Xero

Xero

Free plan available. 30-day free trial.
Rating (1.3)
Reviews
Developer
17 reviews
15 reviews
Overall rating
1.3
Counts per rating level
  • 6% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 6% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 88% of ratings are 1 stars
15 reviews
November 5, 2022

Not adding the items or the customer data, also the invoices is recorded with the payment getaway deduction that the business not the customer pays for I did not make use of it and have to search for another app

DailyLavish.co.uk
United Kingdom
Time spent using app: 4 days
Xero replied November 21, 2022

Hi there,

Sorry to hear that the functionality did not meet your needs. The integration is designed to make it quick and easy for you to reconcile your Shopify sales against your payouts. For this reason, the integration brings across a daily summary of all sales per payment gateway - ensuring Xero has only the information it needs to support your reconciliation.

We understand that being able to use the integration for generating customer invoices would be helpful and will be sure to take your feedback on board as we continually improve the integration for all our customers.

Thanks,
Xero App Store Team

September 8, 2022

No support at all. Very poor. Can't contact support from the app, they don't reply. Been trying for days and no replies. Very poor app!

DermaTecc
Australia
Time spent using app: 8 months
Xero replied November 21, 2022

Hi there,

We're sorry to hear about your experience and we'd like to put this right for you. If you haven’t already, please contact our support team by clicking ‘Contact Xero support’ over at https://central.xero.com/s/article/Connect-to-Shopify.

We've been working hard to make sure the integration works beautifully for all our customers and we take your feedback seriously. That's why we've improved the integration's sales tax functionality for customers in NZ, AU and UK.

If you wish to try the integration again, you can do so free for 30 days: https://apps.xero.com/au/app/shopify#overview

If you have further questions or need help getting setup, please head over to our support content at https://central.xero.com/s/article/Connect-to-Shopify.

Thanks,
Xero App Store Team

July 4, 2022

I am being charged for this app consistently even though I deleted/cancelled the service straight away as it is effectively useless

Perth Trade Direct
Australia
Time spent using app: 5 months
Xero replied November 21, 2022

Hi there,

We’re sorry to hear about your experience. If you haven’t already, please contact our support team by clicking ‘Contact Xero support’ over at https://central.xero.com/s/article/Connect-to-Shopify.

We’ve recently improved the integration’s sales tax functionality in NZ, AU and UK - making it easier for businesses like yours to manage your tax obligations.

If you wish to try the integration again, you can do so free for 30 days: https://apps.xero.com/au/app/shopify#overview

We have also improved our support content, so if you have further questions, please head over to Xero Central: https://central.xero.com/s/article/Connect-to-Shopify - we’d be happy to help ensure you have a great set up experience.

Thanks,
Xero App Store Team

June 27, 2022

Do not install this app, this app doesn't work, there are huge gaps. Worst of all, deleting the app doesn't stop the charges, and it is impossible to stop them. Logging into your Xero account doesn't even give you any options to stop the subscription and therefore the billing. And when you contact support... you get none. A seriously bad look for Xero. C'mon Shopify... it isn't a good look for you either! There are enough reviews saying the same thing here surely for action either by Xero or Shopify!

Zero Natural
New Zealand
Time spent using app: 4 months
Xero replied June 28, 2022

Hi there,

We’re sorry to hear about your experience. We’ve recently released improvements to the integration that should make it easier for you to reconcile Shopify sales against payouts, while also supporting you to meet your sales tax obligations.

If you wish to try the integration again, you can do so free for 30 days: https://apps.xero.com/nz/app/shopify#overview

We have also improved our support content, so if you have further questions, please head over to Xero Central: https://central.xero.com/s/article/Connect-to-Shopify.

Thanks,
Xero App Store Team

May 24, 2022

Terrible app - do not use. Will continue to charge long after you have deleted the app from shopify and xero. I can not find a way to stop the payments :(

eandbco
New Zealand
Time spent using app: About 1 month
Xero replied June 19, 2022

Hi there,

We’re sorry to hear about your experience. We’ve recently released improvements to the integration that should make it easier for you to reconcile Shopify sales against payouts, while also supporting you to meet your sales tax obligations.

If you wish to try the integration again, you can do so free for 30 days: https://apps.xero.com/nz/app/shopify#overview

We have also improved our support content, so if you have further questions, please head over to Xero Central: https://central.xero.com/s/article/Connect-to-Shopify - we’d be happy to help ensure you have a great set up experience.

Thanks,
Xero App Store Team

May 16, 2022

This app is useless. Warning ⚠️ it will continue to change you after you delete it from your shopify page. Be sure to log into Xero online (not through an app) and delete it fully from your subscriptions.

Bird Valley
Australia
Time spent using app: About 1 month
Xero replied June 19, 2022

Hi there,

We’re sorry to hear about your experience. We’ve recently released improvements to the integration that should make it easier for you to reconcile Shopify sales against payouts, while also supporting you to meet your sales tax obligations.

If you wish to try the integration again, you can do so free for 30 days: https://apps.xero.com/au/app/shopify#overview

We have also improved our support content, so if you have further questions, please head over to Xero Central: https://central.xero.com/s/article/Connect-to-Shopify - we’d be happy to help ensure you have a great set up experience.

Thanks,
Xero App Store Team

April 5, 2022

Xero integration is grossly deceitful! If you run a Shopify store and have multiple transactions with varying VAT rates or if not all your transactions are either with VAT or without VAT, than this app will not work for you at all. On top, it will cause costly troubles. Our experience so far has been terrible and the integration caused us to declare WRONG vat return figures. Before they say we were supposed to check each box and each transaction line behind it, we say: Are you not our "beautiful online accounting software" that is supposed to "seamlessly automatise" transactions? Apparently not. Here are the highlights of our experience with them so far:
1. First, they claim to be a "beautiful online accounting software", yet EVERY TIME we interact with them, either by call or through a case, we are being referred to seek advise from a qualified/professional third party accountant.
REALLY? We thought that is what Xero is and this is what Xero claims, obviously, flagrantly deceitful. 2. It does not sync your shopify transactions correctly. You will end up with multiple transaction lines with no information on which one has VAT attributed and which one does not. Very deceitful. 3. They claim you will save time by eliminating the stress of manual data entry. WRONG and deceitful. This is exactly what they asked me to do when confronting about the errors and troubles the integration brings along. We do not recommend Xero, based on the points above.

MyFooDen
United Kingdom
Time spent using app: 3 months
Xero replied April 6, 2022

Hi there,

We are sorry to hear that the integration didn't meet your needs. Based on feedback from customers, we’ve released improvements to the integration’s sales tax functionality - now supporting businesses like yours with multiple, varying VAT rates.

If you wish to try the integration again, you can do so free for 30 days: https://apps.xero.com/uk/app/shopify#overview

We have also improved our support content, so if you have further questions, please head over to Xero Central: https://central.xero.com/s/article/Connect-to-Shopify - we’d be happy to help.

Thanks,
Xero App Store Team

March 28, 2022

I could not get this to work at all, neither could my bookkeeper and it ended up making a mess of our accounts that delayed our end of period accounts. Then when i actually deleted the app, Xero still charged me 2 months of service and refused to refund it despite being able to tell that it doesnt work AND I was no longer to connected to it. Terrible customer service.

No Guilt Bakes
United Kingdom
Time spent using app: 2 months
Xero replied March 31, 2022

Hi,

Thanks for your feedback - we are sorry to hear that you had trouble with the integration. We've recently released improvements that should make it easier for you to reconcile Shopify sales against payouts, while also supporting you to meet your sales tax obligations.

If you wish to try the integration again, you can do so free for 30 days: https://apps.xero.com/uk/app/shopify#overview

We have also improved our support content, so if you have further questions, please head over to Xero Central: https://central.xero.com/s/article/Connect-to-Shopify - we’d be happy to help.

Thanks,
Xero App Store Team

March 22, 2022

Not great. Should not be a difficult APP to facilitate, seems like the APP requires some further testing and improvements.
Problems - can't select control accounts as payment methods, sales tax account difficulties

Mami Wata - UK
United Kingdom
Time spent using app: About 2 months
Xero replied March 25, 2022

Hi there,

Thank you for your response. We are sorry to hear that the functionality did not meet your needs. We’ve recently added more granular tax and account mapping functionality for customers in the UK, NZ and AU. This will give you more control of the way transactions are mapped to your accounts in Xero.

If you wish to try the integration again, you can do so free for 30 days: https://apps.xero.com/uk/app/shopify#overview

We have also improved our support content, so if you have further questions, please head over to Xero Central: https://central.xero.com/s/article/Connect-to-Shopify.

Thanks,
Xero App Store Team

March 7, 2022

I wish I had the hours of my life back that I spent trying to get this app to work. Neither Xero nor Shopify support could get it to work properly. In the end I've had to delete it and cut my losses.

Buttery Horse Co.
Australia
Time spent using app: 4 months
Xero replied March 10, 2022

Hi there,

We’re sorry to hear about your experience. We’ve recently released improvements to the integration that should make it easier for you to get setup to reconcile your Shopify sales against payouts, while also supporting you to meet your sales tax obligations.

If you wish to try the integration again, you can do so free for 30 days: https://apps.xero.com/au/app/shopify#overview

We have also improved our support content, so if you have further questions, please head over to Xero Central: https://central.xero.com/s/article/Connect-to-Shopify.

Thanks,
Xero App Store Team