Order Printer Pro: Invoice App , 1 132 avaliações

Avaliação geral
5
Pontuação por nível de classificação
  • 96% das classificações são de 5 estrelas
  • 2% das classificações são de 4 estrelas
  • 1% das classificações são de 3 estrelas
  • 0% das classificações são de 2 estrelas
  • 1% das classificações são de 1 estrelas
11 de setembro de 2023

FRAUDULENT! Steer clear from this app.. they don't even tell you this or update you but they've been charging me $10 / month for YEARS. And I had no idea nor did I ever approve these charges.

Decoralist
Reino Unido
About 3 years usando a aplicação
Questão respondida por FORSBERG+two ApS 13 de setembro de 2023

To give some true context on this review. Decoralist installed the app and approved the app charges in 2020, as can be seen both in the Shopify Partner Dashboard, and on their own activity feed. We've provided screenshots of this from Shopify's own systems etc.

They've then forgotten they installed the app, even though Order Printer Pro would have been both showing in their Installed apps list, and on their monthly Shopify invoice every month since they installed and approved the app subscription.

They've now come to us and demanded a refund for 3 years that they "didn't know" they had the app installed. We gave 3 months refund, which we feel is fair, especially when such words as "fraudulent" are being thrown around.

Long story short, they installed and subscribed to the app, demanded a refund 3 years later, and are now leaving this review because they didn't get their way.

It's rare that strange situations come up like this, thankfully. Hopefully our other 800+ 5 star reviews help show what we are really about.

Kind regards,
Bjorn Forsberg
Founder - FORSBERG+two

30 de março de 2020

I am really frustrated with this app. I have repeatedly asked this group how to remove the unnecessary information that displays at the top and bottom of every invoice. They will-not provide the information.

paxton hardware ltd
Estados Unidos
Over 1 year usando a aplicação
Questão respondida por FORSBERG+two ApS 30 de março de 2020

I'm sorry you are frustrated, but we have replied to all of your emails with instructions on how to remove the header/footer info added by your browser.

We've tried to help you, even though you have been rude and abusive each time you've contacted us.

Please uninstall the app, we don't accept this type of behaviour.

Kind regards,
Bjorn Forsberg
Founder - Order Printer Pro by FORSBERG+two

19 de julho de 2020

Takes Too much to Load the orders., If we select 50 order in orders dashboard it takes more than 30 minutes to print.

Itsy Bitsy
Índia
12 months usando a aplicação
5 de agosto de 2020

Das Bestellformular ging bei mir nicht. Der Support hat es in 1,5 Wochen auch nicht hinbekommen. Ich habe es gelöscht.

Verwalterenergie
Alemanha
10 months usando a aplicação
Questão respondida por FORSBERG+two ApS 6 de agosto de 2020

Thanks for the review, and sorry for the frustration. We have been emailing with you multiple times over the past week, trying to help you with the issue and providing multiple solutions. I see that you did not try the solution we sent over in our last mail, we'd love to help further if you would like to.

Ps. You are posting the review on the wrong app, you were using our OrderlyEmails app ;)

Kind regards,
Bjorn Forsberg
Founder - FORSBERG+two

22 de junho de 2021

It advertises that theres a free plan available. After downloading the app, it forces you to pay $10 a month

Street Aero
Estados Unidos
7 months usando a aplicação
Questão respondida por FORSBERG+two ApS 23 de junho de 2021

Thank you for your review. However, I think there is some confusion or misunderstanding here.

Based on the number of orders your store had in the past month (don't want to post the actual number publicly here), the app is correct in asking you to subscribe to the paid plan. You are a long way over the free plan limit of 50 orders a month.

You are correct that the app has a free plan, for stores with less than 50 orders a month. For stores with more than 50 orders a month, the app costs $10/month for unlimited orders. The app will not charge you anything if you have less than 50 orders a month.

Again, you can see the full details of our pricing plans in the "Pricing" section of our Shopify App Store listing.

Hope that makes sense. Please let us know if any questions come up, and have a great day!

Bjorn Forsberg
Founder - Order Printer Pro by FORSBERG+two

26 de maio de 2020

customer service just ignores... no reply for days... app is not bad, but not
worth the money in my opinion.

njom FOODS
Estónia
7 months usando a aplicação
Questão respondida por FORSBERG+two ApS 27 de maio de 2020

Sorry to hear you didn't receive the reply we sent to you. The support team did reply the same day with the information requested. See screenshot: https://www.evernote.com/l/AO_sHE1ngjxD27kO5Znyt0zyersYgq8W_H0B/image.png

Our team has forwarded that to you again now, in case it got lost somehow :)

Many thanks,
Bjorn Forsberg
Founder - Order Printer Pro by FORSBERG+two

31 de agosto de 2020

They'll charge you even if you try the 'free' version.

Cure Collection
Estados Unidos
About 2 months usando a aplicação
Questão respondida por FORSBERG+two ApS 2 de setembro de 2020

Sorry to hear you were surprised by the pricing of the app. I've double checked your account, and the app did correctly add the charge only after you crossed the 50 order limit for the month. This is of course after your 14 day free trial had expired, which is not counted.

As stated above in the Shopify App Store (under Pricing) the app is free for any store with less than 50 orders per month. For stores with more than 50 orders per month, the app costs $10 for that month.

You cannot use the "free version" if your account has more than 50 orders in a month, as mentioned in the pricing.

Of course we don't want anyone to be disappointed after using our apps, so we're issuing a full refund to your account :)

Please do let us know if you need anything else.

Kind regards,
Bjorn Forsberg
Founder - Order Printer Pro by FORSBERG+two

20 de maio de 2020

Cannot find the pause or delete app button. Very cheeky! Not sure why someone would pay $10 for what Shopify already provides for free?

Red Bay Coffee
Estados Unidos
About 2 months usando a aplicação
Questão respondida por FORSBERG+two ApS 21 de maio de 2020

Thanks for the feedback, and sorry for the frustration. Our support team has reached out to you with instructions on how you can uninstall/cancel any Shopify app you have installed, which is the same for Order Printer Pro:

1- In your Shopify admin
2- Go to the "Apps" page
3- Click the "Delete" button next to Order Printer Pro

This both removes the app from your admin, and also cancels any subscription or trial on your account.

Stay safe and best of luck with your store.

Bjorn Forsberg
Founder - Order Printer Pro by FORSBERG+two

9 de janeiro de 2023

Unübersichtlich, Rechnungen werden teils gar nicht erstellt. Für 3 Bestellungen im Monat OK....Alles andere Schmutz!

FOLLOWERDISCOUNT
Alemanha
About 1 month usando a aplicação
Questão respondida por FORSBERG+two ApS 9 de janeiro de 2023

Guten Morgen,

I'm sorry to see you didn't have a good experience with our app. I checked our support tools and it looks like you haven't contact support before, so we'd love to hear from you so we can help with any issues you are having.

Our support team is available 24/7 using the in-app contact widget, or on hello@orderprinterpro.com

Kind regards,
Bjorn Forsberg
Founder - Order Printer Pro by FORSBERG+two

In German:

Es tut mir leid zu sehen, dass Sie keine guten Erfahrungen mit unserer App gemacht haben. Ich habe unsere Support-Tools überprüft und es sieht so aus, als hätten Sie den Support noch nie kontaktiert. Wir würden uns also freuen, von Ihnen zu hören, damit wir Ihnen bei allen Problemen helfen können.

Unser Support-Team ist rund um die Uhr über das In-App-Kontakt-Widget oder unter hello@orderprinterpro.com erreichbar

Mit freundlichen Grüßen,
Björn Forsberg
Gründer - Order Printer Pro von FORSBERG+two

Editado a 18 de julho de 2018

I tried to upload the code they sent through, and it doesn't work. I emailed them twice and still had no reply. I am disappointed with their total lack of communication.

Rosanna Lonsdale
Reino Unido
22 days usando a aplicação