DSers‑AliExpress Dropshipping , 24,367件のレビュー

総合評価
5
評価レベルごとの件数
  • 評価の98%は5つ星です
  • 評価の1%は4つ星です
  • 評価の0%は3つ星です
  • 評価の0%は2つ星です
  • 評価の1%は1つ星です
編集日:2024年3月7日

I am profoundly disappointed by the lack of professionalism exhibited by this app and site. Despite my earnest desire for a successful outcome, I find myself encountering serious issues without adequate customer support. Regrettably, I am compelled to express my dissatisfaction, as honesty necessitates it.

This app and site rank among the most disorganized and dysfunctional platforms I've ever encountered. None of the products I added to my store materialized, and the absence of reliable customer service exacerbates the frustration. The instructional videos are of poor quality, leading to further confusion. Navigating the platform feels like a chaotic maze, with constant redirects to AliExpress pages and a glaring lack of organization. Additionally, the exorbitant shipping charges on most items only add to the distress.

In its current state, the app and site are far from user-friendly, making the entire experience overwhelmingly burdensome. Moreover, the authenticity of most reviews appears questionable. While reluctant to leave a negative review, I feel obligated to convey the truth about my disappointing experience.

I AM UPDATING THIS REVIEW TO ASK YOU TO STOP CONTACTING ME WITH BOTS AND EMAILS THAT ARE USELESS! I WANT NOTHING TO DO WITH YOUR APP!

7 Realms Bliss
アメリカ合衆国
アプリの使用期間:25日
DSersが返信しました 2024年3月5日

Hi there
Thank you so much for taking time to write this feedback to us.

Would you mind reaching out to us with more details about the situation?
Our team tried to contact you via email.
Any more light you could share on what happened and would help us to find the right solution moving forward.

Here is the email address & official messenger link
support@dserspro.com
https://www.messenger.com/t/DSersOfficial

DSers team

編集日:2024年3月2日

After using this app for 2 months I am now looking at moving over to another app. I was told that by upgrading the advance plan my stock will match between dsers, shopify, but no it does not match, if you edit your product/variants when pushing your product to shopify you will lose mapping, therefore you will not have the product sync in dsers and shopify, having issues with stock sold out on website but showing available on dsers.Upgrading to advance plan has not helped at all. stock holding not accurate at all. Customer service couldn't help either.

Selena was very helpful and guided me through issue resolution with clear and concise explanations, making the whole process very easy.

Giftology London
イギリス
アプリの使用期間:3ヶ月
DSersが返信しました 2024年1月16日

Hi,

Thank you for your updated review, we appreciate all feedback.
You can actually restore all the mapping of your updated products in one click on the "mapping page" after you edit a product variant on Shopify, so you don't have any manual labor to do.

Please also note that sometimes, due to AliExpress updates, there may be some temporary display errors, but it would not affect your product information,

Please drop our customer services team a message via on any below methods if you have any more questions

Here is the email address & official messenger link of DSers customer service
support@dserspro.com
https://www.messenger.com/t/DSersOfficial

DSers Team

2024年1月16日

The app is not working their servers are not functioning properly randomly. Now i get mapping error and i have 500 orders waiting to fulfilll and i cannot fulfill them cause their app is broken once again!!!!!!!!

wickedafstore
キプロス
アプリの使用期間:1年以上
DSersが返信しました 2024年1月18日

Hi there,

Thank you for your review, all feedback is important to us and we’re sorry to hear you’ve had such a frustrating experience.

As you can hopefully see from our other reviews, your situation is the exception and far from our usual high standards. This makes us all the more keen to make sure this gets resolved and doesn’t happen again.

Please drop our customer services team a message via on any below methods

Here is the email address & official messenger link of DSers customer service
support@dserspro.com
https://www.messenger.com/t/DSersOfficial

DSers Team

2023年12月27日

Terrible app. i've asked several times about who keeps changing these prices? you all said aliexpress. Well that's not true. It's DSer. Everyday it's atleast 99 products everyday you all are changing in your app. I get on here every day & compare your notifications to inventory or out of stock to aliexpress everyday. I took screenshots of products same price & not out of stock. It's DSer . Dser your inventory or stores take up til 24-30 days shipping. i have stores w/14 days on aliexpress shipping. also another store 5-7 days . I've been purchasing from them & clients. I don't like your store pinned to my shopify.. it's a problem. i have to go out of my way to send for help. i've changed the settings & still getting notifications of items out of stock & u all want us to pay for your mistakes.

HODOH CLOTHING UNLIMITED
アメリカ合衆国
アプリの使用期間:1年以上
DSersが返信しました 2024年1月3日

Hi there
Thank you so much for taking time to write this feedback to us.

Would you mind reaching out to us with more details about the situation? Any more light you could share on what happened and would help us to find the right solution moving forward.
It seems you may have misunderstood the way that our notification system work, along with why the prices may sometimes be different and we'd be happy ot share more lights on those points,

Here is the email address & official messenger link
support@dserspro.com
https://www.messenger.com/t/DSersOfficial

DSers team

2024年3月30日

As an enthusiastic e-commerce entrepreneur, I was initially drawn to the promise of simplification and efficiency that DSers-AliExpress boasted for my dropshipping business. However, my journey has been anything but beneficial, turning into a collection of challenges and disappointments that I need to share.

Deceptive Practices with Reviews: My first red flag was noticing that many positive reviews about DSers seem to be self-produced. This manipulation of their service perception is not only misleading but undermines trust right from the start. Consumers rely on honest and transparent reviews to make informed decisions, and this questionable practice has muddied the reliability of the information available.

Scaling Price Issues: Beyond questionable reviews, my primary concern has been DSers' pricing policy. As my sales increased, so did the fees, unjustifiably and without notice, eroding my profits and jeopardizing my business's sustainability.

Inadequate Order Management and Tracking Updates: The promised efficiency in order management turned out to be a fallacy, with erratic and often absent tracking updates, leaving me and my customers in a constant state of uncertainty.

Disconnected Customer Service: Interactions with customer service have been equally disheartening, characterized by late and unhelpful responses that offered no real solutions to encountered issues.

Inconsistent Product Quality and Descriptions: The discrepancy between product descriptions and the items actually received has damaged my store's reputation, increasing complaints and returns that I've had to handle directly.

Conclusion: My experience with DSers-AliExpress has been deeply negative, marred by deceptive practices, an opaque pricing policy, deficiencies in order management, and inadequate customer service. To those considering using this service to scale their dropshipping business, I would recommend proceeding with extreme caution or seeking more transparent and reliable alternatives. Integrity and transparency are crucial in e-commerce, and sadly, my trust in DSers has completely evaporated.

Advice to DSers and AliExpress: Adopting a stance of total transparency, especially regarding reviews and pricing policy, is imperative. Without significant improvement in these areas, it will be challenging for the e-commerce community to view their services as a viable option.

Buyfilterstore
アメリカ合衆国
アプリの使用期間:3日
DSersが返信しました 2024年3月31日

Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Please let me get back to you concerning each point you mentionned.

First off, please note that each review is coming from our users. Shopify policy is very strict and automatically or self-generated reviews are banned. We pride ourself of the feedback we receive.

Concerning the pricing issue you mentionned, we have a forever free plan, that offers all the features you need to get started. Of course, there are also some paid plans, and those have limitations as well, but our pricing is transparent, and even lower than some other apps.
As your business grow, you may have new needs, and that's when some paid plans might be useful, but there's no forcing you to upgrade.
I'm not sure what issue you are referring to, so please feel free to give more details

About our customer service, we'll investigate the conversations you may have had and will try to improve accordingly.

For the product quality and description, please note that those are entirely AliExpress dependant. If you had bad experience, I suggest to improve your product research and select other suppliers, or potentially use another supplier platform, like Tmall, or work directly with agents.

You select the products and the suppliers, we are only here to help you process your orders and help you increase efficiency. If there are any order disputes related to the products or orders, we recommend that you contact AliExpress and open a dispute. You should also leave a bad rating on the concerned supplier page.

Please feel free to reach out to us and give us any more additional details you may have, and we'll be glad to chat to see what we can improve in the future.

Here is the email address & official messenger link
support@dserspro.com
https://www.messenger.com/t/DSersOfficial

DSers team

2024年3月23日

Hi Please remove the billing from this App, I've uninstalled it. Doesn't work properly for me thank you. Have uninstalled the app some time ago, but the payments are continuing. thank you

Aspire
オランダ
アプリの使用期間:22日
DSersが返信しました 2024年3月25日

Hello!

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

It seems you have indeed successfully uninstalled the app on March 20, please note that due to Shopify billing system, it's possible to receive some due payment up to a month after uninstallation.

We'll be happy to check your exact situation and refund you any money if there's an issue.

Please feel free to contact our customer service team if you have any questions,

Here is the email address & official messenger link
support@dserspro.com
https://www.messenger.com/t/DSersOfficial

DSers team

Please not that the

2024年1月6日

At first glance, a good application, but the main problem is that for my Shopify store they do not display delivery dates for customers on the checkout! I wrote about this problem to all support, but no one could do anything, it’s a shame, but I think this is a serious reason to stop working with Dsers

FemmeFitHub
アメリカ合衆国
アプリの使用期間:2ヶ月
DSersが返信しました 2024年1月15日

Hi there,

Thank you for your review, all feedback is important to us and we’re sorry to hear you’ve had such a bad experience.

Please share more details of your issues with our customer service team, we do want to help you out there
Please contact our customer services team a by below methods
Here is the email address & official messenger link of DSers customer service
support@dserspro.com
https://www.messenger.com/t/DSersOfficial

DSers Team

2023年12月18日

I'm frustrated with this SCAM!
They say that their FREE plan is free FOREVER with limited features, but that is NOT TRUE!
After some 2 weeks of using Dsers and importing products to my Shopify Store they started to make a popup window every time when I opened my Dsers account which said that my link to my Shopify store will expire soon (not saying when exactly). Total random, cause it is not true and there is no reason for that. So they give You options to Delete Your store from Dsers and lose all the work You have put inside Your stores products or to Relink store - which means You have to buy advanced subscription and have to start paying them monthly. Previously for some 2 weeks they were just disturbing me with this message but now they dont give even a chance to close this window, now I have to pay them or lose all my products. Such a waste of time with Dsers! They wont push me to start paid subscription earlier than I need to! So today Im looking for other options like Oberlo, AutoDS, Zendrop etc. So free forever means free for approximately month. Wrote to support, but as I understood from other reviews already - Dsers support is only waste of time.
Hate those Dsers scammers! Now I'm searching for other platforms.

Hands-On Toys
ラトビア
アプリの使用期間:28日
DSersが返信しました 2023年12月19日

Hi there
Thank you so much for taking time to write this feedback to us.

Would you mind reaching out to us with more details about the situation? Any more light you could share on what happened and would help us to find the right solution moving forward.
The free plan will stay free forever, we currently have thousands of merchants on the free plan for months now. I'm sorry if you have misunderstood something.

Here is the email address & official messenger link
support@dserspro.com
https://www.messenger.com/t/DSersOfficial

DSers team

編集日:2024年3月7日

Updated Review March 2024: I had previously given 5 stars. At the beginning it worked well. If you are a store owner and you want to waste tonnes of time mapping and remapping products then DSERS is for you. I am actually paying their rediculous monthly fee to update my store inventory and keep it accurate for what? Aliexpress items have thousands of pcs yet DSERS puts my store stock at zero. What does that equal? Lost sales. I had high hopes for DSERS but honestly they need to really look at the way they manage their product mapping. I'd have paid a monthly fee to have a DSERS person keep track and fix my mapping issues. That to me is WAY MORE value added then their rediculous stock updates (that occur only once a day and also have qty limitations). I'm slowly moving all my products away from DSERS as I find it totally unreliable and definitely not worth the money. From their support people, I get a lot of the were so sorry for the issue we'll forward to our technical team - and then nothing happens. Such a waste! Save your money and time and spend it both elsewhere not on DSERS!

Pro Tackle World
カナダ
アプリの使用期間:1年以上
DSersが返信しました 2023年11月29日

Hi there,

Thank you for your review, all feedback is important to us and we’re sorry to hear you’ve had such a bad experience.

We understand your feelings and the issue for the seach bar has been fixed already.
Please know that our update was a necessary step to improve things 10 fold for the future. We'll work hard to make sure we meet all merchants' high standards
Please contact our customer services team a by below methods

Here is the email address & official messenger link of DSers customer service
support@dserspro.com
https://www.messenger.com/t/DSersOfficial

DSers Team

2024年3月26日

On désinstalle et il continue à prélever, taxer, taxer, etc.......

shoppingfind-all
フランス
アプリの使用期間:約2ヶ月
DSersが返信しました 2024年3月27日

Hello!

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

It seems you have indeed successfully uninstalled the app, please note that due to Shopify billing system, it's possible to receive some due payment up to a month after uninstallation.

We'll be happy to check your exact situation and refund you any money if there's an issue.

Please feel free to contact our customer service team if you have any questions,

Here is the email address & official messenger link
support@dserspro.com
https://www.messenger.com/t/DSersOfficial

DSers team