Recensies (8.131)

Algemene beoordeling
4,9
Cijfers per recensieniveau
  • 90% recensies zijn 5 sterren
  • 8% recensies zijn 4 sterren
  • 1% recensies zijn 3 sterren
  • 0% recensies zijn 2 sterren
  • 1% recensies zijn 1 sterren
Bewerkt 28 maart 2024

Please read this review carefully. I will explain why they deserve 1 star review.

There is no option to attach the images in the review otherwise you could watch yourself how they kept on changing their response and manipulate the situation.

1. When we installed this app we saw 4 different packages, basic advance, professional and the last one customize package. If you see their packages, you see 200 products in their basic package, remember these are not products, these are just product variants. For example if you add a product named as woman swim suit containing 10 different colors and 10 different sizes containing 100 Variants, it means you imported 100 products not 1 product.

2. We did not mind it and we decided to upgrade the plan to 139 USD per month. In this package we were able to import 3000 variants. They told us that it is one time payment if you want to import extra products(variants). That is why we agreed and upgraded our plan.

3. When we imported our desired number of products and wanted to know how to downgrade the plan , they told us that the variants that do not fall under your downgraded plan will not be monitored if you downgrade your plan, which they did not mention before when we wanted to upgrade the plan.

4. We did not mind but the problem was that we were not able to downgrade the plan "wow". Consequently, we had to change the payment method and remove our payment card from this app.

5. The winning products they recommend on their dashboard (LOL), they get commission from these products and consequently present them as winning products XD. They are not winning at all and are outdated products. So, do not fall in their TRAP.

6. The other problem with this app is their customer support response. Other apps that have more reviews and are free to use, they provide 24/7 live support and here we were paying 139 USD and not getting the support we required from them. We had to wait 24 hours in order to get the response. I think they provide email support option just to manipulate their customers. In short, if we paid hefty amount, we deserved live chat support.

7. We want our money back that we paid because of your lies and manipulating the situation with time.

8. Influencers get money through their affiliate links and do not mention cons of Auto DS at all because they are just behind the money they get through affiliate program.

9. The automation of order fulfilment is the only truth I saw in their app, but I did not use this feature much that is why I can't say further about this feature.

10. Overall, I will never recommend you and anyone this app that only cares about money and nothing else.

WeShop365
Verenigde Staten
5 maanden gebruiken de app
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools heeft geantwoord 4 april 2024

Hi "WeShop365"!
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry to hear about your experience. We'd like to address your concerns and assist you further.
Please contact us directly at dorina@autods.com so we can discuss this matter in detail and work towards a resolution together.
Your feedback is valuable, and we're committed to improving our services.
Looking forward to hearing from you.
AutoDS Team

1 mei 2024

Pricy and you don't get your money worth of services. You will almost not get any answers to your questions/concerns/issue. The only available type of customer service is via email and chat. The email will take over 24 hours even though they say you will get an answer within 24 hours. You will not get any help via chat; I actually don't believe those in the chat support even speak English. Worst customer service ever!! I want to stop my service but that also means I will lose all the products and the work I already did on my page. They know that and that's why they keep the terrible customer service.

ModBuy
Verenigde Staten
Ongeveer 2 maanden gebruiken de app
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools heeft geantwoord 3 mei 2024

Hi "ModBuy",
We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with your experience.
As of now, we have already offered a solution and hopefully, we will make it right for you 🙏🏻
We are looking forward to your reply at dorina@autods.com
AutoDS Team

13 juni 2024

Horrible Experience with AutoDS - BEWARE!

I thought the AutoDS app sounded too good to be true, and unfortunately, it was. Here's how they stole my money and ruined my business:

After using the app for just a few days, they blocked my account for no reason right after I received my first order. I reached out to customer service multiple times, and all I got were generic responses that didn’t address my questions. They couldn't tell me why my account was blocked, where my money was, or how to get a refund for the hundreds of dollars they took from my account without my consent.

I invested many hours finding products to list in my store, gathering reviews, and preparing everything for success. When I finally made my first sale, they couldn't even fulfill it because the address was a PO Box. Then, they blocked my account and didn't refund the $789.63 they stole from me.

I usually don't post reviews, especially negative ones, unless something is really bad. But this company has compelled me to warn fellow dropshippers. AutoDS will steal your money. It's just not fair. I am willing to update this review if they refund my $789.63, but until then, consider yourself warned.

Alpha Survival
Verenigde Staten
24 dagen gebruiken de app
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools heeft geantwoord 16 juni 2024

Hi "Alpha Survival",
We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with your experience.
As of now, we have already contacted you and hopefully, we will make it right for you 🙏🏻
AutoDS Team

20 maart 2024

I paid for an entire year. They cut access after a month and ask to pay again. It's really hard to get in touch with anybody. The customer service is non existent. They already took almost USD$600 from me for the year, and now I cannot find anyone to reactivate my account or give me my money back. They are acting like a scammed company , taking people money and not giving them time to use the service they pay for.

If I could give them less than 1 star, I would because that's what they deserve.

This company is a scam. i want my account reactivated or I want my money back. But no one would respond me.

If I could attach screenshots here to show the money I paid I would, yet, they still cut access to my account and it's been over a year.

Shopify should investigate this and remove this company from the app store because they're only in it for themselves to take or better yet, to rob people trying to make a living.

ABFASTER
Verenigde Staten
Ongeveer een maand gebruiken de app
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools heeft geantwoord 22 maart 2024

Hi "ABFASTER",
We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with your experience.
As of now, we have already offered a solution and hopefully, we will make it right for you 🙏🏻
Looking forward to your reply!
AutoDS Team

8 juni 2024

Their service never worked for me. I ordered and input $800 from paypal to my wallet balance. Despite being on chat support for hours and following all their steps, the orders stayed "in progress" for days. I ended having to cancel them and order them manually from various other sellers completely wasting my time and delaying my customers orders. Then the real nightmare began. I went on chat for hours, and opened up 4 separate tickets, was given several auto responses. All I wanted was refunds for my 3 separate paypal transactions. After days, they finally agreed to refund me, then kept 15% stating paypal keeps 15%. They stole my money and kept insisting paypal keeps 15% for refunds. I know this is a flat out lie since I obviously have refunded customers on paypal knowing they get the full refund. Also, they sent me two payments one in full, and one partial amount. When I did three separate paypal payments to them. If paypal really took 15%, I would've received three separate refunds with 15% removed, instead of one payment 100% refunded and one artbitrary amount. DO NOT USE this service. I wish I could give zero stars.

EDGE Mobility System
Verenigde Staten
5 dagen gebruiken de app
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools heeft geantwoord 11 juni 2024

Hi "EDGE Mobility System",
We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us.
We sincerely apologize for any confusion or inconvenience you may have encountered. Our aim has always been to provide clarity and transparency regarding our services.
As of now, we have taken immediate steps to address your concern, and we hope that our solution has met your expectations.
We eagerly await your response.
AutoDS Team

28 mei 2024

Well this free trial for 14 days is NOT true, do not try/test this app. Once I have install and tested and after deleted the app I was charged 345.01 USD for NOTHING!
I want my MONEY back. How come you are taking money from my bank account without any premissions?

Frosted House
Bulgarije
10 dagen gebruiken de app
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools heeft geantwoord 31 mei 2024

Hi "Frosted House",
We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us.
We sincerely apologize for any confusion or inconvenience you may have encountered.
As of now, we have taken immediate steps to address your concern, and we hope that our solution has met your expectations.

AutoDS Team

29 februari 2024

The mentorship service is a (paid) joke (and a very bad one). Apparently, the mentors' main objective is to ensure that you don't ask many questions (only one per ticket, and you have to wait for the answer - sometimes two days before asking another). The interface isn't clear and the chat is absent. Very little is included in the subscription (you have to buy credits or options for almost everything). In short, a very expensive application that takes people for fools (in auto pilot). Just one question: why are they rated so highly?

KIT-KIT
Frankrijk
9 maanden gebruiken de app
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools heeft geantwoord 3 maart 2024

Hi "KIT-KIT",
Thank you for your review.
We are very sad to hear about your experience with us.
As of now, we have already offered a solution and hopefully, we will make it right for you 🙏🏻
Waiting for your reply!
AutoDS Team

9 mei 2024

Signed up for a free 14 day trial and they still charged me $40. They said it was because I downgraded my trial plan. I told them no one informed me I would be charged for doing that. Customer service will not budge. I will be reaching out to my credit card company about this.

Edit: the credit card company agreed to credit my account. I highly recommend avoiding using AutoDS based on this negative experience. I signed up for a 14day trial, they auto opted me in a more expensive plan (meaning once the trial ends, I will have to pay this), and when I downgraded the plan, they charged me $40 without my knowledge. They refused to listen to reason or my followups. Not only that, looking at their service, they nickle and dime their customers for every little thing. I've explored other options and think there are better dropshipping apps out there that are more consumer friendly and are easier to use.

NPC Society
Verenigde Staten
2 dagen gebruiken de app
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools heeft geantwoord 13 mei 2024

Hi "NPC Society",
We’re sorry to hear that you weren’t satisfied with your experience.
As of now, we have already offered a solution and hopefully, we will make it right for you 🙏🏻
Please also contact us at dorina@autods.com
We will be glad to help you with any concerns you have!
AutoDS Team

27 mei 2024

They charged my card without authorization then they put you through this nightmareish reverse funnel to try to get my money back. They are quite arrogant as well. Then they kept $30 out of the 250 they originally took out of my account.

Urban Fusion
Verenigde Staten
16 dagen gebruiken de app
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools heeft geantwoord 29 mei 2024

Hi "Urban Fusion",
We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us.
We sincerely apologize for any confusion or inconvenience you may have encountered. Our aim has always been to provide clarity and transparency regarding our services.
As of now, we have taken immediate steps to address your concern, and we hope that our solution has met your expectations.
We eagerly await your response.
AutoDS Team

4 mei 2024

Very bad service, and I swear that Ali Express is better than them. They imported the wrong product for me and I told them, but they did not solve the matter. They also shipped a bad product to my customers and automatically withdrew my money, and I have emails that prove this. They are really scammers and bad.

TITAN MASK
Verenigde Arabische Emiraten
10 dagen gebruiken de app
AutoDS Dropshipping Tools heeft geantwoord 7 mei 2024

Hi "TITAN MASK"!
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.
We are sorry to hear about your experience.
We'd like to address your concerns and assist you further.
Please contact us directly at dorina@autods.com so we can discuss this matter in detail and work towards a resolution together.
Looking forward to hearing from you.
AutoDS Team