Boost AI Search & Filter , 1,859件のレビュー

総合評価
4.7
評価レベルごとの件数
  • 評価の95%は5つ星です
  • 評価の2%は4つ星です
  • 評価の0%は3つ星です
  • 評価の0%は2つ星です
  • 評価の3%は1つ星です
2023年7月20日

Be careful!!!! This app has destroyed my theme and has ruined my collection pages! The customer support is not responsive, and they see no problem in what they have done!! I am wondering if previous comments are real or bought! Really.. I am absolutely disappointed with their support - D I S A S T E R

Eye on Design
ポーランド
アプリの使用期間:2年弱
Boost Commerceが返信しました 2023年8月9日

Dear Eye on Design Team,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience this has caused you. It's never our intention to make you feel this way.

We understand your concern regarding the collection layout after you upgraded the new theme version and integrated with the app. Our technical agent responded to your email explaining the situation and suggesting a solution within the same day. We are well aware that time and details are crucial in the business world. However, at some point, we are so sorry that it does not reach your expectation. We do value your input and will go all out for improvement.

We all are on hand whenever you need assistance and are eager to support you as quickly as possible to ensure your continued satisfaction with our app.

Best regards,
Boost Team

2023年8月15日

Useless app! AI is a big word, please use it properly............................................................

August Berg
シンガポール
アプリの使用期間:4年弱
Boost Commerceが返信しました 2023年8月16日

Hi August Berg team,

We are sincerely sorry that our AI-powered features were not up to your expectation!

Unfortunately, we didn't have a chance to sort it out for you as we have not received any support requests from you yet. However, we are willing to help you overcome the concerns about the AI features and the pricing so we have contacted you via email offering our assistance.

We are looking forward to your reply and will be happy if you decide to give our app a go again. We truly appreciate your kind collaboration in further investigating

All the best,
Boost Team

2023年7月20日

This app is an absolute disaster, hands down the worst we've ever encountered. The customer support is a joke; they are completely unhelpful and seem indifferent to our issues. Installing this app was a colossal waste of time and money, and we regret ever giving it a chance. Stay away and save yourself the frustration!

Eye on Design
ポーランド
アプリの使用期間:1年以上
Boost Commerceが返信しました 2023年8月9日

Dear Eye on Design Team,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience this has caused you. It's never our intention to make you feel this way.

We understand your concern regarding the collection layout after you upgraded the new theme version and integrated with the app. Our technical agent responded to your email explaining the situation and suggesting a solution within the same day. We are well aware that time and details are crucial in the business world. However, at some point, we are so sorry that it does not reach your expectation. We do value your input and will go all out for improvement.

We all are on hand whenever you need assistance and are eager to support you as quickly as possible to ensure your continued satisfaction with our app.

Best regards,
Boost Team

2023年7月25日

This app was good, until their recent version updates. We have dealt with numerous issues since, including incompatibility with theme edits, caching problems, speed/performance, and styling changes that have affected our websites majorly. Avoid at all costs, at least until they resolve their many issues at present.

K9 Natural USA
ニュージーランド
アプリの使用期間:7ヶ月
2023年12月10日

Terrible. Completely changes the look of your product page permanently and looks terrible, hard to customize too 0/10

VitalHome Finds
アメリカ合衆国
アプリの使用期間:23分
Boost Commerceが返信しました 2023年12月12日

Hi VitalHome Finds team,

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for the issues you’ve encountered with our app; we haven’t received any support requests from you yet.

Please note that our latest V3 app can replicate 90% of the original layout of 15 different themes (Dawn included), but if you’re using a different theme or have customized the layout of an original theme, our theme setup will apply the default theme. Rest assured this does NOT affect your live theme after installing the app but duplicated theme only.

Although the new layout may appear different, we do have a tool called “Edit Visual Design” in the “Theme” section that allows users to adjust and customize it with ease before publishing the theme.

We have reached out to you via email to offer our support to make this happen. We eagerly await your response and would be delighted if you give our app another try.

Best regards,
Boost Team

2023年8月4日

Like all the others absolutely terrible, countless hours of fixing all the problems this app has caused with the theme, collection pages and more. Not worth the hassle much better search apps out there.

Embrace Sports
オーストラリア
アプリの使用期間:19分
Boost Commerceが返信しました 2023年8月5日

Hi Embrace Sports Team,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback.

We are terribly sorry to hear you have faced such issues with our app.
Unfortunately, we didn't have a chance to sort out these issues for you as we have not received any support requests from you yet. However, we are willing to help you overcome these problems so we have contacted you via email offering our assistance.

We are looking forward to your reply and will be happy if you decide to give our app a go again.

All the best,
Boost Team

2023年1月19日

I am writing to bring to your attention an issue with your product that has caused significant harm to our business. Specifically, due to poor coding practices during work on our theme, a piece of code was left behind that has prevented Google from indexing our collection pages, prevented Googlebot from following any links on the page, and prevented descriptions from appearing below the page in search results. Additionally, this code has prevented caching of the page.

I have sent images to you so that demonstrates the issue. As you can imagine, this has had a detrimental effect on our SEO efforts and has cost us thousands of pounds. We need this issue fixed as soon as possible.

Furthermore, we would like to know why this issue occurred and what steps will be taken to ensure that it does not happen again in the future. We also expect to be compensated for the damage caused by this mistake, as our trust in your product has been broken and we no longer have confidence in it.

If this issue is not resolved immediately, we will have no choice but to repair the issue ourselves, remove your app from our store.

I have also notified Shopify of this issue and have asked them to take action against your company.

Please respond as soon as possible with a resolution to this issue.

Crepslocker
イギリス
アプリの使用期間:約3年
Boost Commerceが返信しました 2023年1月21日

Hello Mo and team,

Thank you for your patience and kind collaboration as we worked on your SEO and technical concerns/requests. We will do our best to keep such issues from happening again in the future.

We want nothing but for you to have a great app and service experience with us. So please do not hesitate to reach back to us if you need our assistance. We are always ready to help.

All the best,
Boost team

2022年7月27日

We used this app mainly to split variants of a product into individual products on a collection page. Problem is with every launch, the products do not display for a long time after you publish them. For example today we publish two products 15 minutes early to give plenty of time for the products to be displayed before Launch. 30 minutes post launch the products were still not displaying. thats 45 minute delay. it happens everytime we launch a product or a collection. It is completely unacceptable. Today is the last time. I will be uninstalling the app, Never recommending it. If i could leave ZERO STARS i would

Lahana Swim AU
オーストラリア
アプリの使用期間:3年以上
Boost Commerceが返信しました 2022年7月27日

Dear Customer,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a great experience. We have sent an email to investigate further this concern but have not heard back from you. Would you please check it?

We would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you and hope to be able to resolve this as soon as possible. Your kind collaboration is much appreciated!

Sincerely,
Boost Team

編集日:2023年4月4日

I recommend not using this app if you are a corporate customer or have a store with high turn over. We have been using it for a year and there has been nothing but issues). This app prevented google from crawling our collection pages, and cost us tens of thousands of dollars in lost revenue. Additionally, we have been trying to fix issues where it would allow google to crawl hundreds of thousands of URLS. The issues with this app are big, beware. We are uninstalling it, I highly recommend you check your google search console if you have installed it.

Update April 5: Their team have been in communication, however nothing has been fixed as at April 5. They said that this is a "app wide" issue, and they are working on a fix. It's now been over two weeks and we still our collection pages are not indexed.

Electric Kicks
オーストラリア
アプリの使用期間:2年弱
Boost Commerceが返信しました 2023年4月4日

Hi Electric Kicks team,
Thank you so much for taking your valuable time on raising this concern with us.
First of all, we are truly sorry for the inconvenience this might have caused you and we definitely understand your frustration.
- Regarding your comment about our support speed, it seems that there has been a miscommunication between the two parties. We double-checked all the emails we have been contacting with your developers recently regarding the issues and all our responses were less than 2 hours. We just sent an email to you to clarify this, please let us know if we missed any requests from the team.
- Regarding the SEO concern, we also clearly informed the solutions for your developers to fix the issues as the code was not from our app. But unfortunately, we did not hear back from them so it was truly hard for us to support you further. In addition, we contacted Shopify about the SEO issue last week and are still waiting for their response. Meanwhile, our technical team is currently working hard on this and figuring out the best solution for you from our side.
We appreciate the opportunity to work with you and hope to be able to resolve the issues as soon as possible. Your kind collaboration is much appreciated!
Kindly,
Boost Team

2022年8月10日

Tengo un problema con la app ya la cancele y la quite de mi tienda y me siguen llegando cargos a mi tarjeta después que la cancele ..... ojala me puedan ayudar saludos

Vinto Tinto
メキシコ
アプリの使用期間:1年以上
Boost Commerceが返信しました 2022年8月10日

Hello there,

We are sorry that the billing caused a confusion to you, which led to this unpleasant experience.

As we have discussed, the bill was generated because there were a few usage days before the uninstallation date. As if we could optimize it somehow, we would definitely do that; unfortunately, we do not have the control over the payment process since it is managed by Shopify.

Still, gladly that we were able to fully refund the bill to your store.

We would love to win you back and provide you a much better experience in the near future.

Regards,
Boost Team