レビュー (484)

総合評価
4.9
評価レベルごとの件数
  • 評価の94%は5つ星です
  • 評価の3%は4つ星です
  • 評価の1%は3つ星です
  • 評価の1%は2つ星です
  • 評価の1%は1つ星です
2024年6月11日

Awful.
Ruined our sales completely and i don’t know even why.

Took us from 100 sales a day to 5

Still waiting for customer support

Extended alpha
イスラエル
アプリの使用期間:約21時間
2023年9月11日

This app has caused us many many issues. Their glitches often result in not adding a gift or not removing the gift when customers remove products. Caused us having to manually edit lots of orders, wasted lots of our support team time, and the worst part is when we reached out to them, their support is cold and not caring at all, never tried to help resolve their own issues, only blamed us by saying that it's our own theme code that doesn't work and caused conflicts with this app. After changing to another app, all those problems were solved, then we realised that it's this app that doesn't work.

No Face Skincare
オーストラリア
アプリの使用期間:1年以上
506が返信しました 2023年9月21日

Hi there,

Nathan here the product manager for EG. I have tried reaching out to someone in your team who raised a customer support request a while back but I haven’t heard back from them.

I am disappointed to read about your experience with the app. I have checked through our support records and understand why you feel this way. We have made major improvements to our support flow and added more resources to our support and development teams as we realised it needed improvement. We’d be more than happy to assist in looking into the issue you have faced and look into a possible solution for this hiccup with EG if you’d like to use the app again. We’d love to turn this around and make EG work well for you.

Let me know what you think.

Best regards,
Nathan

2023年12月6日

WHy do i still get charged even after uninstalling this. I want a refund

BodySonicUS
アメリカ合衆国
アプリの使用期間:約2ヶ月
506が返信しました 2023年12月13日

Hi BodySonicUS team,

Nathan, the product manager of EG here. I have tried calling you multiple times and sent a few emails but have been unable to reach you to resolve this matter. The subscription charges are handled by Shopify - and the app's subscription fee is taken at the same time as your monthly Shopify plan payment. The records show you uninstalled it during the second month of use which correctly led to the second payment being charged for. This review shows the amount of time you used the app - you were installed for 2 months and were charged correctly for the duration of your usage.

No more payments will be taken as the subscription ended when you uninstalled.

I am happy to discuss this with you, feel free to reach out to us here: support@506.io

Kind regards,
Nathan

2020年6月6日

I wish I could give negative stars because of how many sales they've cost me, especially during my Father's day promotion. At first, the app worked wonderfully and I truly believe helped increase my conversion rate. Then, it began to glitch, remove items that were added to cart, clear the cart completely, and reload pages incorrectly. It seems like a small mistake, but our sales were from 5-15/day to 0, for an entire week. I reached out to support, and heard nothing. I uninstalled the app, and I still had the issue, reinstalled and tried to delete my promo from everywhere I could find, and still had the issue.

They guarantee their support will get back to you within 24hours. But after 3 days and 15 different emails to every support email I can find, still no response or help.

Rabbit Hole Distillery
アメリカ合衆国
アプリの使用期間:8日
2020年12月5日

I used this app specifically so that it would add a product and a discount to the cart for a send X get Y Free promotion. The app's description said that it would do this and had the features to do this, but never worked. When I contacted Customer support, I found them to be rude and unhelpful sighting that they already talked to our sister company. I deleted the app after 2 days and would never recommend this app.

DAFTBOY LTD
イギリス
アプリの使用期間:1日
506が返信しました 2020年12月5日

Hi there, we're really sorry you haven't been able to get the app working on your store. We'd love to fix it for you and help get your promotion running - we've sent a follow-up over email so we can try to figure out what's causing the problem.

2022年6月15日

You need to create discounts in Shopify. The application applies them automatically. It is not comfortable. For example, the buyer has a promo code for a 10% discount and he will not be able to receive a gift

Dentiphoto Shop
エストニア
アプリの使用期間:1日
506が返信しました 2022年6月16日

Update: 14 August 2023:
Hello,
I noticed you have reinstalled EasyGift and have used it well, I've tried contacting you to find out how you're finding the app now we've made considerable improvements to the app since you last installed it and had a bad experience. I'd greatly appreciate any feedback you have about the app now and why you've decided to use EG again. Feel free to email me: nathan@fiftypoint6.com

Kind regards,

Nathan
Product Manager of EasyGift

16 June 2022 reply:
Hey there,

I apologise that you have faced this issue with EasyGift - we have made an effort to highlight that a method of discounting needs to be used to make the item free.

I have emailed you about your grievance and have suggested a solution for you and hope this can make it right. Please get in touch with: services@fiftypoint6.com if you have not received this email and I can explain the solution we have.

Kind regards,

Nathan
Product Manager of EasyGift

2020年5月27日

App instalation a lot of skripts and add snippets and everything. It was trouble shooting me a hole day. Nothing was working correct after setting this app. I delete it but there were no possibility to deinstatalation the app. I am so f---cked up with this shit.....DO NOT INSTALL

GALAXY of HOME
ドイツ
アプリの使用期間:約3時間
506が返信しました 2020年5月27日

So sorry you had difficulties. Rest assured if you deleted the app, everything was uninstalled. Please reach out to support@cashflowtechnologies.xyz if you have any questions or follow ups.