eDesk: All‑In‑One Helpdesk

eDesk: All‑In‑One Helpdesk

From $89/month. 14-day free trial.
Rating (4.8)
Reviews
Developer
30 reviews
5 reviews
Overall rating
4.8
Counts per rating level
  • 80% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 17% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 0% of ratings are 2 stars
  • 3% of ratings are 1 stars
5 reviews
Edited January 26, 2022

We just started to use eDesk. As for now seems very nice + customer support is very good. We have a few issues but their technical team already handling them. Recommend. *****UPDATE*****
Unfortunately, when somebody sends a message to you and you will reply to it, it will be created as a new thread to the person. So every time you reply under the same thread, the person in the email will see it as a separate thread for each reply. I informed about this customer support and the only "solution" they provided is to leave it as it is or to delete and reinstall the app which would remove all our messages....

Game of Bricks
Estonia
Time spent using app: 9 days
xSellco Ltd replied January 20, 2022

Hi, I'm sorry to hear you haven't been satisfied with the product so far. I am going to assume the new ticket creation is linked to our etsy integration? My name is Eamon and I would like the chance to turn this review around. I f you have some time free tomorrow Friday or next week I would like to give you a call and we can share screens to better guide you around edesk. I'll reach out to you on email also via our existing tickets.

Kind Regards
Eamon
Customer support manager

https://www.edesk.com/integrations/shopify/

October 4, 2021

I don't love the interface if I am honest and due to a breakdown in communication at the start of the year (they didn't explain what the implications of removing an old channel was!) we have lost ALL of our historical communication with customers HOWEVER I would still recommend this app. CS is great and they usually sort stuff out pretty quickly.

Fat Lad At The Back
United Kingdom
Time spent using app: Over 1 year
xSellco Ltd replied October 4, 2021

Hello Lynn,

Thank you very much for your positive review. I would like to offer my apologies for the trouble you had at the start of the year. All our Customer support staff do or should be warning clients of the potential problems with channel removals on our platform. I'll review your case and feedback to all involved.

Kind Regards
Eamon
Customer support

October 26, 2017

xSellco is a very user friendly platform and they have an excellent customer service response. However it still needs to improve how to track the agents that reply to users messages.

Hickies
United States
Time spent using app: Over 3 years
July 14, 2017

Excellent service. The product is pretty good but they listen to their customers and make updates based on feedback. Huzzah!

Skullsplitter
United States
Time spent using app: Over 2 years
June 23, 2016

Good product and helpful customer support. The price is relatively high for small shops, but this is the only app I have found that covers repricing for most of my channels. I would recommend this ptool.

Ipaces
United States
Time spent using app: 11 months