Retail Barcode Labels , 546 則評價

整體評分
2.2
各級評分數量
  • 14% 的評分為 5 顆星
  • 11% 的評分為 4 顆星
  • 13% 的評分為 3 顆星
  • 15% 的評分為 2 顆星
  • 47% 的評分為 1 顆星
2024年4月25日

"Customization" is a joke. Only have two lines whether you have a barcode or not and the first line can only reference a single field. Can only show price, not compare at price?! Typical Shopify half-baked app.

Olympic Outdoor Center
美國
使用應用程式 3年多
Shopify 已回覆 2024年4月29日

Hi, there! Thanks for sharing your feedback, it's greatly appreciated. I have passed your thoughts along to our developers for consideration. Feel free to keep an eye on the Shopify Changelog (https://shopify.link/N5vR) for updates! - Greta, Shopify Support

2024年3月28日

VERY BAD!!! IT MESSED UP SO MANY OF MY PRODUCTS DUE TO GENERATING SO MANY DUPLICATE BARCODES...I BROUGHT IT UP SO MANY TIMES TO THEM AND IT STILL GENERATES DUPLICATES

JuniorKids
加拿大
使用應用程式 接近5年
Shopify 已回覆 2024年4月1日

Hi JuniorKids, thank you for your review and for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you are experiencing this issue. There are cases where large catalogues can end up having duplicated barcodes. Our support team can help you in finding those duplicate barcodes though so you can manually update them. I recommend connecting with our live support to make this request. -Shay, Shopify Support

編輯時間:2024年5月10日

this thing is a joke...they are trying to push POS and they can even have a lable printing softward tha works half way decent.
- The issue is you can not edit the font size
- every thing is just placed onto one line
- if you print a barcode, then scan it on the POS it doesn't go to the actual variant. It goes to the main product then you have to choose manually the variant. So we sell clothing surf products so it only pulls up the main category then you have to actually manually enter in which size or color or whatever variant you have manually.

Hawaiian South Shore
美國
使用應用程式 1年多
Shopify 已回覆 2024年5月10日

Hi Hawaiian South Shore, thank you for your review and feedback. I am sorry to hear you've had a bad experience using the Retail Barcode Labels app for your store. If you do want some assistance with the app, or to provide more detailed feedback, we would be happy to help. You can contact our support team at anytime via the Shopify Help Center: https://shopify.link/vRnL. -Shay, Shopify Support

2024年5月20日

It's just plain awful. Printing labels should be a one click and done process. This is very far away from being a functional product for brick and mortar shops.

FERAL
美國
使用應用程式 大約1個月
Shopify 已回覆 2024年5月22日

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, we truly appreciate it. As we can completely understand the impact of this, I've gone ahead and shared your feedback with our developers to consider in future updates. - Blair, Shopify Support

2024年2月23日

Useless - Sometimes, this apps creates the same barcode ID for different variants. Each barcode needs to be unique. Now I understand why my inventory not always match. This should be an easy fix, but unfortunately, this app looks like the product and developer team left it.

memery
丹麥
使用應用程式 1年多
Shopify 已回覆 2024年3月7日

Hi there, thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know the issues you've experienced using the Retail Barcode Labels app and if you have not done so already, I'd encourage you to contact our support team via the Shopify Help Center so that we can investigate this problem: https://shopify.link/vRnL. -Victor, Shopify Support

編輯時間:2024年4月4日

Duplicates barcodes. Seems like way too many clicks to get to print the labels.
**UPDATE** I am aware of the reason. This still does not help. There is no warning or notice that a barcode is duplicated. There is no option for a 13 digit barcode to avoid this. To check each barcode and manually change duplicates will take FOREVER.

Elite Metal Design LLC
美國
使用應用程式 大約1個月
Shopify 已回覆 2024年4月4日

Hi, there! Thank you for your review.

Our app assigns barcodes to your products based on the last 8 digits of the product variant IDs. If a store has a large number of products, there is a chance that some of the variants can have the same 8 last digits, hence "duplicating a barcode" in such cases.

If you would like to add a different barcode, you can do so manually within each product. Here’s our Help Center guide with more information (https://shopify.link/qKmK).

Feel free to contact us here (https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA) if you need assistance with the app! - Greta, Shopify Support

2024年4月24日

ZERO STARS!! Do NOT waste your time. Constantly comes back with errors and will not generate barcodes. Followed all the 'fixes' suggested by support OVER and OVER and OVER and NOTHING works.

This has cost me a ton of time and issues with my store.

Cadence Equine
加拿大
使用應用程式 12天
Shopify 已回覆 2024年4月26日

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you're experiencing some trouble with the Retail Barcode Labels app. If you haven't done so already, I'd encourage you to follow back up with our Live Support so we can take a closer look at those errors to ensure this gets resolved: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. - Blair, Shopify Support

2024年2月13日

Depuis la mise à jour, beaucoup de bug et on doit réinstaller l'application à répétition

Boutique C MON STYLE Soyez Belle en Tout Confort!
加拿大
使用應用程式 4個月
2024年5月12日

This app is not working fine. Price section is checked but it couldnot show in label preview and in printing label

Gioiello Boutique
阿拉伯聯合大公國
使用應用程式 1天
Shopify 已回覆 2024年5月14日

Hey, Gioiello! Thanks for reaching out. We'd be happy to learn more about the issues you are having with the app. Feel free to get in touch with us here: https://shopify.link/W8y0 - Dirk, Shopify Support

2024年2月12日

HELP! The PRICE wont display in any of the labels except in the JEWELRY LABEL.

COLOR IDEAS
菲律賓
使用應用程式 3天
Shopify 已回覆 2024年2月15日

Hi there. Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you're experiencing some trouble with Retail Barcode Labels. To allow us to investigate further, I'd encourage you to connect with our Live Support so we can take a closer look into this: https://bit.ly/2AWw5VA. - Blair, Shopify Support