The proxy issue kicks in, taking this app down a few pegs.
First off, it is not my intention to say not to use Wholesale Gorilla. This is a slick little app that is quite easy to use and understand. For the most part, it is intuitive and does not have a large learning curve. Most people should be able to master it in a very short time. It has helped our company save quite a bit of time and aggregation dealing with wholesale orders. If you are a small company with light activity and a small number of products, this app could be a good fit. That said, once you start to grow, there are a few cracks that make this app start to lose its charm. Little inconveniences begin to add up and eventually force you to start asking yourself some questions. For the price of $30 per month, you are close to the cost of opening up another Shopify store, which can deal strictly with wholesale customers. This is another level of maintenance, but depending on your needs may make more sense. And while we have not tried other wholesale apps, we are looking to see if any of them may fit our needs better. In the end, this app will work fine for many, but if you are similar to us, you may want to look at a different solution, or at least know what you will be facing if you do decide to use Wholesale Gorilla. While this app might work and be a 5-star app for some, for our needs, I would rate it at a 3 1/2 star option.
Thanks so much for the thorough feedback. We want to provide our merchants with the most useful set of tools we can, so these comments are super helpful.
A number of these feature requests are actually already in the pipeline or have been recently released:
Show retail price: We released a feature to show the retail price to wholesale customers a few weeks ago as a number of merchants were interested in this feature.
Modify wholesale customer signup form: This is another top request so we definitely plan on introducing more customization options for this in the near future. If you have any specific requests feel free to email our support address so we can keep them in mind as we build this out.
CSV import/export: Apologies if you are not happy with the release timeline for this feature. When it comes to development work we have to juggle a long list of required and requested updates, and some things have to take priority depending on overall customer needs and volume of requests. This is fairly high on the list though, so we'll be sure to include it in a future release.
Customer communication: We usually post messages and news on the homepage of the app itself, but since merchants might not open it on a regular basis once they have everything set up, better communication via email is a great idea.
Thanks again for taking the time to give your feedback. These are just as helpful to us as for potential customers of the app. We are always looking to make things better and are excited for the updates we have planed for 2020.
I have been testing this app with a trial. I have set everything up and have been running multiple customer checkouts to look for any glitches or things I do/don't like about it. One thing right away to be aware of is they only offer shipping to be customized by pricing. Meaning, you cannot set things up for any specific customer or location (i.e., your local customers) to have free or discounted shipping.
Some features I appreciate, like the ability to tag current customers as "wholesale" and they just log in and then see your current catalog all at wholesale pricing. Other things feel kind of clunky and just lacking in terms of being streamlined and clean. When adding products to the cart logged in as a wholesale customer, I noticed that at first all products show up as their retail price and took a few seconds to change to the wholesale. This could scare wholesale customers who may not have the patience to wait those few seconds and think something is wrong with their account and give up. I can see the response to this being it is my computer or internet connection but I tried on different computers with the same result and don't have this kind of issue with other parts of my Shopify site.
Overall it's a decent design. I wouldn't call it a "gorilla" as the customizability is limited and not as intuitive or fine-tuned as I would have expected. Customer service has been good and responsive. The app itself is limited.
Hi there, this is Matt the owner of Wholesale Gorilla, thanks so much for the feedback. Depending on your store we can sometimes add custom code (free of charge of course!) to improve the speed of price changes in the cart to wholesale. One of the main challenges of working in the Shopify environment is that there is a huge variety of themes each with their own customizations, page load speed, and other apps installed. In some cases this can result in a slight delay before prices change to wholesale. We are currently looking into ways to improve the wholesale customer user experience by eliminating this issue altogether.
Development of features can be a slow process, but we are committed to providing the most useful tool possible to our customers. We very much appreciate you taking the time to give such thorough feedback since it always helps guide our development process.
Feel free to reach out to us if you have any questions. Thanks!
Is a very usefull app, unfortunately is hasn't have the option to translate to other languages beyond english. I needed texts in spanish so I had to uninstall it.
Thanks so much for the feedback. We have listened and are excited to announce the release a translation feature for Wholesale Gorilla! You can now translate wholesale messages and pages to Spanish, French, Italian, German, and Hungarian, with more to come.