Valutazione complessiva
4,8
Numero di recensioni per livello
  • Il 96% delle recensioni ha 5 stelle
  • Il 1% delle recensioni ha 4 stelle
  • Il 0% delle recensioni ha 3 stelle
  • Il 0% delle recensioni ha 2 stelle
  • Il 2% delle recensioni ha 1 stelle
17 maggio 2024

I had a terrible experience with this app. The team behind it was highly unprofessional and completely messed up my GMC account. They set the age group incorrectly, which didn't align with our target audience. Additionally, they didn't properly set the sale price and failed to include shipping information as per our website. As result, Google disapproved 195 of our products, and we were charged by Google ads despite not making any sales for nearly 5 days. this app has been a nightmare for our business

Micky Mart
Australia
Circa un mese di utilizzo dell’app
15 febbraio 2024

This is the most incompetent support I've ever had to deal with. They lack expertise in Google and follow templates for everything. If your theme or design does not align with the architecture of their application, they won't even inform you about it. They just go through the motions according to their regulations, and you end up spending your money because your attributes transmit incorrect data. If you're reading this review and looking for an application, consider DataFeedWatch. Their support doesn't waste your time, avoids creating tasks with intentional errors, and everything works perfectly.

EVIQO
RAS di Hong Kong
3 giorni di utilizzo dell’app
CedCommerce ha risposto 20 febbraio 2024

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

We can see on the chats that our team assisted you with all the queries you had. Your feed and profiles were also made live. Later on, you had a query for mapping sales price and price which our representative explained to you clearly that it can be done in the Profiles section of the app in the attribute mapping step and all mapping options are present in it.

You were also informed that the item ID for the product can be changed in the configuration section. All options are visible but it seems like you are not ready to understand and rated our chats and app as bad even after acknowledging that you did not require further help as the issue was solved.

Please be informed we assist thousands of merchants daily with clear explanations and work hard to produce fruitful results for them and assist them in all queries. If anything is not clear to you yet then you may reach us anytime.

Data modifica: 20 febbraio 2024

We are extremely disappointed with the lack of results and support provided by cedcommerce. Prior to paying an additional 200 euro for extra marketing services, we were assured that their support would be comprehensive. However, after spending 550 euro on Google advertising with no return on investment, we have decided to discontinue their services.

Despite numerous attempts to communicate with them via email and chat, they have failed to respond. It is puzzling to us how with a budget of 550 euro, we were unable to generate a single sale. The lack of orders coming in is alarming and has left us questioning the efficacy of their advertising strategies.

We are baffled by their 5-star rating and cannot recommend cedcomemrce to others based on our disappointing experience.

DPM69 | De Puta Madre 69 Italian Fashionbrand
Italia
5 mesi di utilizzo dell’app
23 gennaio 2024

waste of time, there are better apps out there, I tried it's not worth it other apps are way better, plus the multicurrency feed option in not available in free plan.

LushLuxe
Regno Unito
20 minuti di utilizzo dell’app
CedCommerce ha risposto 25 gennaio 2024

Hi, thanks for reviewing! The free plan offers multi-currency & country features. We also have in-app chat support for basic help, but you didn't use it. The app has plenty of features for Google listings & feed management. Try to explore them and let us know if you need help! We emailed you but it bounced, please update your email and use a valid email so we can assist you directly. Thanks!

Data modifica: 1 febbraio 2024

Warning !
Warning !!
I have to change my review on this App from 5 star to 1 Star.
One day after they have installed this App on my store ,
they start pushing to write a good review!
I told them that I don't even understand what is the App doing.
Then they showed me something and convinced me about it.
So I gave them the 5 star like they wanted.
BUT now after 4 months of using it I suddenly found out that the App is actually doing a big damage to my shop!
from the day that it was installed it reduced my online sessions in 80% !! This can is very clear to see in the shopify Statistic and reports.
I am still not sure why , but the number are clear: from the day of installing this App and until yesterday (when I deleted this App) my online session went down in 80% ,
and it constantly every day without change.
I am also checking it with shopify and we are following it and checking it farther.
Until now This company did not explained why is it like that.

Warnung !
Warnung !!
Ich muss meine Bewertung dieser App von 5 Sternen auf 1 Stern ändern.
Einen Tag nachdem sie diese App in meinem Shop installiert haben,
Sie drängen darauf, eine gute Rezension zu schreiben!
Ich habe ihnen gesagt, dass ich nicht einmal verstehe, was die App macht.
Dann haben sie mir etwas gezeigt und mich davon überzeugt.
Also habe ich ihnen die 5 Sterne gegeben, wie sie wollten.
ABER jetzt, nach 4 Monaten Nutzung, stellte ich plötzlich fest, dass die App meinem Shop tatsächlich großen Schaden zufügt!
Vom Tag der Installation an reduzierte es meine Online-Sitzungen um 80 %!! Dies ist in den Shopify-Statistiken und -Berichten sehr deutlich zu erkennen.
Ich bin mir immer noch nicht sicher, warum, aber die Zahlen sind klar: Vom Tag der Installation dieser App bis gestern (als ich diese App gelöscht habe) ist meine Online-Sitzung um 80 % zurückgegangen.
und es ständig jeden Tag ohne Veränderung.
Ich überprüfe es auch bei shopify und wir verfolgen es und prüfen es weiter.
Bisher hat dieses Unternehmen nicht erklärt, warum das so ist.

Nijens Shop
Germania
4 mesi di utilizzo dell’app
Data modifica: 21 marzo 2024

YOUR COMPANY IS FOS AND A BUNCH OF THIEVES.
You want poor customer support that you cant understand because they are Indian and dont give 2 craps about you then sign up.
I hope your company goes under.

WASTED MY HARD EARNED MONEY ON TIME ON YOU THIEVES!!!!!!!!!!

BiteMyWood
Stati Uniti
Oltre 2 anni di utilizzo dell’app
21 luglio 2023

Beware of Commerce Google Feed - A Total Scam!

Commerce Google Feed is a total scam! They charge for nothing, while Google Merchant itself is free. I was unknowingly losing money to this fraudulent service for three long years, until a financial investigation brought these charges to light. I strongly advise others to stay away from this untrustworthy app. Furthermore, I'm sure their positive reviews are entirely fake, adding to their dubious nature.

They market themselves as a feed management service that will boost product visibility and sales on Google Merchant. Moreover, the truth of the matter is that gaining access to Google Merchant is entirely free of charge. Any merchant can easily upload their products to Google Merchant Center without the need for a third-party service like Commerce Google Feed. Had I known this crucial piece of information beforehand, I could have avoided being lured into their deceitful trap and saved a substantial amount of money and frustration.

As an online seller, I rely heavily on trustworthy partners to help expand my business and improve my online presence. Unfortunately, Commerce Google Feed took advantage of my trust and exploited my lack of knowledge regarding the accessibility of Google Merchant for free.

Nutrifit +
Stati Uniti
Circa 2 anni di utilizzo dell’app
CedCommerce ha risposto 24 luglio 2023

It is highly disheartening to see that after doing your entire setup, giving support for months, fixing all issues time and again, and helping to make you successful on Google, now you converted your review to negative. Do you even remember you took our ads package and our ads team and analytics team worked on your ads part for so long?? You yourself authorized the charge and now you claim you got scammed? Our team made your ads perform so well month after month, acquired great sales, and you paid nothing for that as well, it was all included in your 300 charge itself. Please be honest while rating the hard work of a company. We are not scammers, we help thousands of merchants daily.

Data modifica: 6 giugno 2023

I use their ad agency service, they force me to use their app, I used to think that this ad service includes app fee, I didn't notice that it was an annual fee, I paid $399 for google ad agency service fee and $199 tiktok ad agency service fee. Google Ads is performing very poorly, ROAS is only 2, tiktok has not had a single order. I think they should refund me $125 for the remaining 11 months of APP fees

Vivid Light Bars
Cina
Circa 2 anni di utilizzo dell’app
Data modifica: 29 novembre 2020

Everything was fine until I purchased the app and started the free trial and now im spending more time wondering whats wrong and fixing issues instead of enjoying the app and what it has to offer...The customer service is horrible, I dont know what I was doing and I used the help service and I dont like the fact of being offered to a friend outside of this app to spend money to upgrade my store...which has nothing to do with this app..once I refuse, all of a sudden my merchant account is messed up and now im trying to ask questions and now customer service isn't responding AT ALL!!...its like they all ignoring my questions and stalling me until I'm speaking back to the same representative I was talking to earlier....I noticed that at a certain time there are different reps, but im trying not to talk to certain rep, so im looking for help at a DIFFERENT TIME so I dont talk to this person, I need this addressed and this is getting out of hand..thanks

Grams Matter
Stati Uniti
Oltre un anno di utilizzo dell’app
CedCommerce ha risposto 12 marzo 2021

Hello,

We are sorry to hear about your bad experience. As we see our team did help you setup the merchant center, but later your account was suspended by Google as it did not complied with their policies and thus mispresentation error came. We would like to tell you that this error can be solved by correcting issues on your site, related to contact us, about us and other policy pages. You can use this link to get information about solving this error:

https://support.google.com/adspolicy/answer/6020955?hl=en

For more help you can reach out to us, and also Google support.

Regards,
Team CedCommerce

25 novembre 2022

paid my money and they did very little, Neteesh promised to respond and resolve this matter and he has totally blanked me , i asked for my money back - no reply - no money I have 3 numbers for cedcommerce on my whatsapp and as soon as i mention Neteesh i am ignored the apps work well but this service has been awful

Watch and Clock Parts Ltd
Regno Unito
Circa un anno di utilizzo dell’app