Xero

Beautiful online accounting software

From $11/month. 30-day free trial. External charges may apply.

App highlights

  • Seamless workflow: use directly in Shopify admin

  • Speed tested: no impact to your online store

Shopify integration by Xero illustration

Key values section

Automate finance admin

Daily Shopify sales orders for each of your payment gateways are summarised and automatically sent to Xero for easy reconciliation

More accurate data

Reduce manual data entry and get visibility over Shopify payments and PayPal transaction fees

Track cashflow in one place

Get a complete picture of business performance with Xero’s cash flow and insights tools

Xero

Xero

Connect your Shopify store to your Xero account for easy management of your ecommerce business finances.

Shopify integration by Xero does not account for sales tax and can’t be used by tax-registered businesses.

Using Xero and Shopify together

Integrating Shopify with Xero significantly reduces time taken to manually move data between your business apps, and helps you reconcile payouts to give you visibility over fees and other costs or discounts.

Features

  • Automatically syncs daily Shopify sales transactions to Xero
  • Creates a daily summary invoice for preferred payment gateways
  • Shows sales, discounts, shipping costs, refunds, gift card payments, and fees across all invoices
  • Tracks pending sales from Shopify payments and PayPal by adding a clearing account
  • Transfers processed sales from Shopify payments and PayPal into a nominated bank account
  • Imports the previous 90 days of Shopify sales transactions (only available with Xero Standard or Premium plans)

Not supported in Shopify integration by Xero

Shopify integration by Xero does not account for sales tax and only imports a summary of sales and purchases into Xero. It is unsuitable for and can’t be used by tax-registered businesses.

There are some things this integration doesn’t do. Check with your accountant or bookkeeper if you're unsure whether this integration will meet your needs.

  • Sales tax
  • Invoices for each Shopify sales transaction
  • Inventory and Cost of Goods Sold management
  • Connection of multiple Shopify stores to a Xero account
  • Shopify stores and Xero accounts with different currencies
  • Automatic tax filing in multiple tax jurisdictions
  • Invoices showing customer (payment) details

Launch date

Integrates with

  • See Xero app store
  • apps.xero.com
Xero

Xero

Connect your Shopify store to your Xero account for easy management of your ecommerce business finances.

Shopify integration by Xero does not account for sales tax and can’t be used by tax-registered businesses.

Using Xero and Shopify together

Integrating Shopify with Xero significantly reduces time taken to manually move data between your business apps, and helps you reconcile payouts to give you visibility over fees and other costs or discounts.

Features

  • Automatically syncs daily Shopify sales transactions to Xero
  • Creates a daily summary invoice for preferred payment gateways
  • Shows sales, discounts, shipping costs, refunds, gift card payments, and fees across all invoices
  • Tracks pending sales from Shopify payments and PayPal by adding a clearing account
  • Transfers processed sales from Shopify payments and PayPal into a nominated bank account
  • Imports the previous 90 days of Shopify sales transactions (only available with Xero Standard or Premium plans)

Not supported in Shopify integration by Xero

Shopify integration by Xero does not account for sales tax and only imports a summary of sales and purchases into Xero. It is unsuitable for and can’t be used by tax-registered businesses.

There are some things this integration doesn’t do. Check with your accountant or bookkeeper if you're unsure whether this integration will meet your needs.

  • Sales tax
  • Invoices for each Shopify sales transaction
  • Inventory and Cost of Goods Sold management
  • Connection of multiple Shopify stores to a Xero account
  • Shopify stores and Xero accounts with different currencies
  • Automatic tax filing in multiple tax jurisdictions
  • Invoices showing customer (payment) details

Launch date

Integrates with

  • See Xero app store
  • apps.xero.com

Pricing 30-day free trial

See all pricing options

External charges may apply. These charges are billed by the external provider and won’t appear on your Shopify invoice.

Early

$11/month

  • Good for sole traders, new businesses, and the self-employed.

Growing

$32/month

  • Good for growing small businesses

Established

$62/month

  • Good for established businesses

* All charges are billed in USD.
** Recurring charges, including monthly or usage-based charges, are billed every 30 days.

Reviews

1.4 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

  • 5 of 5 stars
    7% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    0% of ratings are 4 stars
    0
  • 3 of 5 stars
    7% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    0% of ratings are 2 stars
    0
  • 1 of 5 stars
    86% of ratings are 1 stars

Zero Natural

Location New Zealand

Do not install this app, this app doesn't work, there are huge gaps. Worst of all, deleting the app doesn't stop the charges, and it is impossible to stop them. Logging into your Xero account doesn't even give you any options to stop the subscription and therefore the billing. And when you contact support... you get none. A seriously bad look for Xero. C'mon Shopify... it isn't a good look for you either! There are enough reviews saying the same thing here surely for action either by Xero or Shopify!

Developer reply

June 28, 2022

Hi there,

We are sorry to hear about your experience with our app and would like to put this right for you. Can you please get in touch with our support team at: https://central.xero.com/s/contact-support - so we can arrange a refund.

We're working hard to make sure this integration works well for all of our customers and this feedback will help us do that - thanks for taking the time to share it.

Thanks,
Xero App Store Team

eandbco

Location New Zealand

Terrible app - do not use. Will continue to charge long after you have deleted the app from shopify and xero. I can not find a way to stop the payments :(

Developer reply

June 19, 2022

Hi there,

We’re sorry to hear about your experience and we’d like to put this right for you. We understand you’ve been in touch with our support team who have canceled your subscription. You’ll also hear from our team shortly regarding a refund.

We’re working hard to make sure our integration works beautifully for all our customers and we take your feedback seriously. Our team are currently working on a free 30-day trial for our Xero Shopify integration so customers will be able to see if it's a good fit for their business before purchase.

If you have any additional feedback for our Product team, please let us know when we email you regarding the refund.

Thanks,
Xero App Store Team

Bird Valley

Location Australia

This app is useless. Warning ⚠️ it will continue to change you after you delete it from your shopify page. Be sure to log into Xero online (not through an app) and delete it fully from your subscriptions.

Developer reply

June 19, 2022

Hi there,

We’re sorry to read this review and understand our team has been in touch to discuss your experience and offer a refund.

We’re working hard to make sure our integration works beautifully for all our customers and we take your feedback seriously. The team is currently working on a free 30-day trial for our Xero Shopify integration so customers will be able to see if it's a good fit for their business before purchase.

If you have any additional feedback for our Product team, please let us know by emailing us back and we’ll ensure it gets passed along.

Thanks,
Xero App Store Team

Apps similar to Xero

QuickBooks Connector

QuickBooks Connector

Sync your sales channel with QuickBooks Online

4.9 of 5 stars(1243reviews)
Free plan available
QuickBooks Online + Commerce

QuickBooks Online + Commerce

Power every part of your business with a single platform

3.9 of 5 stars(167reviews)
From $35/month
QuickBooks or Xero Sync by A2X

QuickBooks or Xero Sync by A2X

Automate Your Accounting. Trusted by 1000s. Xero Staff Pick

4.9 of 5 stars(198reviews)
30-day free trial
QuickBooks, Xero sync ‑ Synder

QuickBooks, Xero sync ‑ Synder

Auto-post Sales, Fees and Inventory to QuickBooks or Xero

4.9 of 5 stars(153reviews)
7-day free trial