Yoast SEO ‑ SEO for everyone

Optimize your content, upgrade technical SEO, boost rankings!

  • Popular with businesses in the United States

$19/month. 14-day free trial.

App highlights

  • Seamless workflow: use directly in Shopify admin

  • Speed tested: low impact to your online store

Reviews

3.7 of 5 stars

The overall rating reflects the current state of the app. It accounts for all app reviews but prioritizes the most recent ones.

  • 5 of 5 stars
    60% of ratings are 5 stars
  • 4 of 5 stars
    5% of ratings are 4 stars
  • 3 of 5 stars
    5% of ratings are 3 stars
  • 2 of 5 stars
    0% of ratings are 2 stars
    0
  • 1 of 5 stars
    30% of ratings are 1 stars
6 reviews

LUS Brands

very bad app, it changes all your theme codes and damage the product page, it changes the theme.liquid and also creates a lot of backup and damage everything on the theme

Developer reply

April 21, 2022

Thanks for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you have encountered problems when using the app.
Theme modifications are used to make the app work. If you no longer wish to use the app, you have the option to remove the changed theme modifications. There is an uninstall button to help you do this.
If you want to remove the theme modifications after you have uninstalled the app, there are two options:
- reinstall the app and follow the uninstall steps within the app itself
- manually removing the theme modifications.
For both steps, you can find more information here: https://yoast.com/help/remove-yoast-code-from-theme-in-shopify/

We will contact you by email to see if we can help you with the above.

Druksell.com

Not Happy with this app at all and the cost just doesnt justify anything. I already am familar with SEO and thought this might help improve but instead of helpding boost SEO, it rather deranked my site position on google. It has nothing but just a bunch of knowledge book regarding SEO- which are freely available but they make it a point to charge free content. Seriously this is not worth the cost and they should just get out of shopify and stick with wordpress, it does more harm than good.

Developer reply

March 20, 2022

Thank you for your feedback; we are always on the look-out to see where we can improve. We are sorry to hear that the experience with our app was not what you expected.
When using Yoast SEO and you notice that it has an impact on your ranking in an unexpected way, please know that support is ready to look at the situation with you. We are more than happy to have a look and see where we can help you.

ExcellentSupply.com

TOAST! That's what this app should be called — because that's what it will do to your site — turn it into TOAST. After loading this bug filled destructive app to our site we started getting ERROR messages from Google (which never happened before). This poorly constructed app wrecked our SEO Schema. But wait it gets worse... Look under the hood. The Yoast app fills your site with asset after asset — which will slow your site down. To remove Yoast, you will need to surgically remove multiple assets from your site code to restore your site to a pre-Yoast condition. Avoid this app at all costs if you care about your SEO and/or your website. This app is NOT ready to be released on Shopify. RESPONSE TO THE DEVELOPER'S REPLY BELOW: Thank you for reaching out. Sadly though, this is a case of a company trying to varnish over a flawed product. This app is terrible / from the way it handles meta description editing, to the way it messes up SEO schema, to the glut of code rubbish it injects into the site... This app is simply not a stable or suitable product for Shopify sites. And based on the ratio of low ratings on the Shopify App store, I'm obviously not the only one who feels this way.

Developer reply

March 3, 2022

Thank you for reaching out and your feedback. We are sorry to read that you are having this experience. In our latest release, we have changed the way theme modifications are being handled after an uninstall as we were aware of these causing problems for some of our customers.

Currently, when uninstalling our app, theme modifications will be disabled. Since not all of the code will be removed, there are instructions on how to clean up after an uninstall (https://yoast.com/help/remove-yoast-code-from-theme-in-shopify/). In this case; since you are still in the trial period, if you install the app you can press the 'deactivate Yoast SEO' found in 'settings' to help to disable the theme modifications for you.

About the errors you are experiencing, we will reach out to you by mail to help us clarify what you are experiencing and see if we are able to help you out.

Avent Bébé | Cadeau de grossesse original

Je connaissais l'outil sur Wordpress, j'ai donc voulu l'essayer sur shopify mais quand je l'ai désinstallé tous mes changements ont été supprimés. 14 jours à travailler le SEO pour rien grâce à YOAST ! Finalement c'est payer et garder son boulot ou supprimer et tout perdre... J'ai donc cherché ailleurs.

Developer reply

February 25, 2022

Thank you for your feedback and for giving our app a spin. Putting in the effort and then losing your work sucks, we feel you.

Fortunately, part of your work is still there; the product descriptions you have optimized through Yoast SEO have been copied to Shopify and remain even after uninstalling the app.

That being said; we will take your feedback to heart to improve our communication.

---

Traduit par DeepL
Merci pour vos commentaires et pour avoir essayé notre application. Faire des efforts et perdre ensuite votre travail, ça craint, nous vous comprenons.

Heureusement, une partie de votre travail est toujours là ; les descriptions de produits que vous avez optimisées grâce à Yoast SEO ont été copiées sur Shopify et restent même après avoir désinstallé l'application.

Ceci étant dit, nous prendrons vos commentaires à cœur afin d'améliorer notre communication.

Weldental®

When an app is uninstalled it should revert the site back to its original state without any effort by the user. We have now spent a few hours cleaning up the mess that was left. Modified files are left for you in their modified state. The backed up files are there, however you will have to spend plenty of time reverting the original file back to its original state.

Developer reply

February 9, 2022

We're sorry to hear about your experience and we understand how unnecessarily time-consuming this has been for you. We thank you for sharing your feedback with us and know how important it is to get everything back the way it was. We're going to look into ways of improving this.

For others reading along, we have a button in our app that automatically removes all theme modifications (see https://yoast.com/help/remove-yoast-code-from-theme-in-shopify/). If you've already deleted our app, there are also manual instructions on how to remove them. Sadly, this is not something we can automatically do after deleting our app but we're looking into improving this as best we can.

Bad.no

A much awaited app that - sadly - overwrites ALL your manual SEO work automatically without leaving you any manual control. You can't leverage your hand-written efforts (title/metadescription), because the app override everything with its structure. You don't even get questions on what to overwrite and when, it just "handles" it. Probably good if you have no manual SEO efforts, but pointless if you want to automate some and have a hands on approach on some. The other benefits of the app was not tested (schema etc) simply because the app was deleted instantly when realizing there are no manual control (or even a warning the automation overwrite everything). Only upside is that you can revert all automation with a button and luckily, get your manual work back.

Developer reply

January 26, 2022

Update 27th January, 2022: we just released a fix that should no longer overwrite your already set SEO titles and descriptions. We're also looking into improving the first installation (welcome wizard), giving you more information and control over what our app can do.

Original response: I'm sorry to hear about your experience with our app, that shouldn't have happened. We really appreciate you took the time to share your experience with us! I've forwarded the feedback you gave and our team is already investigating ways how we can improve the app!

Valuable information to note: By removing our snippet templates (Apps -> Yoast SEO -> Settings -> Content Settings -> Products) you can get your old titles and descriptions back for now. Plus our support team is ready to help out as well!