DSers‑AliExpress Dropshipping , 22,715件のレビュー

総合評価
5
評価レベルごとの件数
  • 評価の98%は5つ星です
  • 評価の1%は4つ星です
  • 評価の0%は3つ星です
  • 評価の0%は2つ星です
  • 評価の1%は1つ星です
2023年12月27日

Terrible app. i've asked several times about who keeps changing these prices? you all said aliexpress. Well that's not true. It's DSer. Everyday it's atleast 99 products everyday you all are changing in your app. I get on here every day & compare your notifications to inventory or out of stock to aliexpress everyday. I took screenshots of products same price & not out of stock. It's DSer . Dser your inventory or stores take up til 24-30 days shipping. i have stores w/14 days on aliexpress shipping. also another store 5-7 days . I've been purchasing from them & clients. I don't like your store pinned to my shopify.. it's a problem. i have to go out of my way to send for help. i've changed the settings & still getting notifications of items out of stock & u all want us to pay for your mistakes.

HODOH CLOTHING UNLIMITED
アメリカ合衆国
アプリの使用期間:1年以上
DSersが返信しました 2024年1月3日

Hi there
Thank you so much for taking time to write this feedback to us.

Would you mind reaching out to us with more details about the situation? Any more light you could share on what happened and would help us to find the right solution moving forward.
It seems you may have misunderstood the way that our notification system work, along with why the prices may sometimes be different and we'd be happy ot share more lights on those points,

Here is the email address & official messenger link
support@dserspro.com
https://www.messenger.com/t/DSersOfficial

DSers team

2023年11月27日

Dsers USED to be 5 stars. Theyve done some updates to the program and its screwed up other things. Today my seach bar suddenly doesn't work and then they tell me its now case sensitive (it wasnt yesterday). Lots of issues with product mapping getting out of sync for no reason at all. Also I paid for the auto stock update and even that is not even working properly. There are more issues that I dont have the time or patience to write about. I should be focused on my business not wasting time trying to figure out why something isnt working right on DSERS. What crap! dsers is pushing me to want to switch.

Pro Tackle World
カナダ
アプリの使用期間:約1年
DSersが返信しました 2023年11月29日

Hi there,

Thank you for your review, all feedback is important to us and we’re sorry to hear you’ve had such a bad experience.

We understand your feelings and the issue for the seach bar has been fixed already.
Please know that our update was a necessary step to improve things 10 fold for the future. We'll work hard to make sure we meet all merchants' high standards
Please contact our customer services team a by below methods

Here is the email address & official messenger link of DSers customer service
support@dserspro.com
https://www.messenger.com/t/DSersOfficial

DSers Team

2024年1月16日

The app is not working their servers are not functioning properly randomly. Now i get mapping error and i have 500 orders waiting to fulfilll and i cannot fulfill them cause their app is broken once again!!!!!!!!

wickedafstore
キプロス
アプリの使用期間:1年以上
DSersが返信しました 2024年1月18日

Hi there,

Thank you for your review, all feedback is important to us and we’re sorry to hear you’ve had such a frustrating experience.

As you can hopefully see from our other reviews, your situation is the exception and far from our usual high standards. This makes us all the more keen to make sure this gets resolved and doesn’t happen again.

Please drop our customer services team a message via on any below methods

Here is the email address & official messenger link of DSers customer service
support@dserspro.com
https://www.messenger.com/t/DSersOfficial

DSers Team

編集日:2024年2月1日

new update: we found out, we can log into old device with old password, even after changing password on another device. This is a serious flaw in their security system
I have been with Dsers for a year, before the Sept and after the major update. It seems pretty and nice, but for operation, it is terrible.
Using Oberlo, ordering took 1 hour, after using Dser, it jump from 2.30hours to 6 hours. You might ask why? Every day, we had to remap variants for orders about 40%. Then we have to check it is same product, size etc as per the Shopify order as they have make mistakes in the past.
Customer services may be good as we pay for it but it is useless and the IT team is useless and come back with the wrong answer.
Option 2 chrome extension failed and it is day 3 and we are losing discount, coupons, they advise was to process the orders manually.
As merchant is changing the tracking number, they combined the parcels, but the auto update of tracking by Dser does not work, we have to update manually. It says 90mins but it takes 120 mins and after the updates it takes 4-5 hours.
We always find issues, I wish they focus on ordering app, then trying to be another Shopify and financial app, as many of the functions looks nice but only work 60% making it useless.

Kawaiies
イギリス
アプリの使用期間:1年以上
DSersが返信しました 2023年11月12日

Hi there,

Thank you for your review, all feedback is important to us and we’re sorry to hear you’ve had such a frustrating experience.

As you can hopefully see from our other reviews, your situation is the exception and far from our usual high standards. This makes us all the more keen to make sure this gets resolved and doesn’t happen again.

Please drop our customer services team a message via on any below methods

Here is the email address & official messenger link of DSers customer service
support@dserspro.com
https://www.messenger.com/t/DSersOfficial

DSers Team

2023年12月18日

I'm frustrated with this SCAM!
They say that their FREE plan is free FOREVER with limited features, but that is NOT TRUE!
After some 2 weeks of using Dsers and importing products to my Shopify Store they started to make a popup window every time when I opened my Dsers account which said that my link to my Shopify store will expire soon (not saying when exactly). Total random, cause it is not true and there is no reason for that. So they give You options to Delete Your store from Dsers and lose all the work You have put inside Your stores products or to Relink store - which means You have to buy advanced subscription and have to start paying them monthly. Previously for some 2 weeks they were just disturbing me with this message but now they dont give even a chance to close this window, now I have to pay them or lose all my products. Such a waste of time with Dsers! They wont push me to start paid subscription earlier than I need to! So today Im looking for other options like Oberlo, AutoDS, Zendrop etc. So free forever means free for approximately month. Wrote to support, but as I understood from other reviews already - Dsers support is only waste of time.
Hate those Dsers scammers! Now I'm searching for other platforms.

Hands-On Toys
ラトビア
アプリの使用期間:28日
DSersが返信しました 2023年12月19日

Hi there
Thank you so much for taking time to write this feedback to us.

Would you mind reaching out to us with more details about the situation? Any more light you could share on what happened and would help us to find the right solution moving forward.
The free plan will stay free forever, we currently have thousands of merchants on the free plan for months now. I'm sorry if you have misunderstood something.

Here is the email address & official messenger link
support@dserspro.com
https://www.messenger.com/t/DSersOfficial

DSers team

2024年1月6日

At first glance, a good application, but the main problem is that for my Shopify store they do not display delivery dates for customers on the checkout! I wrote about this problem to all support, but no one could do anything, it’s a shame, but I think this is a serious reason to stop working with Dsers

FemmeFitHub
アメリカ合衆国
アプリの使用期間:約1ヶ月
DSersが返信しました 2024年1月15日

Hi there,

Thank you for your review, all feedback is important to us and we’re sorry to hear you’ve had such a bad experience.

Please share more details of your issues with our customer service team, we do want to help you out there
Please contact our customer services team a by below methods
Here is the email address & official messenger link of DSers customer service
support@dserspro.com
https://www.messenger.com/t/DSersOfficial

DSers Team

2023年12月9日

Terrible app. It doesn't calculates the price correctly, it has a lot of bugs getting and calculating shipping price, and they limit you by subscription on most important features like updating store prices. It looks like they don't want you to sell, simple the worst dropshipping app ever.

Inventor Digital
ブラジル
アプリの使用期間:約2ヶ月
2023年11月1日

After having an issue with the length of the SKU's being too long and making it impossible to add product to TikTok I had no other choice but to change platforms. I have over 400 product with multiple variations which I needed to import into the new platform.

I pleaded with DSers to send me a CSV file to make the process an hour rather than weeks, to which I was told they are unable to do so. Which is not true. I think it's terrible customer service to treat people this way just because they have to leave due to the platform not being able to support popular apps such as TikTok.

Silly Sausage Gifts
イギリス
アプリの使用期間:3ヶ月
DSersが返信しました 2023年11月2日

Hi there
Thank you for taking time to write this feedback to us.

As our customer service mentionned to you, we do not provide this feature.
We understand your frustration, and we will try to keep working in the future to include more and more new features.

Here is the email address & official messenger link if you have some ideas.
support@dserspro.com
https://www.messenger.com/t/DSersOfficial

DSers team

2023年11月5日

They promised to refund but didn't keep the promise. Their customer service was frustrating, as I had to engage with multiple agents regarding the same issue. Each time, I had to reiterate and explain my query repeatedly. It was a disappointing experience.

The Anime Supply
アメリカ合衆国
アプリの使用期間:1年以上
DSersが返信しました 2023年11月7日

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.
We have checked our database, and your ticket is still in progress, it is number #24088.
We have marked it as urgent, and your refund is underway. It may take some time for refund to be processed, but rest assured, we will try our best to ensure you get your refund as soon as possible.

Please drop our customer services team a message via on any below methods for an update on your ticket.

Here is the email address & official messenger link of DSers customer service
support@dserspro.com
https://www.messenger.com/t/DSersOfficial

DSers Team

2023年12月31日

Very disappointed with the service and the product, is not transparency at all , They make it, almost imposssible to cancel service!!!

Benny Shop
アメリカ合衆国
アプリの使用期間:4ヶ月
DSersが返信しました 2024年1月3日

Hi there,

Thank you for your review, all feedback is important to us and we’re sorry to hear you’ve had such a bad experience.

Please share more details of your issues with our customer service team, we do want to help you out there
Please contact our customer services team a by below methods
Here is the email address & official messenger link of DSers customer service
support@dserspro.com
https://www.messenger.com/t/DSersOfficial

DSers Team