Arvostelut (6 329)

Kokonaisarvio
4,9
Lukumäärä luokitustasoa kohden
  • 90 % arvioista on 5 tähteä
  • 7 % arvioista on 4 tähteä
  • 1 % arvioista on 3 tähteä
  • 0 % arvioista on 2 tähteä
  • 1 % arvioista on 1 tähteä
10. joulukuu 2021

1. A lot of discounts/offers were auto enabled upon installation. That is crazy. If I did not go through each section, I would be giving away free shipping, $10 discounts etc without even knowing about them. 2. No way to make my own popups.. or allow the customer to stop seeing the popups after 1 time. e.g. there is no need for a customer to see a "Welcome to our Store" popup EVERY TIME she visits.

Rich Gone Broke
Etelä-Korea
37 minuuttia sovelluksen käyttöä
AfterShip & Automizely vastasi 10. joulukuu 2021

Thanks for sharing your valuable feedback. 

We are disappointed to know that you did not have the best experience using our app.

The features related to discounts and free shipping are auto enabled to grab the attention of shoppers and boost sales. However, these features can easily be disabled and customised, as per the user’s discretion.

As for your suggestion related to the Popup, I have noted your suggestions and have forwarded it to our product team. It is always nice to know the requirements of our users so that we can meet their expectations and provide an engaging experience.

We are continuously aiming to improve the application and work upon the suggestions given to us. Your feedback has been registered and in the future, you will be glad to see more enhanced features to make your experience better.

I apologise for the inconvenience caused to you and appreciate your understanding in regard to this matter.

Regards,
Neelima Aggarwal
Team Automizely

14. syyskuu 2020

In it’s description, this app completely left out important details regarding advertised functions (i.e. The mass e-mail option isn’t currently available for any mainstream/free e-mail domains like gmail, yahoo, etc). It requires you to create an entirely new e-mail from a different domain, which means that it will not link to the e-mail created for your site if it falls in the category of any of the above. I found this out only after having failed attempts to link the sender e-mail, and speaking with customer service.

The Alluring Gems Collection
Yhdysvallat
35 minuuttia sovelluksen käyttöä
AfterShip & Automizely vastasi 15. syyskuu 2020

Hi there,

The idea behind not letting free email domains to be used is to improve deliverability and reduce spam rates of your marketing emails.

However, I understand how important it is for a business to try emails first with a free domain before investing in buying a paid domain. I had a discussion with the product team internally and we are planning to launch support for free domains within 2 weeks.

I hope this can help improve your experience with our app. I am also dropping you a personal note via email. Stay tuned!

Best,
Shahbaz

28. kesäkuu 2023

THE WORST NIGHTMARE EVER!!! I THOUGH THERE IS A WORSE APP MORE THAN SMSPUMB UNTIL I USED THIS APP, ALL THESE GUYS ARE SCAMMERS

Natura Siberica Jordan
Jordania
23 minuuttia sovelluksen käyttöä
AfterShip & Automizely vastasi 28. kesäkuu 2023

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

Please accept my sincere apology for the experience you had. However, this is not the experience we want to provide to our users.

You are our valued user and we always aim to deliver a great experience. We are very disappointed to know that our service did not meet your expectations. We will try to investigate the reason for the concern that you have raised and ensure that all your issues get resolved and that you are delighted with our services.

We regret the inconvenience caused to you.

Regards,
Team AfterShip

8. huhtikuu 2023

Absolutely Horrible App I signed on for $11 monthly but it is so hard to set it up kept asking me to subscribe to $179 a month package. Keep your money don't sign on

Replacement Water Filters
Kanada
17 minuuttia sovelluksen käyttöä
AfterShip & Automizely vastasi 11. huhtikuu 2023

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

Please accept my sincere apology for the experience you had. This is not the experience we want to provide to our users.

You are our valued user, and we always aim to deliver a great experience. We are very disappointed to know that it is keep asking you to subscribe to $179 plan.

We will try to investigate the reason for the concern that you have raised and ensure that all your issues get resolved and that you are delighted with our services.

Also, one of our Automizely experts has sent an email to you so that we can connect over the screen share meeting to fix it in one go.

Regards,
Team Automizely

10. elokuu 2020

dont work very bad............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

COCONUT BABY ACCESSORIES
Ecuador
14 minuuttia sovelluksen käyttöä
AfterShip & Automizely vastasi 10. elokuu 2020

Hello,
First off, thanks for sharing your feedback. I’m really sorry that Automizely didn’t meet your expectations. Clearly, we fell short, and I apologize.

The last thing we want to do is let our customers down, and moving forward, we’re going to do everything in our power to hold ourselves to that standard. But, for us to serve you to the best of our capacity, we would like to have a little more insight into what happened or what went wrong on our end that we need to work on to make this experience delightful for you.

We’ll see to it that you get what you need this time.

Again, we’re sorry we dropped the ball this time, but we hope you’ll consider giving us another chance.

Have a great day!

1. joulukuu 2019

Tried to trap me into starting something for free I'm not impressed.......... tut tut tut tut tut tut tut....

PUBG CLAW Controllers Triggers 🎮
Yhdistynyt kuningaskunta
8 minuuttia sovelluksen käyttöä