Valutazione complessiva
4,9
Numero di recensioni per livello
  • Il 95% delle recensioni ha 5 stelle
  • Il 3% delle recensioni ha 4 stelle
  • Il 0% delle recensioni ha 3 stelle
  • Il 0% delle recensioni ha 2 stelle
  • Il 1% delle recensioni ha 1 stelle
Data modifica: 20 aprile 2018

Very difficult to use and most of the good templates and features are on the pro version, which is not free. They need to work on the user interface to make it more intuitive. I shouldn't have to spend 10 minutes trying to add a simple picture.

Edit #1:
Sellersmith (the creator) contacted me after my first review and convinced me to give it another try. After spending some time with it I'm learning how to use the app better. It still could use some work on the intuitiveness side. It has a bit of a learning curve. But it's not a bad app. No coding, so that's awesome!
It definitely is capable of a lot. It's just not always easy to figure out how to use it. The good templates are still on the paid version. But it's not too expensive. And if you decide to switch back to the free version you can keep the pages you already built (so they tell me). So that's cool. I'm going to keep using it for now and see how it goes.

Edit #2:
I’ll let this be my final update. I’ve been working with this app for about a week now and the best way to summarize it is: It gets the job done. But not smoothly.
Basically it has a lot of features and capabilities, but it’s like pulling teeth trying to get them to work. I’m fairly tech-savvy and I’ve got some graphic design experience and I struggled to get this app to work. I have to take frequent breaks from using it because it’s so frustrating.
Simple actions that should be quick and easy like moving a piece of text from one part of a page/section to another takes a solid 10 minutes to figure out and requires deleting and inserting and moving and all kinds of work-arounds. And there’s really no reason it shouldn’t be a simple drag and drop. The developers need to place their app next to ones like PowerPoint and emulate them. Simplify tasks so that they don’t require a whole process to accomplish.
At the end of the day (week) I got a couple of nice looking pages made. But boy was it challenging. The program is effective, but not intuitive. It has some bugs (like pressing the “undo” button once and having it leap 12 steps back). But I’ll keep it for now because it’s free. If it cost money I wouldn’t keep it. It’s not worth the headache and I’m on a tight budget. But for a free app it’s a pretty good deal.

My Atomic Fit
Stati Uniti
2 mesi di utilizzo dell’app
5 novembre 2020

Support team deserves 10 stars or even more..they are absolutely great and very patient with useless newbies like me. They even did some CSS customization for me to have my store loking good, so thanks so much to the support team! As for the app I must say it's not that easy to use, I mean.. it's drag and drop and that should be enogh to build pages with ease, although I've noticed that different parts of the page (sessions, rows, colums) don't stay where I wanted them to stay but they where placed where they want!! It has been quite frustaiting for me to build my first page.. I had to keep moving things around hundreds of time to make the page look the way I wanted.. plus, once I finished building on the "all devices" and checked every single device page looking...well...oh my God.. the laptop one looked good, but tablet and especially mobile ones where all over the place.. if I moved something on one device view or changed font size to make things look good, they changed also on the other devices!! so it took me ages to make my page look nice on all the 3 devices..for this reason I'm sure PageFly hasn't the responsive feature, even if they say it has..when you build pages dont you expect to build one and look good on any device, you'll have to adjust every single part one by one on every single device view as best as you can and also have a bit of luck to find the right way to place them...this is the reason why I cannot give 5 stars.

Teeny Little Paws
Italia
Circa un mese di utilizzo dell’app
PageFly ha risposto 11 dicembre 2020

Hi
On behalf of the PageFly team, I would like to thank you for your detailed review.
We are so happy that we were able to help you to solve your problems.
We know that when first starting using PageFly, it can make you feel confused, and as you mentioned in the review, it's not easy to use.
Regarding the responsiveness issue, I truly understand that this is not easy to achieve and our whole team is trying to improve PageFly better and better. Besides that, there are some problems that affect responsiveness such as image size, spacing, etc. Therefore, we hope that you can use PageFly more and we can work with you, assist you on the long road. We also have been trying our best to improve PageFly more friendly and better.
If you have any further questions, please let us know via the Live chat. We are always happy to assist you.

PageFly | Kate - Customer Success Manager

12 marzo 2021

This app has lots of great features. BUT. There is one extremely annoying aspect to it. There is a 24 hour chat service run by a bunch of people who are completely clueless. Every time I ask for help I lose hours of my time going round in circles with them, and regularly things end up worse than before. It is extremely frustrating, they are not properly trained and do not know what they are doing. It needs to be sorted out for this to be a good app.

drowsysleepco
Regno Unito
Circa un mese di utilizzo dell’app
PageFly ha risposto 16 marzo 2021

Thank you for leaving us feedback on the App Store, we really appreciate your feedback. Your feedback means a lot to us and we are so glad that we can assist you and you are pleased with the result.
It can be not easy to use PageFly, especially for new users, however, if you are familiar with PageFly, you will find it not difficult to use. And our whole PageFly team is trying day and night to work hard to make PageFly more friendly.
We really appreciate it if you have any further recommendations for us.
Please do not hesitate to contact us via Livechat whenever you have any questions.

PageFly | Kate - Customer Success Manager

23 agosto 2020

The app has some strange glitches. But I got them resolved with Emad. He was very helpful and great to work with

Condition 1 Coffee Company
Stati Uniti
20 giorni di utilizzo dell’app
PageFly ha risposto 26 agosto 2020

Hi Ryan,

Let me explain a bit :)

All of the issues you were facing were coming from the Theme itself, not PageFly.

Your theme has !important tag to most of the elements in it so PageFly styling couldn’t be applied you had to add the tag !important for them to work.
If you enabled Theme Styling option in the editor, you will see the Styling of the theme applied in the editor. Even the background color was coming from the Theme.

About the background images when you set them per device and them change them from All Devices the changes won’t transfer over to other devices. Because you are using different images you have to remove those background images from other devices to fix it as you saw in the demo.

PageFly can’t do anything to fix it, it had to be done via custom code that’s when we come in to play and help you.

Just want to make sure everything's going well for you 😉

Anything you want us to help with, please drop a message for us in PageFly Live Chat!

Thanks,
PageFly | Kate - Customer Success Manager

17 gennaio 2023

This website is soooo glitchy and slow its very hard to edit pages and very time consuming. Overall, they do have great templates and great customer service but it can be very confusing to edit.

Clean Burnn
Stati Uniti
18 giorni di utilizzo dell’app
PageFly ha risposto 17 gennaio 2023

On behalf of my PageFly team, I would like to send you our sincere apologies for the unexpected experience you had with us. We’re truly sorry that you were disappointed with our app. I really understand your feeling through your words in your review.

Thanks to your feedback, we can understand how we are doing and what we need to improve.

When we received your feedback, our team did try to connect with you and hope to fix the issues for you, unfortunately, we could not reach out to you.

We really hope to have another opportunity to assist and support you with all issues you had with our app.

Your business with PageFly is greatly appreciated and I will be looking forward to hearing back from you soon.
PageFly | Kate - Customer Success Manager

1 novembre 2017

Excellent idea. You can build your landing pages any way you want and integrate them within shopify store blog or product whatever. Only thing is... Sometimes: you cannot save your work, it crashes, does not appear in app menu and undo button just stops working. So if you have a lot of nerve and patience, it's a great free app. Otherwise, do not even try it.

Brighter Square
Stati Uniti
7 giorni di utilizzo dell’app
Data modifica: 6 maggio 2020

Could be alot ALOT easier. After choosing a template, why am I arranging everything from scratch? Like buttons, image description etc, i have to select and drag and drop instead of just deciding on little things, and choosing a picture as i've already chosen a template. If I have to do so much, it doesn't make sense to select a template in the first place. It could look better too. 3 stars and not one b/c i like that there is a free option and it's fair. It also has pretty good options to customize. I'll keep playing with it, and maybe will be back to update my reveiw.

doveleslamps
Germania
1 giorno di utilizzo dell’app
PageFly ha risposto 17 settembre 2020

On behalf of the PageFly team, I would like to thank you for your detailed review. We are so glad and thankful that you choose PageFly.

As you mentioned in your review about PageFly templates, we can understand that you had to do a lot with our available templates for your page. Each store has its owns products, content, and campaigns, etc, therefore when you apply available templates to your pages, you probably have to customize a lot to match suitably with your store.

We also try to create more templates to meet customer needs and we always hope that we can company you more and more in the future.

If you have any questions or need help, feel free to contact us at any time at the Live chat window.

PageFly | Kate - Customer Success Manager

Data modifica: 26 luglio 2018

I installed this app, but found it didn't serve my need so I uninstalled it within 1 hour. However, our website couldn't load product page around 20 min after that. Luckily we recovered it by using a back up theme. Pagefly team's reply was quick.

Theunitstore
RAS di Hong Kong
44 minuti di utilizzo dell’app
Data modifica: 21 agosto 2021

Sadly I found the app extremely confusing and frustrating to use. This is not "drag and drop." The rows and columns system, margins, and many more things are super time-consuming, with a long learning curve. The templates provided are scarce, average, and mostly seasonal, so unless you are a true expert with hours and hours under your belt using this app and marketing knowledge, you will not build any "high converting" anything from scratch. I spent hours trying to design a product page until I gave up. I couldn't get anything more than Windows 95 look website. I wanted to add a banner, the image got cropped in ways I could never imagine, and it was impossible to display it fully since there is no button you can simply tick for this. I was super hyped about this app, but it has been a total disappointment. You have control over many things, yes, but in the end, all those things have control over you. UPDATE: After leaving my review, a member for support reached out (called me four times). I did not reinstall the app or anything like that, but you can see they care, so bumping 2 stars more.

Paint by Numbers
Spagna
PageFly ha risposto 12 agosto 2021

Hi Frank Ben,

I’m Kate - Customer Success Manager at PageFly. It's my pleasure to meet you.

Regarding your review on Shopify App Store, on behalf of the team, I would like to send you a sincere apology for everything that made you unhappy and unsatisfied with our app.

We tried to call you but sadly, we did not get any response from you so I want to write to you to explain.

It's sad to know that the app has been hard to use, and the templates have been of low quality. I will work with the Development and Product Design team to improve.

Regarding the banner issue you are mentioning, we really want to have a second chance to assist you.

I also check and see that you haven’t contacted us via Live chat. I would like to confirm that our PageFly support team is available 24/7, so whenever you need help, you just need to drop messages in the Live chat and we will respond immediately.

My team and I are waiting for your message, we are so looking forward to hearing from you to give us another chance to support and assist you.

Best Regards,
Kate | PageFly team