Built for Shopify

レビュー (488)

  • 評価の89%は5つ星です
  • 評価の2%は4つ星です
  • 評価の1%は3つ星です
  • 評価の2%は2つ星です
  • 評価の6%は1つ星です

Terrible experience with this app. Firstly, the private link cannot be used in Klaviyo, so did not work as intended as for its promotional purpose.

Now the apps installation has made our Shop sales profile become unapproved stating:

Your Online Store is currently using password control or age verification app(s). To meet the requirements to Sell on Shop, please uninstall these apps.

This is a catastrophic issue to be caused by using this app and is a massive regret in doing so.

Lightwardが返信しました 2024年5月8日

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback, and I'm very sorry for the issues you faced when using Locksmith. We understand the frustration that comes about when unexpected things happen.

To start, I'd like to address the Shop App issue, for you and for anyone else who reads this:

Please note that if the Shop App is an important part of the traffic and sales on your store, you may not want to install Locksmith, or any other access control app, because the Shop App will stop functioning.

The Shop App have some requirements for using their app. One of those requirements is that the store may not use any access control apps. This includes Locksmith, and any other apps that conditionally restrict access or "gate" the store. You can read the requirements for the Shop App, currently at this url:

This is something which is out of our hands, since it's not a requirement we set. Because we know this is important, we make this a major heading in our Agreement page. This agreement must be accepted when the app is installed and before it can be used. You can find the text of that here:

Using a Locksmith secret link with mailing lists services like Klaviyo can sometimes result in access being denied, and it's usually a minor formatting issue. It looks like we were able to offer you a fix, but at that point you had noticed that the Shop App was inactive, and needed to remove the app.

Locksmith secret links are often used in mailing lists, but they may need to be double checked for formatting. Mailing list emails can sometimes alter the link in a way that results in access being denied, and double checking that the URL parameters are formatted correctly will get things working. We're happy to troubleshoot those if your tests don't work. :)

Again, I'm sorry for the frustration you experienced. We're here to help if you need us.

All the best,



DONT USE THIS APP!!!!! Be careful if you decide to DELETE it one day. My website was down for 3 days, and I couldn't detect the problem until Shopify detected that when I deleted this APP, was the problem that stopped my entire website!!

Lightwardが返信しました 2023年9月17日

Thanks for letting us know how uninstalling Locksmith went for you! It sounds like Locksmith wasn't fully uninstalled, and was deleted from your apps list before running the removal process to ensure none of Locksmith's code is left in your theme. We disclose that it's critical to disable Locksmith before deleting it off your Shopify apps list in our usage agreement upon installation, which can also be found here:


It looks like you wrote in and one of my teammates took care of helping you remove any leftover Locksmith code from your theme, so you should be good to go. If anything else comes up that we can help with, please be sure to write back in. :)



Was charged for this app even after it’s been uninstalled

Lightwardが返信しました 2023年9月5日

I'm sorry you were charged unexpectedly for Locksmith! No one likes that type of surprise, and we’re always available at team@uselocksmith.com to sort out any billing issues and are happy to answer any questions you may have about your bill.

If you write in, we’re happy to refund you for the days you did not use Locksmith. It looks like Locksmith was most recently installed, then several locks were created and/or updated, and after 15 days, Locksmith was uninstalled. Since this is not the first time Locksmith has been used for this store, you no longer have a free trial and a paid subscription was started on the last installation.

Locksmith follows Shopify’s recurring monthly app subscription model, and we do not have yearly or usage-based subscriptions. You are invoiced every 30 days for your Shopify app subscription, and you pay in advance for the following 30 days. Just in case you're curious about the Shopify app billing cycle, I've linked more about it below from Shopify's website:


So, canceling your active subscription during a billing cycle means that you’ll still see an app charge when that billing cycle ends and you receive that month’s invoice. If anyone ever has an issue with this, where a subscription is canceled near the beginning or middle of a billing cycle and you see a charge for Locksmith, we’re happy to refund or prorate a refund for the days Locksmith was not used. We’re always happy to help out with any issues with billing at team@uselocksmith.com :)



horrible web site the worst in the world. Very difficult.

Ciao Milano Wholesale

Fantastic app but the support is absolutely poor. If you're savvy with Shopify and can manage to work the app out on your own, it will definitely do the trick. As soon as you have an issue, though, you're stuffed.

Stationery R Us
Lightwardが返信しました 2020年6月12日

Support is something we work hard at, and do really well with – keep reading our reviews. "Extremely helpful", "responsive", "the team at Locksmith are beyond helpful, beyond wonderful". We are consistent with what we bring to the table. Every so often, the wires get crossed. In this case, they got massively crossed. Our support, offered in good faith and positive intent, was labeled "disgusting" and "disappointing", and we were interpreted as "disinterested". If someone holds this perspective, I *understand* why they'd feel stuffed. No one wants to feel unheard and un-aided, and I'm sorry that's the impression that was struck. The intent, as always, is to help. ❤️

To the reviewer: I'm sorry this went this way. We work hard to enable, which is why we generally don't reconfigure things *for* our users – instead, we send along screenshots and instructions, illustrating what could happen next. I understand the instructions you received weren't enough. You weren't kind about letting us know that. I'm glad you got it figured out (thanks for letting us know that you did); if you need help in the future, we'll be here.


Avoid this app at all costs. We set it up and unfortunately it did not meet our needs. We disabled the app per their instructions and then deleted it. On our busiest shopping day of the year their app was still holding our collections hostage and I had to pay for a subscription to go in and shut it down. Beyond disappointed.

Lightwardが返信しました 2021年12月8日


I'm very sorry for the hassle you experienced here. I'm not 100% sure how things transpired, but according to our records this store didn't have an active subscription at the time, and the trial period ran out more than 10 days before. Locksmith would have been suspended at that point, and so your keys wouldn't work to open any locks.

Locksmith does have an uninstall process to remove its code from your theme, and that can be initiated by disabling the app on the settings page, or by clicking the Remove Locksmith button on the Help page. No subscription is required for these actions, but Locksmith does need to be authorized to complete them.

We definitely don't want to cause your store issues in this way, but we do aim to make sure we don't surprise you by opening up all of your locked content in any situation. We want to you know, 100%, that your locked areas are being opened up to the public. That's why the locks stay locked until you disable them.

Again, I know that situation wasn't ideal, to say the least, and I'm sorry for the confusion and issue.

Looking into your account, I do see that you still have an active subscription to Locksmith. I can't cancel that for you, but you can do that by removing the app from your Apps list. At the time of this writing, you have no locks in place, and so Locksmith has no code in your theme, so it's safe to do so.

If/when you do, be sure to send us a message and we'll issue a refund for that charge. We're here at team@uselocksmith.com, so just let us know. ❤️

Best regards,



Not very impressed. I had this app installed in order to lock my wholesale section. It worked at first, then locked all my sections. Fixed it, then it happened again. So basically I am losing sales because my whole site has again been locked.

Emailed yesterday at 6:00 and have still not heard back.

Kiss Naturals

Appalling support. Must of sent over 5 emails still no reply. Really frustrating. Can someone get back to us?

Cali Tiger
Lightwardが返信しました 2021年1月27日

Hey there! ❤️ We reply to everything we receive, and – doing some digging into our team mailbox – we've received three messages from you this month, all of which we've replied to, all well within our 24hr response time cap. We've also emailed you directly (in a new email thread – look for an email with the subject "Locksmith App for Shopify"), to see if we can get through to you this way.

Not getting responses is not great, and I get that. Please know that it's not for lack of effort – every time you try to reach us, we're trying to get back to you. :)

If you're still not getting our replies, please consider writing in from another email address, perhaps outside of your store's domain. We're here to help. ❤️

All the best,



I've not actually used the app but the pricing structure is rediculous, why should customers on higher shopify plans be penalised?

Lightwardが返信しました 2020年1月14日

Hey there! We could have communicated our pricing policy better at the time; thanks for letting me know how you feel about it. I've updated our listing to be clearer. For the record: our pricing is a conversation, and we start with a suggested price that's based on what you pay for Shopify. Different merchants get very different value from the product, and because that value is impossible to fully predict, we begin with that estimate. If that price doesn't work for you, we ask you to let us know what price *does* feel good for you – and we proceed from there, letting you know what works for us, until we reach a price that works for us both. You can find the whole policy at uselocksmith.com/pricing.


The app worked very well but when the trial expired, all my products got locked and were not accessible by any customers, even the products that were not locked. I had to pay a subscription fee to go back in the app and disable the locks. I was under the impression that all the locks would be disabled when the trial expired, which would be the logical next step. So I did not go into the app and disable it. After a few days, I realized all my products were locked and the app had disappeared. Cold sweat!!!! I did receive a warning email but it was not clear. The logical process would be to disable locksmith when the trial ends and let all products be visible again. They hold us hostage instead of letting us try the product and disable it when the trial is over. Not impressed by that.
No amount of: "we told you by email" will make this process better. It feels like a scam to me.

Lightwardが返信しました 2022年8月9日

Hey there! There’s no need to subscribe to Locksmith to unlock your content. Locksmith can be disabled from the settings page in the app, using the “Disable Locksmith” button.

I can definitely appreciate why finding that your products are still locked when you didn’t expect them to be would be an unpleasant surprise! For this reason we mention specifically in the emails that are automatically sent out, that a subscription doesn’t need to be started, and that customer access to your locked content will be disabled when a trial lapses. We do not hold stores hostage.

​I understand why you might expect Locksmith to automatically disable your locks. The reason we've chosen not to automatically disable all of a store's locks is because some shops may let their trials lapse before subscribing, or they may simply need to update their billing information with Shopify, causing the payment to not be processed.

​If that happens, we want to make sure the locks are still in place, since shops rely heavily on us to protect content. We're first and foremost an access control application, and so disabling locks could open up shops to showing content or selling products to folks who shouldn't have access.

Thank you for your feedback. These are important points that we want merchants to be informed about. Again, I know that situation wasn't ideal, to say the least, and I'm sorry for the confusion and issue.

We are now looking into how we can improve messaging in the app to make it clearer that a subscription isn’t needed to disable or uninstall Locksmith, and that a subscription is only required to keep using Locksmith.

All the best!

- Tristan