PageFly Landing Page Builder , 10.051 recensioni

Valutazione complessiva
4,9
Numero di recensioni per livello
  • Il 95% delle recensioni ha 5 stelle
  • Il 3% delle recensioni ha 4 stelle
  • Il 0% delle recensioni ha 3 stelle
  • Il 0% delle recensioni ha 2 stelle
  • Il 1% delle recensioni ha 1 stelle
6 febbraio 2024

Work alright with a theme you have published already. Does not help if you do not have a store published, or if you are working on a new theme still in draft. Pagefly sections don't show up in draft themes, and you can't preview with draft themes. Only consider if you would like to upgrade a page or add a section to an already published theme/website.

Bioss
Stati Uniti
6 mesi di utilizzo dell’app
24 gennaio 2024

C'est pas mal. Je suis encore en phase de prise en main de Pagegly mais l'assistance est vraiment géniale !

Delikao
Francia
8 mesi di utilizzo dell’app
16 aprile 2024

Okay for now

Choice-Collections.Store
Regno Unito
1 giorno di utilizzo dell’app
Data modifica: 5 agosto 2023

There are a dozen decent page builders but Pagefly support is in a league of it's own. Near immediate responses, no matter the time. Friendly staff that utilizes screenshots. The support UI is great. Anytime I need assistance they find a solution quickly every time.

I would like to amend my review of pagefly. Every support related interaction has been positive, however their customer service related people offer you a free month in exchange for a video review and send unwanted, unsolicited responses even after being explicitly asked to NOT REPLY to me when I am voicing an opinion.

Technical/Support staff 5/5
Customer service staff 1/5

Overall review 3/5

Bell-FlorSA
Stati Uniti
Circa un anno di utilizzo dell’app
PageFly ha risposto 31 luglio 2023

Thank you so much for your kind words, it’s a great motivation for us to improve ourselves.

I’m so glad that we are able to make you satisfied to the fullest. It’s all our pleasure to assist you throughout your journey with PageFly.

Have a nice day!

Liam | PageFly Team

16 agosto 2023

This is possibly the best page building app on shopify, but unfortunately the forced page building upgrade has changed all of my pages and there's no way to go back to the old editor. So I'm forced to spend hours re-formatting all of my pages.

The Hero's Cape
Stati Uniti
Quasi 5 anni di utilizzo dell’app
PageFly ha risposto 22 agosto 2023

On behalf of my PageFly team, I would like to send you our sincere apologies for the unexpected experience you had with us. We’re sorry that you were disappointed with our app. I really understand your feeling through your words in your review.

Our recent update to PageFly 4.0 version was necessitated by the imperative to align with Shopify's policies. We have embedded PageFly into Shopify, allowing you to seamlessly utilize the app within the Shopify Admin interface. This integration has enhanced the speed and performance of PageFly, as most of its components are now preloaded when accessing the Shopify platform.

I really hope that you can give us another chance so we can assist you with everything we can to make things right.

As a valued customer, your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us, and we are determined to make things right. If there is anything else we can do to rectify the situation or if you have any further concerns, please let us know. We deeply empathize with the frustration and inconvenience you experienced with this serious issue.

We truly appreciate your continued support and trust in our app. We remain committed to providing you with the exceptional service you deserve.

PageFly | Kate - Customer Success Manager

10 agosto 2023

Desinstalei, quero instalar novamente e não consigo, voces conseguem me auixiliar ? acredito que o pagefly tenha o que eu rpeciso

La Bottie
Brasile
26 minuti di utilizzo dell’app
PageFly ha risposto 22 agosto 2023

On behalf of my PageFly team, I would like to send you our sincere apologies for the bad experience you had with us. We’re sorry that you were disappointed with our app. I really understand your feeling through your words in your review.

When we received your feedback, our team did try to connect with you but there was no response. We also provided solutions for you to try to install PageFly and I am happy that you could re-install PageFly to your store.

Time flies and we have been trying so hard to improve our app based on your feedback and other feedback. We really hope that we can have more chances to assist you on the long road.

PageFly | Kate - Customer Success Manager

26 luglio 2022

The app can be a bit complex and frustrating to use at times, but the customer service is really helpful and fix a lot of the issues I have.

Kleva Range - Everyday Innovations
Australia
Quasi 2 anni di utilizzo dell’app
PageFly ha risposto 28 luglio 2022

Dear Lucy,

On behalf of the PageFly Team, I want to send you a sincere thank you for your feedback on your experience with PageFly.

From your review, we understand how we are doing and we also see that we still have a lot of shortcomings that we need to improve. Thank you for still giving us more chances to support you in live chat, we truly appreciate this a lot.

With the aim of bringing a great experience to you, we will try our best to improve PageFly to make it easy to use and smooth.
Along with this, our support team will be always willing to assist you anytime.

Thank you and have a great day!

PageFly | Kate - Customer Success Manager

Data modifica: 24 aprile 2019

こちらのシステムのバグのせいで、モバイル版を再度作り直しが必要になりました。PCは直してくれ、対応は早いですが、モバイル版は自分でやってくれということになりました。システムの使いやすさは、問題ないです。

Dogstandard
Giappone
Quasi 2 anni di utilizzo dell’app
16 giugno 2022

Honestly, this app is probably one of the better page builders I've used in my 8 years in ecommerce. That said, the fact that after 4+ years of this app being on the market, it still does not have a usable A/B testing feature is a bit crazy to be honest. I've used many other page builders out there that have this feature but I have chosen to stick with PageFly (for now) because I do like the UI behind it and out of all of them out there it has the least issues. To say that you have to create a Google Analytics experiment to do A/B testing is not a feasible option, we have over 24,000 products that use the same page and to be told this has to be done for each product is just insane. I feel like an app that has been out for years, has many users, should have already had something in place for this. Also, speaking with support and being told "it's being worked on but we don't know when it will be done" is laughable as well. When I hear something like that (as an engineer myself) it is like saying, we havent started it and it's not even in our pipeline otherwise there would be an anticipated release date or at least beta date. Just a bit crazy to be honest that such a valuable feature when testing a website is not available after this long. The fact no one else is complaining about this is a bit shocking too.

Altered Way
Stati Uniti
Oltre un anno di utilizzo dell’app
PageFly ha risposto 17 giugno 2022

Hi Gary,

I am Kate, PageFly's Customer Success Manager, I hope you are doing well.

I am contacting you today regarding the review you gave us yesterday. On behalf of the PageFly team, I am sorry for everything that made you unhappy with our app.

I spent a lot of time reading your feedback and the conversations between you and our operators. I deeply understand your feeling.

For many years, we still have prioritized optimizing and improving our core app to have long-term stability and especially this A/B test feature because this feature needs an exact working performance of Analytics.

So besides the UI/UX design team, the product team is also optimizing the core part.

Unfortunately, at the moment, we have not determined a release date for this feature, but I will discuss it in today's meeting and will send you an email notification when there is information.

Finally, from the bottom of my heart, I want to thank you for accompanying and sticking with PageFly from the first days until now, I really appreciate this. I am also sad that our app hasn't quite lived up to your expectations.

Thank you for your review comments, this is a big motivation for us to improve the app.

I hope to get empathy from you.

Regards,
Kate | PageFly Team